We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who knew a Vaughan strip mall could offer decent Mexican fare??!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Taquizza

La Taquizza
3175 Rutherford Road | Unit 28, Vaughan, Ontario L4K 5Y6, Canada
(905) 667 2277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 449 restaurants in Vaughan
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Who knew a Vaughan strip mall could offer decent Mexican fare??!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My family and I were caught in horrible Sunday afternoon traffic on the Hwy 400 Southbound and were starving! Still a ways away from our exit to the 401, we just couldn't take it anymore. We HAD to get off the highway and find food, FAST! Dead set against eating fast food or a drive-thru, we stumbled upon La Taquizza and decided to give it a try. A remarkably plain little place in a typical blah Vaughan strip mall. Normally, we would not give it a second glance. But something told us to give it a try. And, boy are we ever glad we did! A very warm and friendly place with a simple and tasty menu. The different salsas at the salsa bar is a cute gimmick that is fun for everyone in the family (as we all have different tastes and heat limitations). The menu items are nothing unique but everything seemed fresh and very tasty. The place was a nice mix of families having Sunday dinner and couples out for a date. It gave off a nice "neighbourhoody" feel which is tough to do in a crowded strip mall overlooking a major highway. It was raining when we were there but their outdoor patio is a nice option for nicer weather.

Great place for kids, families or anyone looking for decent Mexican food in the North end. If you are tired of chain restaurants, fast food or Italian fare, try La Taquizza for a nice change of pace. You will not be sorry.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    12
    6
    0
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have had authentic mexican food many times and this does not qualify. Food was extremely salty and ruined the taste of dishes. Salsa bar was a nice touch

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food at reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I visited this small family-owned restaurant while on a business trip. It is located in the Vaughan shopping mall so is a little difficult to locate but it is worth visiting if you like Mexican food. The food choices are more varied than at most Mexican restaurants I have visited. Service is very efficient and friendly, the decor is bright and cheerful with lots of natural light making this a very pleasant dining experience

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Finally a great Mexican restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

There are so many mediocre Mexican restaurants out there, I was pleasantly surprised by this gem. The Salsa bar is a nice touch. Great food!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Authentic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I have eaten here several times and we are always really thrilled with the quality of the food here. My mother is Mexican and I can tell when a place has authentic food and this place has it! I usually order the chicken flautas or the chicken tostadas and they taste just like when I'm in Mexico. The ingredients are always super fresh. The portions are not huge, however Mexican food is quite filling so it's perfect. The chorizo quesadillas are also one of my favourites. I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taquizza also viewed

 

Been to La Taquizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taquizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.