We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than any Thai food in Toronto!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bualai Taste of Thai

Bualai Taste of Thai
108 Walton Street, Port Hope, Ontario L1A 1N5, Canada
(905) 885-1300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 53 Restaurants in Port Hope
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Peterborough, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Better than any Thai food in Toronto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We make regular trips to Port Hope just to go to this restaurant. The food is always tasty, fresh and very authentic. Sammy, the owner, is a little sweet fireball from Thailand and she knows how to a run a restaurant!

The lunch specials are particularly good value for the money but dinner is also very reasonably priced. The Mussman curry is a specialty worth trying.

You can't go wrong with just about anything off the menu here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    18
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lovely exotic decor with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My daughter & I ate lunch here while visiting Port Hope on a theatre package mid June.
We overheard someone mention that they had a $9.99 lunch deal so decided to do that rather than have dinner there.

The restaurant is so exotic & beautiful & our server looked lovely in her long blue gown
which unfortunately I didn't take a picture of. She was also very helpful & friendly.

The food was really good & plentiful. The meal included soup, a spring roll & choice of a main. I picked the Pad Thai with shrimp, my daughter chicken & cashews I believe then we shared them.. We both enjoyed the food as well as the lovely guava candies they gave you when you paid the bill.
We had a great meal there & would return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best in Cobourg area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Thai food was excellent - large menu with many choices. Our waiter was patient and even brought extra curry chicken spring rolls so each of our party of 6 could try them. Chicken satay was good as an appetizer too. Mani courses were authentic and wonderful mixture of tastes from traditional pad thai to green curry to mango pineapple pork/shrimp. Waiter also modified a dish for my Mum so it was less spicey. Decor was really nifty. Service was good and friendly. A little slow in bringing ginger ice-cream for dessert until we saw how much had been scooped into large cups we realized it took some time! Overall the best experience we had while visiting Cobourg. There were few decent restaurants in Cobourg so we used Trip Advisor and found this gem in Port Hope less than 30 minutes away! Highly recommended - we will come here again next time we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai food in a relaxing decor.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Fresh, hot food served in an authentic feeling Thai environment, complete with Thai music. The dishes were delicious and the portions very generous.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oshawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had lunch with a friend here yesterday it was excellent . The food was fresh hot and delicious. The server we had was Christian the best I have seen in a long time, you can tell he loves his job. The price of the dishes are very reasonable and worth ever penny. I look forward to the next time I am in Port Hope to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bualai Taste of Thai also viewed

 

Been to Bualai Taste of Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bualai Taste of Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.