We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Jacobs Farmers' Market

St. Jacobs Farmers' Market
878 Weber St North, St. Jacobs, Ontario N2J 4A9, Canada
519-747-1830
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Shopping in St. Jacobs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two minutes south of the Village of St. Jacobs, explore the abundance of meats & cheeses, farm fresh produce, baked goods, international foods, artisans & crafters, quilts, home furnishings, and a spectacular flea market; plus buskers, pony & kiddie rides at Canada's largest farmers' market! Indoor and outdoor farm fresh fun for the entire family. Year round on Thursdays and Saturdays 7am - 3:30pm and Tuesdays, mid June to Labour Day, 8am - 3pm.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've never been to a farmers market quite so big and plentiful. You could find almost anything at this farmers market and for a great deal. I live in NJ so am not used to how big and what bargains you can find at farmers markets. If you're in the area, it's defintely a MUST SEE!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    84
    15
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carlsile, uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Visit to a Mennonite Maple Syrup Farm at St Jacobs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

From St Jacobs Market the Mennonite community run horse drawn carriage tours to Matthew Martin's Farm. At the farm you can go into the Maple syrup forest and see how the syrup is extracted from the trees and then processed and the difference in syrup through the season. You can then visit the Mennonite farm house and purchase syrup or quilts. A very tranquil horse drawn journey takes you there and the trip is reasonably priced.
At the market we bought a giant puffball mushroom, apple butter and corn from Mennonite farmers and peaches from Ontario farmers. At the Market Grill for lunch was BBQ pigs tail, which was very tasty.
Across the road was a big antiques market run by the Mennonites which was reasonably priced.

St Jacobs town is a few km down the road but is worth visiting as it is a very picturesque town.

a lovely day.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I highly recommend this market! If you want to buy fresh and local, you'll be at the right place. The only thing I can suggest is to come early in the morning, right when it opens OR right before everything closes up. The crowds can be a bit overwhelming and make the visit unpleasant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Interesting day at the market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I have always wanted to go to see what was there. We started at the market, which is quite large compared to other markets I have been at. Very crowded! Many Mennonite stalls offered fresh baking, jams (3 fruit marmalade and orange marmalade were excellent--paid $10 for both jars, also herbed bread and cinnamon twists were delicious). Lots of outdoor vendors offered great selection of local produce and mix and match combos. As well, lots of flea market vendors and some outdoor food options. We also bought unpasteurized cinnamon honey, which I have not tried before, from an outdoor vendor, and it was excellent. The buildings are also a must, lots more vendors, meat, cheese and flea market as well as lunch opportunities, but again, lineups for some of these. We brought enough money so did not have to look for ATM and their lineups. Lots of walking so wear good shoes. We were lucky to get parking right beside, but be prepared to walk.

Then we drove to the outlet mall across the street, could also park there as a market option as the walk is short. It was the typical outlet mall. I did not think prices were all that special here. I would not make this trip for the outlet mall. The market is the reason!

Then we headed in to St. Jacob's village, about 2 min. away. It was an interesting drive through to look at the shops and restaurants. In the end we did not choose to park and walk as my husband was fighting a really bad cold and he had enough. Friends have told us the tourist shops are interesting but pricey. There are also a few museums to check out. It was a beautiful country drive from Hamilton and we enjoyed our day. The drive from Binbrook (Hamilton) was about 1 hr. 15 min.

There was no cost to get in to the market and no parking charge. The only cost incurred was the gas to get there and the items we purchased at the market. We were strategic shoppers and items had good value.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“It's what a market should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I will start with the outdoor market which has an amazing selection of Ontario produce and fruit available for reasonable prices. This area also has a flee market area with food vedors (the fish truck has good crouquettes) and there is one row where the Mennonites sell they maple syrup and other maple products. The main building has a good selection of meats, baked goods, jams, and other food items. There is also a food court at the one end and arts and crafts upstairs. The second building has a flee market with very unique booths (I have been to other flee markets were you can get duplication of products throughout the booths) and a food court with different vendors from the ones in the main building. there is also a livestock auction area and a Mennonite furniture store in the second building. I usually go just before 3 pm because you can get some great deals at the end of the day; however, if you go late I do, you run the risk of not finding what you are looking for because they often sell out of things at the end of the day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Jacobs Farmers' Market also viewed

St. Jacobs, Region of Waterloo
St. Jacobs, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to St. Jacobs Farmers' Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Jacobs Farmers' Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.