We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best place I've ever stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Purdy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Moon Retreat
Save
You added Blue Moon Retreat to your Saves list
37369 Highway 62, Purdy, Ontario, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Meath
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“The Best place I've ever stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

From the moment we got to the Blue Moon Retreat we were on to a winner. The cottages were spotless. The Main Cottage Island View has the View it says. The owners didn't forget anything water, Cleaning detergents, towels, pillows etc. Bunky was a little old but very well kept, my boys loved having their own pad. Everything that was mention was on site. Pat the owner dropped by to welcome us and all the other guests were very friendly but gave us our own space many were returning guests. There were plenty of canoes, pedal boats etc. I wish I was still there hanging on the deck listening to the Loons or watching the Chip Monks hopping from tree to tree or the Rabbit eating the flowers in the garden. Well done for getting everything so right so many get it so wrong.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    13
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
45
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We spent a wonderful four days at Blue Moon. My husband and I were looking for a cottage stay fairly close to home (Ottawa) to go to with our two teenage boys. Blue Moon met our expectations perfectly. There was something for everyone! We rented the Island View cottage and the bunky - the boys stayed in the bunky and enjoyed having their own place. They also enjoyed the satellite TV (WAY more channels than at home!) and internet access. The large deck on the main cottage was perfect for watching the beautiful sunsets, enjoying morning coffee or just relaxing with a book. There was even a little deck right by the water down the hill from the cottage which was perfect for sipping cocktails and watching the activity on the lake.

We enjoyed the lake immensely. The swimming was lovely and the humongous water toys were great fun. When we tired of swimming there were kayaks, canoes, pedal boats and row-boats to choose from. Plus, there was tennis, badminton, volleyball and basketball!

The cottage itself had everything we needed, even spare batteries for the TV remotes! On our last day we discovered a cupboard full of games which would have been wonderful if we'd had rainy weather.

We will definitely return to Blue Moon. It is a lovely place to go as a family or to accommodate a group of families or friends.

Thank you!

The Fox Family

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Our stay was from Jun 18- Jun21/2010
JUST got back today, and let me tell you!
This has been our 7TH year going to Blue Moon Retreat. We had rented the Chalet, as we do every year. We always look forward every year for this weekend to arrive. For us working people to take a weekend off and getaway and enjoy our own vacation. Or so we thought it was OUR vacation. Pat, one of the part owners would not leave us alone!
The review below us, has described our encounter with Pat. Accusing us of mistreating the chalet and the property.- Lets just say we treat this cottage as if it was our own, we love the facilities and the amenties, therefore (up until this experience) we have been returning guests. Not only do we come every year, we recommened tons of family and friends and co-workers to enjoy BMR.- Pat continuously drove his truck and parked it infront of our rental to tell us irrelevant things like "if sparks fly any where near the cottage, it can cause a fire and you are responsible", he also told us that we were "immature" about how we were looking after the fire. --I don;t know what this man is thinking!- We might be young- but we are young professionals! What kind of management tells their own guests that? We definately felt as if we got discrimated against. Pat was being very rude at how he approached us, he was being very intrusive on what was supose to be our weekend getaway.
Another issue was the hot water tank breaker was broken- so we had not hot water for one whole day! Could you imagine how inconvient it is to have no hot water for showers, dishes, laundry. etc. - Very dissapointed in that.
We always enjoy Blue Moon, but this year, our experience was far from memorable.
If Pat was not a people person, he should not be apart of the hospitality and service industry. -Whats a good place without good service?
In the end, don't slap the hands that feeds you! We'll send out business else where. Ciao.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmora, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

