We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical, private, & relaxing stay at Blue Moon Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Purdy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Moon Retreat
Save
You added Blue Moon Retreat to your Saves list
37369 Highway 62, Purdy, Ontario, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mississauga
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magical, private, & relaxing stay at Blue Moon Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had another magical holiday at Blue Moon Resort. Our annual stay here allows each of us to relax, revitalize ourselves, and reconnect with what is important in life - each other and nature! During the year our children try to guess what surprises will be waiting for us and they are never disappointed. The log roll was a huge hit as were the other additions. While we are here at the cottages (we rent 2 of the 6 available) we love the peaceful atmosphere of Purdy Lake and BMR. The cottages have everything (and more) that you could ever need or want. We have already booked for next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    13
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed the last week of June 2011 at High Noon Cottage and it was absolutely stunning. The view of the lake, and watching the sunset from our own personal hot tub was a lasting memory we'll never forget. The cottage was newly renovated and amazingly spotless. Staff was very accomodating in providing everything you could possibly need during your stay. Everything was provided (and I mean everything) firewood, boats, water toys, bbq, sauna. It was the perfect vacation to get away from city life. Best of all it was pet friendly : )

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews West Ont.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

my wife and i enjoyed our stay , tried the snowshoeing,
we brought our skidoo the trails were close .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

This was our second stay at Blue Moon Retreat.
We stayed at Shangri-La the fist year and at the Maples the year. As we walked in, there was music playing for us, and the cottage was spotless. It provided everything we could possibly need. When booking our trip, Pat and Fran were awesome in responding to my questions promptly. The indoor sauna and hottub were a luxury. My kids loved it. I look forward every year to this trip and will definately be back next year..The kids went back after 2 nights, and my husband and I were able to enjoy it ourselves as Pat and Fran offer 1 free night....I highly recommend Blus Moon Retreat...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We recently spent a 3-day weekend at Maples cottage with another couple. Loved the place. Although it rained Saturday, we still went snowshoeing around the lake and ventured inland a bit as well. Didn’t want to spend all the time in the cottage! Also went dog-sledding one afternoon (more on that later).

Cottage was very clean upon arrival. Plenty of windows and patio doors so lots of light getting inside. Owners currently have a carpenter ant problem that they are attempting to rectify – we gave up counting how many we ‘dispatched’ – this didn’t bother us and became a bit of a running joke actually.

Kitchen was spacious with plenty of counter space. All the usual appliances including microwave. The dishwasher was broken – I recall that the repairman had been there that day and had to order a part which wouldn’t be in until Monday (the day we left). However, we were all of an age that remembered how to wash dishes by hand! So no big problem at all. Plenty of dishes and cooking implements. They had an electric can opener and an “old-fashioned” manual one that did not work at all. Perhaps if the owners are reading this they should replace it – just in case there’s a power outage one day.

Hot tub was nice. We didn’t try the sauna though. Nice gas fireplace in the living room. Both bedrooms were comfortable. Even comes with a washer and dryer (the latter we used after snowshoeing in the rain!). One bathroom is quite large (didn’t even go into the other one, but I think it was a little smaller, although still perfectly adequate). Hair dryer on the wall. One had a bathtub/shower and the smaller one only had a shower.

Only 2 negatives that I can think of. The lazy-boy type sofa in the living room should be replaced. While it is easy to lift up the footrests, putting them back down is getting close to impossible. And, if you go there in the winter keep a close eye on the weather if you plan any driving excursions. It snowed quite a bit Saturday evening/night. We had booked our dog-sledding for 10 a.m. the next morning and had to postpone it until the afternoon (fortunately we were able to do that). The contractor who plows the “very steep” driveway didn’t show up until around noon (after we phoned 3 times) and then promptly got his truck stuck. Given the amount of snow and the ice beneath it (due to the rain before the snow) we were still unable to get out for our 1:30 dog-sledding trip. Fortunately the owners of the sledding enterprise came to pick us up, although we had to pay extra for their gas.

Dog sledding (our first time) at Highland Wilderness Tours was fantastic. They’re a little less than 30 minutes away. I think they only take out a maximum of 4 people at a time (you each get your own sled) and their wooded property is so beautiful with all the snow on the branches. What an experience! I would have no problem recommending them to anyone.

Would we go back in winter again? Possibly – but maybe next time we’d take our dog - he’d love it there as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

this was our 6th trip to Blue Moon Retreat and had another teriffic holiday, we love the Shangri La and all the perks that come with the cottage, we made our traditional walk to the island on Purdy Lake ,and watched the birds at the feeders.The hot tub is just icing on the cake for us, after cooking a wonderful meal together in the fully equiped kitchen,we start the fire place ,and enjoy a bottle of wine from the wine chiller.We look forward to our getaway for weeks ,and look back at it for months. Its truly a gem . worst part of our trip was we left a bottle of wine in the chiller by mistake oop! hope somebody enjoys it

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I recently stayed at one of the chalets at Blue Moon Retreat (Shangri La), and I have to say it was fantastic. I felt as if I was at home. The chalet was clean, up to date, and most of all affordable. The view to Purdy Lake was beautiful. I highly suggest this resort to couples, families and friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Moon Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Retreat

Address: 37369 Highway 62, Purdy, Ontario, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Purdy
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Purdy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to unwind, relax, reconnect and rejuvenate at our small cottage resort on peaceful Purdy Lake which is located between Bancroft and Barry's Bay on the quieter, southeast side of Ontario's Algonquin Park. Our all-inclusive, 'cut-above', resort has 1,500 feet of frontage on a largely undeveloped lake. A pair of loons nest on the island in the centre and their mournful cries are music for the soul. With just 6 housekeeping cottages on 20 acres you will be sharing this slice of the sparsely populated Canadian Algonquin Highlands with only a few other guests and the local wildlife. Many of our guests come for weekend or mid-week getaways during the even quieter fall, winter and spring seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Retreat Hotel Purdy
Blue Moon Retreat Purdy
Blue Moon Retreat Ontario/Purdy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.