We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent atmosphere, food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cynthia's Chinese Restaurant

Cynthia's Chinese Restaurant
7700 Bathurst Street, Vaughan, Ontario L6A 1T1, Canada
(905) 882-8887
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 464 Restaurants in Vaughan
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Toronto
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
1,479 helpful votes 1,479 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere, food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Above the usual run of the mill Chinese restaurant with excellent atmosphere, food and service, this place is a true gem with authentic Chinese cuisine and classic Chinese ambiance. To spite the upscale atmosphere the fantastic menu and attentive service the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Frequent guest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great food complimented by ambiance to match. A large party of diners last night was well handled by the smiling and ever present waiting staff.
I highly recommend the Crispy Chicken Leaf which has a unique and tangy bite to it. The Newmarket location is probably a touch better over all, but also out of the way in the northern suburbs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service, Classical Chinese presentation, unequalled quality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is not just Chinese food. This is where you take your most treasured guests to be spoiled by an extensive first class selection, traditional Chinese ambiance, and regal service. From the time you enter, until the evening is done, you will be catered to like royalty by no less than 8 different servers, chefs, bartenders to the owner herself to ensure the experience exceeds your utmost expectations. Clearly the finest Chinese food I have experienced from Shanghai to New York. You certainly get more than you pay for at Cynthia's.

Bill & Samia

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Highly recommended...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a wonderful evening.
Very nice decor, very friendly staff, superb cuisine, great presentation of every dish.
Their Peking duck was a 10+
Looking forward to going back soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
420 reviews 420 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“You have to be kidding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I used to go here quite often.
The food is good but it's the most expensive Chinese restaurant.
They skimp on some food. If you order shrimp in lobster sauce and ask for extra sauce the container is still half empty (ok the container is half full). At $20 why skimp on sauce.
I ate in the restaurant which is done up very fancy. The service is terrible. The last time I went there I ordered wonton soup. Whick comes in the smallest bowl for $6. At the end of the meal when the bill came I noticed they charged me $7 for the soup. I called the waitress over and said it was $6 on the menu. She said it's an extra dollar for chicken won tons. I didn't even know that was an option and would have ordered pork anyways. Well all hell breaks loose. Another waiter comes over to the table and says I ordered it that way. I said i din't even know it was an option but just bring me back the bill and I'll pay it so I can get out of there. They sart talking about us right in front of our table. It always seems they are bugging you here. At pick up every time you pick up they tell you that you can save 10% with cash. You say you know but no thank you and they continue to puth. Guess who's pulling cash out of the business.

Overall the food is good. Many of the overpriced dishes are skimped on and they're in your face. They want to appear to be a classy restaurant but the service is awful (I know you're going to think I'm saying that because I'm still bitter over the won ton soup but I'm really not. The theraphy must have paid off).

Overall this is a bad experience which kills the good food.
I haven't gone back eat in or take out and my chinese food bill is half the price at another better retaurant in Thornhill.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cynthia's Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Vaughan, Ontario
 

Been to Cynthia's Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cynthia's Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.