My husband and I have been vacationing with our friends annually at Blue Moon for the past 5 years and always have an incredible time, that is up until this year. Upon our arrival this year we were greeted or should I say berated by Pat (the owner). He came at us with various accusations of our mistreatment of the rental cottages and saying we should have been blacklisted because his cleaners apparently took 2 extra hours to clean after we checked out. I would like to point out that as I have mentioned this was year 5 for us and every year we leave the cottages in what I would consider excellent shape because we want to return the next year. Not once has anything been broken or gone missing, and upon checkout the dishes are washed, bedding is stripped and piled in front of the washer (until this year) and the last person out mops right up to the door. When we told Pat of these facts his response was "Did you do the laundry?" He then said a pair of snowshoes was left covered in mud hanging on the wall. I don't think I have ever heard of any motel that you need to wash the bedding\dishes\floor before you check out! Isn't the point of vacationing not having to do those things? When I asked Pat why none of these things were addressed when we re-booked our stay a year ago he told us the employee who re-booked us should have told us and he wasn't going to talk to her/get her involved because she is going through some personal issues right now. He then spouted more conflicting information first it was one cottage that was the problem then it was 4 out of the 5 cottages that were a mess. I also feel I should mention the fact that our group rents the whole resort just in case any other cottagers should find us too loud (which is a lot of money even in low season!)Upon checkout this year my friend made sure Pat went to her cottage to see for himself and he raved about how tidy it was and she told him that's how it's left every year and Pat told us we were no longer welcome there! I can't believe what a complete lack of business sense and people skills this man has and the level of disrespect we were treated with on top of the unfounded accusations! We are all disgusted and more than happy to spend our money somewhere else from now on! By the way Pat if your reading this we couldn't help but notice a pair of mud covered snowshoes hanging at the Maples when we checked in this year we hope the guests who rented before us received the same level of treatment we did! Why go to Blue Moon when you can do laundry at home? Adios!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

This was a 4-day Easter Weekend getaway that turned out to be spectacular, with Mother Nature offering an early taste of spring.
We had stayed at the Maples before -- it's a perfect place for a Christmas week getaway for us and the dogs, so that's what has kept us coming back. It has the VERY RARE feature of having both sauna and hot tub inside. This means the dogs don't have to worry about where their humans have gone, as they would if we had to leave the cottage to enjoy those facilities.
With the snow almost all gone, we took walks through the woods and along the shore, watching the lake ice disappear under bright spring sun. We had brought along Season Three of Mad Men, and watched that in the evenings (this TV is muuuch better than mine!),

We really enjoyed our stay. We did have to improvise a little, when we made mashed potatoes (in the absence of a potato masher). And we'd like it even more if the jets on the hot tub were stronger -- and as far as we're concerned, the sauna could be even hotter. But we especially appreciate the peace and quiet of off-season time here, so we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We just returned from a lovely weekend with friends at the Maples cottage at Blue Moon Retreat. It was easily the nicest cottage stay I've had, and we rent cottages every year in the Bancroft area. Extremely clean and well appointed, you really don't need to bring anything except food and booze -- everything else, including linens, drinking water, towels, kitchen supplies, all provided. The best combination of luxury accomodations in a rustic lakeside cottage setting. The hot tub and sauna were unbelievable, large enough for all 4 of us and a wonderfully relaxing touch. Best of all, our dogs were welcomed and we didn't have to make any arrangements for them! As soon as we returned to the city we started planning our next trip to BMR. Would definitely return as a fall-winter cottage getaway!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

For several years now, we have enjoyed returning to Blue Moon Retreat (BMR) with our extended family. We usually book all 4 cottages on the central property. It is situated on a beautiful, peaceful lake that offers lovely sunsets. The cottages are all well-appointed and clean. The owners have made an outstanding effort at upgrading the cottages every year! We love all the lake activities -- especially the kayaking, fishing, and swimming (really neat lake "toys" to swim to!). BMR simply meets all of our needs as an extended family. It's a place we will continue to return to in years to come.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Moon Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Retreat

Address: 37369 Highway 62, Purdy, Ontario, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Purdy
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Purdy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to unwind, relax, reconnect and rejuvenate at our small cottage resort on peaceful Purdy Lake which is located between Bancroft and Barry's Bay on the quieter, southeast side of Ontario's Algonquin Park. Our all-inclusive, 'cut-above', resort has 1,500 feet of frontage on a largely undeveloped lake. A pair of loons nest on the island in the centre and their mournful cries are music for the soul. With just 6 housekeeping cottages on 20 acres you will be sharing this slice of the sparsely populated Canadian Algonquin Highlands with only a few other guests and the local wildlife. Many of our guests come for weekend or mid-week getaways during the even quieter fall, winter and spring seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Retreat Hotel Purdy
Blue Moon Retreat Purdy
Blue Moon Retreat Ontario/Purdy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.