We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Brian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huron Haven Motel

Huron Haven Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huron Haven Motel
Save
You added Huron Haven Motel to your Saves list
21 Huron St. South | Ontario, Southampton, Ontario N0H 2L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southampton
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thanks Brian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Huron Haven holds a special place in my heart. My family started staying at the motel in the mid-sixties, back when it was painted a groovy shade of aqua. Through many styles of sunglasses — from cat's eye and Wayfarers to Jackie O's — we kept coming kept coming back through the seventies and eighties because the rooms were consistently clean and comfortable. When my fella Greg and I drove up to Southampton this summer for a canoe trip, I said, "We've gotta stay at the Huron Haven: you'll love the retro touches!" The place still screams 1956, but that's part of its charm. Brian, the owner, greeted us like an old friend and had us in stitches with his colourful stories. And when we needed extra cooking utensils for our kitchenette, he followed up immediately. The next time we were up in late October, he greeted us at the check in desk with a dozen farm fresh eggs for breakfast and a selection of fancy cheeses. Needless to say, we'll be back come Summer 2014! ~ Alison & Greg

Room Tip: We heard Room 8 just had a bathroom reno, which is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My friend Shelagh (jazz singer) and I stayed on sept 22and 23/2013. We found the owners fabulously generous..We had a ball of a time...sitting outside on new deck chairs laughing enjoying a few glasses of white wine with other guests ...Brian and friends made us laugh sooo much. brought out chips dips and made us roast beef sandwiches,,We are reserving our same room for summer of 2014 (august)
Wendy and Shelagh..Barrie Ontario.
And we enjoyed ourselves with a couple who had been there before...and who have have several trips back.

Room Tip: I think it was room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugeen Shores
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have stayed here a few times when visiting friends at local cottages or attending events. The location is great at the foot of main street and very close to the beach. It's a 2 minute walk down to the beach, less than 5 up to the stores and restaurants.
It's a small town, so you won't find the 5* Hilton style hotels, but this one is nice, basic and clean and has small kitchens in some of the rooms if you want to cook. I enjoyed mingling and barbequing with the other guests and the owner. And would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

There are many many many things wrong with Huron Haven. This motel has been in Southampton since the 60s and sadly not one update has been done on this dump. That includes the original furniture that still remains there. The shower was built for midgets so my 5'5" sister had to kneel just to wash her hair.

The owners are a whole different story. These are new owners from what i understand. Extremely rude. After checking in we immediately regretted it. We decided to stay one night and move to a place where we felt comfortable touching the furniture. They made us pay for all 3 nights in advance which concerned us but we thought we could let them know we planned on leaving the following morning and see if it would be a problem. We found the male owner that night and said we would be checking out the next day. He says no problem...

..next day we go to check out. He says he cannot give us our money back. Now why wouldnt he tell us this the night before? This guy is sneaky. He proceeded to speak very condescendingly to us, patronize us and just act completely unprofessionally

The rooms all smell like smoke from tje ppl who sit outside your room 24/7 and chain smoke. The owners wreak of cigarettes and when they come in to do anything in ur room they trail a very strong cig odor w them, leaving ur room smelling like an ash tray

Want some advice? Go stay somewhere else. I would never ever recommend this dump

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a family vacation at Huron Haven. Great suites for family vacations, close to the beaches, dining and golf. The hotel had a fun atmosphere with super friendly staff. We cooked most of our meals in our housekeeping unit and often bbq'd outside the unit. The room was very well equipped and very clean. When we did feel like dining out there were lots of options within a short walk for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is a lot to do in the area, the beaches are outstanding. We will stay at the Huron Haven on our next visit to the area. Thanks for the great times and the memories of our week..............

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Horrible décor and dated, I swear the place hasn't been updated since the 70's the paint is peeling off the walls in the bathroom, the shower has mold and the handles are rusty. Worst place I have ever stayed at?

Room Tip: Stay at the super 8 in port elgin. The motel is a dive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on Tuesday night Sept 11/12 and loved the location, steps away from Southampton's lovely wide main street and a few more steps right to the benches of the lookout over Lake Huron and the wide sandy beach and waves.

The new owners have worked hard to freshen up Huron Haven, our room was comfortable, clean, cheerful and quiet, and the fridge helped. Some rooms have kitchenettes and there are even two bedroom suites with a full kitchen! Very reasonable rates, too. The owners are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and we will definitely come again. PS We had a great breakfast at the Highview Restaurant, a block away on High Street. Barb C.

Room Tip: We liked being on the second floor, end room #10
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huron Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huron Haven Motel

Address: 21 Huron St. South | Ontario, Southampton, Ontario N0H 2L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Southampton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southampton
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place to stay in Southampton… by the beach and downtown,open all year. 15 bright comfortable fully equipped housekeeping suites and motel units. Large rooms with queen and double beds, all rooms air conditioned,all rooms have TV, fridge, private bath, microwave, coffee maker, all rooms have high speed internet,courtyard, BBQ’s, patio tables, ice. 2 minute walk to the beach, shopping, and restaurants, sports tournament friendly.Close to… golf, tennis, market, restaurants, pubs,bakery, butcher shop, art school, museum,Thursday night jazz,Fairy Lake, bike trails,Thursday night car show,and Scottish piper on the beach for world famous sunsets,Port Elgin, Kincardine, Owen Sound, Bruce Power, Sauble Beach, Saugeen Shores. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huron Haven Motel Southampton, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huron Haven Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.