We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Port Hope

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Port Hope to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Port Hope
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route 2211 County Road 28, Port Hope, Ontario L1A3V9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Hope
montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Horribly God Ugly room. Carpets from the 1970's. Not sure why there are any carpets in this day and age, a breeding ground for dirt. Check out the dirt near the walls. The whole time i didn't want to touch anything. Exterior of building is misleading because it's actually a nice structure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    18
    16
    5
See reviews for
23
28
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Reasonable hotel at this price point, close to the highway but you can't hear the noise.Actually had a hot breakfast but quality was not that great and the cold portion was much better. We were a hockey team and wanted to socialize with the all the parents. Security guard was over zealous and by 930 pm on a Saturday night told us to shut it down. If you are looking for a quiet place, this may be the pace for you but as a sports team I would suggest other hotels as the security guard made us feel very unwelcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stopped here on the drive between Niagara and Ottawa on a family holiday with my parents. We had 2 rooms and were given preferrential rates for both, which was nice. Although next to a service station, my room was that side and I got a lovely night's sleep. Nice fridge in the room which is great for the hot weather and storing refreshments. Nice, adequate breakfast. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Having stayed at a large number of Comfort Inns in Canada and the United States, I was pleasantly surprised by this location.
Comfort Inn advertises a "hot breakfast." Indeed, their locations in the United States almost always offer this. However, very few Canadian Comfort Inns offer a hot breakfast - but this location does. In addition, there is actually seating room at the breakfast location so that you do not have to take your meal breakfast back to your room.
Rooms at this Comfort Inn are very clean !
The only negative I have found is that - at times - the price of accommodation at this location is often far higher than other motels just a few minutes drive.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms on the north side of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed the night of August 10th, 2012 at the Comfort Inn. The hotel was pretty dated and tattered, as there were cigarette burns, stains in the sink, chipped bathroom tiles, frayed carpet, etc. but that is to be expected of any older, very standard hotel like the Comfort Inn. The staff were nice, and the public areas, like the lobby, had been updated were fine. The room was kept about as clean as is to be expected, and the air conditioner was rattling, but working. The price wasn't great for the room we got, but Port Hope can get busy in the summer. Breakfast was basic, but there was a surprisingly good variety, and the staff were good about refilling any empty parts of the buffet. All in all, our stay was average, but in a 'good way'. It was exactly what we would have expected from the hotel, and we would come back if we stayed in Port Hope again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night on our way trough. The price for what you get is just not worth it, the hotel is outdated and the breakfast is a joke for the price. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and professional, but it did not make up for the rest. Highway rip off..... Will definitely not be back for that price not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

For the cost of the room I have stayed at nicer low budget hotels. The carpet was stained and the room stunk of smoke and the bottom of the sink was rusty. We kept getting phone calls and people knocking on our door in the middle of the night (we didn't say anything because at the time we thought it was our friends just messing with us and they would have continued it we acknowledged them). The impression I got was that this room was used for long term rental and we got the room because it was a busy weekend and it was the only room left when we checked in at 9:30 at night. The TV remote was broken so we had to go and get another one the next day.
The only plus side was that the continential breakfast was fantastic - one of the best we have had, and the bed was soft. We were just to tired and busy to complain to get another room. We won't be staying at that hotel again.

Room Tip: Make sure you turn on all the lights and stand in the room for 5 min's before you unpack everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Port Hope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Port Hope

Address: Route 2211 County Road 28, Port Hope, Ontario L1A3V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Port Hope
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Port Hope 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Canada, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Port Hope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Port Hope Hotel Port Hope
Port Hope Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Port Hope Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Port Hope, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.