We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Good For Coffee” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Elk & Finch Coffee Pub

Elk & Finch Coffee Pub
54 Albert, Southampton, Ontario, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 24 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Port Elgin, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Only Good For Coffee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

My husband and I have been here twice. Very simple food, for the price its not worth it. Had to go second time for a birthday and we still felt the same. I can cook a nice meal similar at home. Very "plain" food and the service was slow. I only go for take out coffee.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    29
    12
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Elk and Finch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

The Elk and Finch has been a popular choice for many years and always maintained a high standard . The Cream of mushroom soup appetizer is second to none, and the deserts are consistently good. However, the last time we dined there , it was not up to the usual standard we had been accustomed to. The service was fine , the food was mediocre . It was August of 2014 , and we both ordered a pasta dish for dinner that was mediocre at best. We will return again, with the thought that a dining establishment can have an " off" meal , and should not be condemned forever because of it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elk and Finch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

The fod is quite good, but the menu never varies and the prices have gone up quite a bit. Surely there is a soup that can replace the butternut squash, which has been on the menu since The Elk and Finch opened.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Ontario
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Tastey food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015 via mobile

Took the wife here for some good dining. The food is priced a little high compared to other places in the area but the quality was better and we had a great meal here. The service was excellent and the atmosphere is like a quiet pub. We will come back and eat here again in the future!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant stop for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

We had a pleasant lunch here. It has a nice atmosphere , cosy and comfortable. Curried apple and butternut squash soup was very good but the soup and the rest of the meal were served at the same time which we did not like. Coffee was good, service was fine.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk & Finch Coffee Pub also viewed

 
Southampton, Bruce County
Southampton, Bruce County
 

Been to Elk & Finch Coffee Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk & Finch Coffee Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.