We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room from hell -- old as the hills and then some” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Wigwam Gift Shoppe & Motel

The Wigwam Gift Shoppe & Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Baymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wigwam Gift Shoppe & Motel
Save
You added The Wigwam Gift Shoppe & Motel to your Saves list
14 Water St, South Baymouth, Ontario POP 1ZO, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Baymouth
Alassio, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“room from hell -- old as the hills and then some”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

What a dive. Had to unplug the clock to plug in computer. Have to leave the bathroom light on to charge cell phone. Fridge was unplugged so had to start it. There is a lovely-cross breeze here so that is good. It does have 2 double beds but carpet is ancient and covered with dead flies and leftover popcorn curls. There is no Kleenex, but there is toilet paper. Yahoo! Bedding is old and we refused to get out of our clothes, choosing to sleep on top of the bedspread on a towel. TV had no satellite connection, though other units seemed to have dishes of their own. Definitely not worth the $122.04 we paid for the night. The whole place needs a major face lift..... Don’t recommend this place – if you HAVE to stay in South Baymouth, suggest staying elsewhere -- perhaps your car?

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have never written a review for anything online but feel that travelers should be warned. We purchased a one night accommodation in the "honeymoon suite". It was located on the second floor of the building that looked like it had been used as a garage. The moment we opened the door the strong smell of paint thinner hit our nostrils. It dissipated as we walked up the stairs but that was nothing compared to what we saw next. Spiders and spider webs everywhere. When my wife and I finally cleared all the webs and spiders away from the walls, corners, window blinds, etc. we counted over 20. The room came with a little upper deck. When we stepped on to the deck we discovered even more spiders and webs all along the exterior wall. At this point I went down and asked the staff for a broom to sweep them off the exterior walls. As I was sweeping away the spiders I noticed the lawn chairs on the deck. They were filthy, covered in black soot and other gung. the final straw came for me personally when my wife went to close the window blind on one of the windows to discover that the half the blades for the venetian blinds were missing. So here we are on the second floor of a converted garage with paint thinner stored below, sharing accommodations with part of the spider population of South Baymouth and the need to go into the washroom to get changed. All this for just a mere $90.00 (taxes in).

I have done a great deal of traveling and stayed in some rather barren accommodations. Both my wife and I can put up with a great deal but this one takes the cake. I don't believe anyone on staff really cares to much about the condition of the rooms. Here is some advice if you want accommodations in South Baymouth. Look somewhere else. There are a number of other places around that may cost a bit more but are worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Was on our honeymoon and stayed here as part of our 2100 mile journey around North America/Canada etc. and must say was disappointed. We arrived appox. 3.30pm and it was very foggy. Unfortunately told nowhere near to get a drink and nowhere to get any food - yes we could have got back in the car and driven somewhere but after a long journey we actually just wanted to unload bags and park up and go eat, have a drink and explore on foot. Not a chance, admit cannot control the weather, not very easy to explore in the fog. Anyhow, chalet we were shown to was basic and cost approx $80 (canadian dollars) stayed in much better and much cheaper. Not totally clean either, would not have used tea/coffee making equipment in room if you had paid me. Walked across way to what I can only describe as a transport cafe (had some good food in transport cafes), told could order bottle beer but to be drunk on premises only. Had "English Fish & Chips" (their advertising) and caesar salad, was all disgusting - how can anyone get a salad wrong and as for cremated french fries and burnt offerings as fish? this with 2 bottles of beer and 1 diet coke $32 - all except the drink ended up being thrown away. Back to chalet only to find door had not locked and did not lock, had to push settee up against door at night whilst asleep. Nowhere to go, no other choices, so t.v. it was!!!! Shame really as perhaps some sun and no fog might have given us better options to explore. Though, must say place so handy for the ferry which we caught early next morning. The gift shop is good if you want that sort of thing and the staff very nice, just not much else! Seems like place only opens when one of the 2 ferries per day come in, then all shuts?

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

My Aunt and I stayed here in July 2009. The cabin was divided into two units. We had 2 double beds - very comfortable - very clean. The room also had a bar fridge, a colour TV, a small kitchen table with 4 chairs, a ceiling fan and a separate washroom with tub/shower. Everything was clean. The unit was carpeted. Walls are pine. Very cozy. Lots of windows. Couldn't hear the people in the next unit. We could see the Chi-Cheemaun ferry enter and exit the dock from our windows. We were only about 100 yards from the ferry dock. Lots of places close by to eat. A terrific place to stay! We will be back for sure and I highly recommend Wigwam Cottages/Motel. Oh - a great gift shop is attached too.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wigwam Gift Shoppe & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam Gift Shoppe & Motel

Address: 14 Water St, South Baymouth, Ontario POP 1ZO, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > South Baymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Baymouth
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Gift Shoppe & Motel Ontario/South Baymouth, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wigwam Gift Shoppe & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.