We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, clean and comfy place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Tillsonburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn - Tillsonburg to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn - Tillsonburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   92 Simcoe Street, Tillsonburg, Ontario N4G 2J1, Canada (Formerly Super 8)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tillsonburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brantford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Very nice, clean and comfy place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The staff were very friendly when i checked in, the rooms were very clean and the restaurant food was very good I would recommend this hotel to anyone its a very nice place to stay and I will be back to stay again Thanks for such a nice stay

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
29
18
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This Hojo's is an old 2 story building. However it is clean and in decent condition.
The room had a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker.
The location is easy to find and close to the downtown.
The price was moderate around the 100.00 range.
Probably a decent choice for this town as there didn't appear to many other options

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BETHANY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I found the price a little costly for a Sunday night. to my knowledge there were no events happening in the area. The hotel, however, is very nice and very, very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Spent two nights in this off the main road motel. Wasn't expecing much, but was pleasantly surprised. It was clean and comfortable. Room was nice size and bathroom was freshly updated. I emphasize clean. Everything was clean. easy parking. Small property but with ease to exit the property. Close to the town of Tillsonburg. They had a continental breakfast, but I did not partake. Free wi-fi kept me in communication with family as I did not use my cell phone in Canada for the weekend. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Bad from the start! We were received by a very rude, dis-interested 'clerk' who couldn't care less about guests. She informed us that the breakfast room is closed on the weekend and led us to believe there was no breakfast which was included in the room. I was clear that breakfast was included, but this 'clerk' didn't care. It doesn't matter that continental breakfast costs you 10 cents to do, if you say you have it, then have it! There wasn't even an apology for the lack of the promised breakfast - the 'clerk's' attitude was very bad, but reflects this motel's attitude all round.

Things were not as they were listed: we were not advised of the supposed amenity of the sauna/ health-spa, there was no morning paper. Must say - on check-out there was a different, cheerful 'clerk' at the desk. It goes without saying that I won't stay again.

The Room: 218
- This is a typical motel. We were on the ground floor, and there is a sliding patio door to your car (free parking). This is convenient and they have thought of safety (bar to brace door).
- I sleep on a Sealy queen at home and this was not a full queen. You had better like your partner. Night table and lamp only on one side of the bed. Only one partner is allowed to read, apparently. You had also better be slim getting up on the no-nightstand side or hit the closet. Some big bang woke me at almost 3am - checked our car. Then there was a noisy neighbour trying to get into their room. I never fell asleep again.
- The bathroom was clean. Water pressure was good. Towels were of the cheapest quality. Why is the coffee machine on the sink-edge? No space for any toiletries.
- Couldn't get the WiFi working on the IPad
- Large flat-screen TV
- Room was clean but not pretty. Big iron burn on the rug. Fridge/ TV// Micro not plugged in. You had to figure this out on your own. Fridge never got very cold. Air con worked.
- Am disgusted to stay anyplace that allows animals - many people let them sleep in the bed. You have no idea if they have fleas, drool, pee or poop, leave pet dander & ringworm spores etc and then you stay in that room. It takes only one irresponsible owner. Nothing can sterilize/ hepa-filter that room sufficiently... and I say this as a pet owner

Days later I found that the 'clerk' misled us: the manager said there was some sort of basic 'continental breakfast set up in the lobby for the weekend. Follow-up with management was less than positive: they tried to push it on me saying I should have read a sign on a wall behind me in the lobby which contradicted what the 'clerk' told us about the breakfast. Ridiculous! I've been in touch with HoJo head office.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Tillsonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Tillsonburg

Address: 92 Simcoe Street, Tillsonburg, Ontario N4G 2J1, Canada (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Tillsonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tillsonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Tillsonburg 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We feature fifty nine well-appointed rooms and offer a complimentary continental breakfast. Scotty's, our on site restaurant, opens at 6:00 am and we are minutes from Annandale House, our national historic treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Tillsonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Tillsonburg Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn - Tillsonburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.