We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was expecting less but was so awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenview Avaries Park & Zoo

Greenview Avaries Park & Zoo
R.R. #1, Ridgetown, Ontario N0P 2C0, Canada
(519)-674-302
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Ridgetown
Attraction details
London, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I was expecting less but was so awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I never thought that I would see goats walking around.. kids fed them and fed camels, horses, donkeys.. and played all around the place.. tiger and lion too... we spent two and half hours just enjoying.. then went out and found a perfect playing ground... I am going there for sure again next summer.. it is so cheap compared to other plavces .. lots of memories on 14 Oct 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    7
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun for the children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our grandsons enjoyed seeing all the animals (especially the baby leopard) and being able to spend some time on the playground and splash pad on a hot day. We only had a couple of hours there. Next time we will plan to spend most of the day there!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge,Ontario ,Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Visited the zoo today. Loved it and would recommend it. Very surprised to find a country zoo with a full parking lot and more. Lovely play area and splash pads, picnic area . Clean washrooms, staff emptied garbage bins regularily, many handwashing stations and gel available. Zoo itself well kept, animals healthy, shady lanes to stroll down to see the animals. Animals included lions, tigers, bears, monkeys, pot bellied pigs,zebras,snakes, birds, african porcupines, peacocks, eagles, crocodiles, camels etc.Lots of babies. Took us 3 hours to see it all, stopped at the lunch counter, staff were keeping it clean too. Family owned for 29 years. reasonably priced.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Kids really enjoyed the whole day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Jim and I took our flying squirrels (3 rambunctious grandsons) age 3-10 and they really loved seeing all the animals. We had been to the Toronto Zoo earlier in the year and this was by far a much better day. The animals are in comparable sized cages, there is just less walking between the exhibits at this place. We actually got to see the animals here as opposed to being hundreds of yards away, barely catching a glimpse of them. We purchased a bucket of food $4 to feed the animals and even with the 3 boys always dipping their hands in, the bucket was plenty to share with the goats, pigs, donkeys, etc. There were lots of baby animals, pot-belly pigs, monkeys, cheetah, ducks and of course, goats. They must be reasonably well-cared for or I doubt if they would be reproducing so well. The birds were incredible too. My grandsons were fascinated. They loved the reptile building with the snakes, lizards and turtles. The huge python was scary because of its enormous girth. It only takes a few hours to get through at a leisurely pace. There is a wonderful picnic/play area for the children to amuse themselves afterward. My 2 older grandsons, age 6 & 10 were crazy about the mini zipline. The 2 younger ones loved the water park and there is a clean change room too. BTW the washrooms are large, clean, spacious, kid-friendly with change-tables in both mens and ladies sides. The on-site restaurant is licensed, serving burgers, fries, dogs, pizza etc. There are BBQ pits all over if you want to bring your own briquettes and picnic. Huge covered pavillion in case of rain too. My grandsons were totally happy, no fighting all day (and that's their fav thing to do).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Great for kids zoo, splash pad picnic area, playground, zip line.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenview Avaries Park & Zoo also viewed

 
Caledonia, Ontario
 

Been to Greenview Avaries Park & Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenview Avaries Park & Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.