We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Night Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle Inn and Bistro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlyle Inn and Bistro
Save
You added Carlyle Inn and Bistro to your Saves list
86 John Street, Port Hope, Ontario L1A 2Z2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Couple Getaway $99/person
Ranked #4 of 11 Port Hope B&B and Inns
Port Hope, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great Night Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

When I heard Dave had re-opened the Carlyle I had to come back and try it. My wife and I used to go to the Carlyle for dinner years ago. The restaurant and inn are in a heritage building that was a city dairy in it's original years. It looks quite stately on the corner of John and Augusta Streets. We went into the old dinning room because it's our favourite. It's decorated very nicely and has a warm atmosphere. The restaurant is a business casual to formal setting. I usually go suit and tie, but business casual still works.

I started with a pickled beet salad that was very tasty and well plated. For my main I ordered the 10 oz steak medium rare and that's how it arrived. It came with pomme dauphine (small fried breaded potato balls) and al dente mixed vegetables. The steak was tender and well seasoned, if not a little peppery. I like pepper so it suited me fine. As for the pomme dauphine, I would prefer either garlic mashed or roasted potatoes. That doesn't mean the pomme dauphine wasn't good. It's just not my first choice for a nice steak. My wife ordered the chicken kiev and loved it. I had a little taste and it was tender, juicy and well seasoned.

I knew from years past that Dave made his own desserts from scratch. After checking with our server to ensure that was still the case we ordered ameretto cheese cake and carrot cake with lemon cream cheese icing. The desserts were very good.

Our server was very attentive and made our visit very enjoyable. This was certainly the Carlyle I remembered.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    14
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
28
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

When my husband's work took us to Port Hope for three weeks, we stayed and ate at the Carlyle Inn and Bistro. Our experience was second to none! The Carlyle, along with so many buildings in Port Hope, is a lovely heritage facility, centrally located, so Port Hope's many shops are within easy walking distance. The room is which we stayed was very clean, spacious and comfortable, and the Bistro menu contained a variety of absolutely delicious and beautifully presented foods. Even after three weeks, we never felt the need to try other restaurants in the town! Adding to the experience was the friendliness of the staff and the owner, Dave, who goes out of his way in attempting to accommodate his clients' needs. The Carlyle easily became our home away from home. Thank you to Dave and his staff for making this possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had dinner at the Carlyle Inn & Bistro recently and enjoyed ourselves very much. They have a variety of dining rooms, some with different menus. The smaller dining room was occupied with a party when we arrived, and were put into a larger and somewhat more formal room. When we asked if we could have a selection from the menu from the occupied dining room (we had seen it on line), we were accomodated with a smile.

The food was very good, tasty and presented with the right balance of style without being pretentious or snooty. The service was professional and attentive – without being to much in evidence. The meal was served promptly, and the waitresses were unobtrusive, but there when needed. Clearly very well trained and managed. The price was middle of the road, and quite a good value. An excellent meal, alltogether. Easy to recommend.

We did not sleep here, so can't comment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

In August 2012, a road trip took us through Port Hope. We had no specific plans, just out to see the country roads. On a whim, we booked a night at the Carlyle Inn. We were so pleased with the room, the Inn, the food and the service that we stayed 3 nights. Our room was beautifully decorated, and immaculately maintained. The decor in the bar and the dining room takes you back in time to the elegant settings of yesteryears, while the outdoor patio offers an lovely al fresco setting. Dave was a great host, greeting us with full breakfast options each morning (included in the price of the room), sharing stories about the town and answering our questions about the area. Dinner service was outstanding. Our waitress was the ultimate cheerleader for every dish on the menu, and provided detailed descriptions of the preparation and ingredients. Every thing we ordered and subsequently savoured was absolutely top notch. We dined at the Carlyle on the first night - tried another upscale restaurant on night 2, but came right back to the Carlyle for more of their dining experience on night 3.
A must have, is the Brook Trout - ingenious - some real talent in that kitchen. Shrimp ceviche, beef carpaccio, crab cakes, duck breast, chicken supreme - ALL WINNERS! Thanks Dave and staff. We'd come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #5, which had a lovely view of the church across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were visiting family in Port Hope, so this inn was conveniently located for us. We stayed here a few years ago when it was Dr. Corbett's Inn. It's a great old building on a quiet street (not that there are noisy streets in Port Hope). We had a spacious 2 bed room on the second floor. There's no elevator, but we didn't care. The room and bathroom were very clean and well maintained. The beds were comfortable (although the pillows were too soft for me). One drawback is the very low water pressure in the shower. Other than that, I had no complaints. Breakfast is included and is cooked and served in the lounge by the very pleasant owner, Dave. Food choices were limited to eggs, omelet or French toast with sausage, ham and fruit, but sufficient for us. We didn't eat lunch or dinner at the hotel bistro, but heard the food is very good. There is a park with playground one block away. Take a short walk to the main street and you'll find other restaurants and quaint shops.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

As you walk into The Carlyle Inn and Bistro, you're instantly greeted by a friendly, non confrontational environment that caters to the needs of every customer and walk of life. Whether you're looking for a bar setting, fine dining or casual patio, The Carlyle offers them all. The decor is impeccable and unique with a Moroccan theme in the dining room and continuing into the bar. With three separate menus (lunch, dinner and bar menu respectively), you can't go wrong. There is always something absolutely delicious to satisfy your taste buds. Lastly, the staff were wonderful. Absolutely wonderful. Very attentive, quick and friendly.
All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed the experience I had at The Carlyle Inn and Bistro. The food was wonderful, the atmosphere was extremely tasteful and the staff were fantastic. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I was delighted to discover the Carlyle, owned and run by Dave & Jeanne Henderson, the same couple who do a fabulous job at the Hill and Dale B & B. The building is charming, a former bank built in 1857 just off the main street of Port Hope's heritage district. Our family booked two rooms, both were large, clean and well appointed. The Bistro fare was delicious and the service excellent! If you are looking for an Inn with the convenience of an excellent dining room and the atmosphere and attention of a B & B, the Carlyle is a perfect fit. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlyle Inn and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlyle Inn and Bistro

Address: 86 John Street, Port Hope, Ontario L1A 2Z2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Port Hope
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hope
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlyle Inn and Bistro is a boutique hotel recently reopened by original owners, Dave and Jeanne Henderson, with 10 refurbished spacious rooms and a fully licensed restaurant, lounge and seasonal patio. Originally built as the Bank of Upper Canada in 1857 it has many architectual details which add to its charm. We are open year round. Located in the heart of downtown Port Hope (70 miles East of Toronto). We are a minutes walking distance to the Capitol Theatre, Antique shops and Specialty stores. Come and enjoy our friendly atmosphere, a stroll along the Waterfront Trail, shopping and antiquing, golf, great local yearly events and much much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlyle Inn And Bistro Port Hope, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyle Inn and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.