We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat customers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pheonix Lounge

Pheonix Lounge
196 High St, Southampton, Ontario N0H 2L0, Canada
519.797.3300
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 23 Restaurants in Southampton
Restaurant details
Ancaster, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Repeat customers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Lamb chops were good as well as the chocolate raspberry cheesecake. Good service and the dining room is clean, bright and inviting.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“old stopming grounds”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

another one of those places where you dont go and eat, unless u want to puke the 24 beers you just drank, this place has no concept on getting the locals in there to eat anything because its so run down and dirty. If you want to go somewhere where the beer is cold and tastes good, then this is the spot!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Looks are very deceiving! it's not a karaoke bar pub - it's fine dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This restaurant has all the taste of a superb fine dining restaurant, with none of the snobbery that comes along with fine dining in Toronto (where I'm from.)

Myself, my husband and another couple opted to try this restaurant after I had heard a few good things from a client after letting her know I vacation in the Southampton area every so often. I was pretty skeptical, given the outward appearance of the restaurant and the fact that they advertise karaoke at 10pm on Saturday nights; it looks like a typical bar!

Going in, it still looks like a bar. The two waitresses were just wearing jeans and casual shirts; nothing super fancy.

Our meal and orders were as follows:

Complimentary bread:
Very nice as we were served a slice for each person a piece of olive bread, and a piece of cranberry/nut/cheese bread. The bread was clearly warmed and toasted fresh and the butter on the dish was soft as well. It was a good start to the meal as it showed the restaurant as above what it looked like, to receive not a standard basket of cool bread and pots of butter, but a butter dish and warm fresh artisan breads!



Apps: Crab Cakes, Cajun Pineapple Spring Rolls

Verdict: Awesome:
-the crab cakes were good, tasty, and made with actual crab; not the imitation crap that you sometimes find in many restaurants.
-the spring rolls were very different with not the very typical super thin wrapper, and were light and fresh still filled with veg and pineapple that had a bit of spice to it! Was interesting to have pineapple in a spring roll

-two of us opted to add caesar salads to our mains, theyw ere delicious - the dressing was fresh and had a really good amount of garlic in it. Not creamy caesar dressing from a bottle. Instead of bacon; the chef had prepared some crispy panchetta - that was a nice treat and the fat rendered so well to make a crispy tasty bit of salty meat vs a flubby bit of fat that bacon can be in a salad.


-2 striploin steaks with the goat cheese/basil mash, grilled veg and blue cheese demi glace
-1 mandarin stuffed pork tenderloin with a vegetable medley and warm potato salad
-1 chicken fricasse which is the 'pot pie' type dish but in delicate pastry vs a pie shell, also with a veg medley.

The steak was foodgasmic, sure it was $28 - but man, was it ever worth it! I ordered mine medium rare, where my friend ordered medium well - both were cooked fabulously. The mash was wonderful, the basil came through so well and ... well, let's just say next time I have a steak i'm going to be comparing it to this which may just be one of my new 'standards' for comparison of all other steaks it was so good, juicy and tender and that blue cheese demi glace was so awesome!

I also had a glass of the house red - that was ok, a little disappointing at how warm the red wine was. Given that it was close to 30 degrees out, the wine should probably have been kept somewhere to be a bit closer to usual room temperature vs closer to outdoor temperature.

Lots of nice little touches like ironed napkins show the little efforts that go a long way to make this 'bar' looking restaurant into the fine dining establishment it actually is.

Definitely a recommendation; I just hope the chef stays as i'm sure he could get be in charge of a 4 star restaurant anywhere, vs doing his thing in small town Ontario so i'll hope he loves the lifestyle or soemthing; and I'll definitely be eating his food next time i'm in the saugeen area!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon
1 review
“Absoutely No Customer Service Skills”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Third visit to restaurant; party of 5 went on a Saturday evening. Appetizers were very good; main courses served staggered, one meal totally burned on top (decided not to send it back, but rather pick off the burnt pieces); last 2 meals arrived cold and not cooked properly. Told server and she returned both meals to the kitchen and came back to say that while the dinners were cold, they had been cooked correctly - replied that if that was the case, please cook a little more. Dinners were both eventually returned, one was somewhat satisfactory, the other still cold and under cooked. Only ate a portion of the meal and when the server returned, commented that it was still undercooked and cold. The server took the plates away and again returned from the kitchen to say that the dinners had been cooked accordingly. Management did nothing the rectify the problem other than to exclaim, 2 times, that they were correct and we were wrong, all in all, a disaster, will not return.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, with a chef and staff who care... in such a relaxed atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

We went for dinner expecting the same old Club sandwich and Chicken Wings here in the country and we were Wowed! We ordered Filet Mignon, and a house specialty, Chicken pastry, like a chicken pot pie, and it was fabulous. I've had many steaks before, and very few have come close to being what I asked for. This chef cooked it spot on!
My date loved her Pot pie, she said it was better than what her Mom made her.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pheonix Lounge also viewed

Southampton, Bruce County
Southampton, Bruce County
 
Southampton, Bruce County
 

Been to Pheonix Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pheonix Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.