We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping..rollercoaster” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Vaughan Mills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Vaughan Mills to your Saves list
Aloft Vaughan Mills
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Bass Pro Mills Dr, Vaughan, Ontario L4K0E6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Vaughan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
londonsw
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Shopping..rollercoaster”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed in Oct for a few days..As other reviewers have said, nice, newish, modern boutique design with decent rooms and amenities..Although the room we stayed in had a minor problem with the blinds, the very friendly maintainence guy fixed it asap.Location wise..the hotel faces (and will be surrounded by what I have been told is/will be) the biggest Mall(s) in the North Toronto area (The area is scattered with construction sites). , so if shopping is your thing it's perfect.The other BIG attraction which is hard to miss are the HUGE and terrifiying rides in the amusement park.(Didn't go but have it on account that it's a buzz) But of course the hotel is also a good locn for business stop-overs and functions.Our only downers were: The hotel allows pets..you may not mind this rule, but we witnessed the owners letting their dogs do their business on the hotel front lawns when there were plenty of other areas to use -like on the building sites?? Not a good standard( IN OUR OPINION) ..We weren't sure about the breakfast self serve area being crammed in the corner of the foyer either ..just seemed too clinical.. and finally..the funky oil/water mats on the elevator floors..leaking and patched with gaffer tape!!..no!..remove or replace..Other than that the staff seemed ok by us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Matthew_Rattray, General Manager at Aloft Vaughan Mills, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear blackline

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate both the positive and the negative and I am sorry the 'pet friendly' welcome isn't for everyone. All Starwood hotels are 'pet friendly' and we do our best to keep those with pets to one area and encourage them to use the larger grass area at the back of the hotel rather than the front. Because of the large population of guests with pets, we do our best to accommodate and value everyone.

I am sorry you feel the breakfast area is a little crammed, especially when we are full and everyone is wanting to eat at the same time. We will definitely address the design with Starwood and see if we can enhance the flow of traffic on property so that it is easier to navigate on those busy mornings.

Good news, we have just ordered some new mats from the US so hope to have them installed as soon as they arrive. We spent some time researching some more durable options so that we would not run into issues with them leaking again. The liquid mats are cool, and very unique, but if or when they leak, I can see how they don't look good. Starwood has been made aware of these concerns moving forward.

Thank you again, and I hope you will consider us next time you are looking for accommodation in Vaughan.

Kind Regards

Matthew Rattray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    86
    25
    11
    9
See reviews for
82
66
11
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed at the Aloft recently for a business function and Loved it! Carman made sure everything was as requested and followed up after. This hotel is a welcomed change from the traditional chains with its modern design, large bright rooms with high ceilings and a very comfortable bed. Amenities include a fitness room, indoor pool, lobby bar and a 24 hr grab & go food area with good choices and good quality. Great location just off the 400 hwy opposite the Vaughan Mills mall within walking distance to numerous restaurants. Ideal for visits to Canada"s Wonderland and close to Pearson airport. General manager Matthew has done a great job making all guests feel welcome and is happy to address any issues. I will be back next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Higher floors and end units are nice and quiet, the iron is hidden on the shelf on the far side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Matthew_Rattray, General Manager at Aloft Vaughan Mills, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear northernersun

Thank you so much for your feedback and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Carman took good care of you. She is definitely an asset to our team!
Thank you for the kind words! We definitely value your business. I also want to thank you for the great shots you included. Very cool!

We look forward to serving you next time you are in Vaughan,

Kind Regards

Matthew Rattray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Contemporary, modern (furniture by “Design within Reach”) and being only a year old are some of the pluses of the A-loft, Vaughan Mills. We (me and my family) lived there for a week and found some of the Front desk personal lacked the interpersonal communication skills required for the position. Depending on the time of day their temperament varied. Although, the night time front desk staff particularly Jonathan King was extremely friendly, helpful and pleasant. What made all the difference in our stay was the personal touches of Elisa (Housekeeping) and David Tam (Hotel Porter) that when out of their way every day to ensure that we were comfortable. The entire staff there could learn a thing or two on customer relations from David and Elisa if only they took the time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Matthew_Rattray, General Manager at Aloft Vaughan Mills, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Andrew P

Thank you for your feedback and for scoring us 5/5. I recognize that not all of your interactions with the staff met your expectations and I am very sorry. We will be addressing them promptly to ensure you receive the same high standard of service from all team members. David and Jonathan while new to the team are fantastic and I am happy that you had the opportunity to meet them. We have some great staff who definitely go out of their way to make stays more enjoyable and I hope with a little training and development, we will fill the hotel with staff like these two guys.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience with us and we hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Rattray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay, friendly staff, nice modern looking rooms. For those complaining about the glass doors there is a solid door that also closes... Lovely hotel that is bound to be surrounded with more like it in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Matthew_Rattray, General Manager at Aloft Vaughan Mills, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sphopkins

Thank you so much for your feedback! I agree about the doors, I don't really get the complaints as they are solid wood and I am yet to meet someone who can see through solid wood. I know sometimes guests are concerned about the glass window between the bathroom and the bedroom, but it is very difficult to make out what is going on in the bathroom, let alone make out the shape of a person.

We are glad you like the hotel and I hope you will come and stay with us next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards

Matthew Rattray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

On my business trip last week, I had the pleasure in staying at the Aloft Vaughan Mills. It was an exceptional hotel and very accommodating in all respects! The front desk greeted by name and was very pleasant and friendly. Food in lounge was great - computer in lobby (2) was always available and Free of charge. Highly recommendable for a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Matthew_Rattray, General Manager at Aloft Vaughan Mills, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear James L

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Aloft Vaughan Mills, and for your wonderful review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have a great team here, and they definitely understand what it means to value each piece of business we receive.

We look forward to serving you next time you are in Vaughan,

Kind Regards

Matthew Rattray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We needed to find a location for a very informal Contractor training seminar. Having stayed at your location once before I inquired if this was a venue available at the Aloft. i had a brief meeting with your staff and toured the meeting room. The package you had to offer was perfect.
The night of the event went extremely well, from the room set up to the casual Bar area. The bar staff was very competent in handling our crowd.
The food was great, everyone loved it and with our guests being in construction they are big eaters and there was more than enough fodd to look after the group, and the serving staff were fabulous dealing with requests.
Carman made the whole experience very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Matthew_Rattray, General Manager at Aloft Vaughan Mills, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Jack S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on your experience at the Aloft Vaughan Mills. We definitely enjoyed hosting your meeting and value your business.

Please don't forget to look us up next time you are looking for training or meeting space! We would love the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards

Matthew Rattray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Vaughan Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Vaughan Mills

Address: 151 Bass Pro Mills Dr, Vaughan, Ontario L4K0E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Vaughan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Vaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Vaughan Mills 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Vaughan Mills offers visitors easy access to downtown Toronto and the airport while being steps away from a unique mega mall with upscale restaurants and specialty shops. Book your room now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Starwood, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Aloft Vaughan Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Vaughan Mills Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Vaughan Mills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.