We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steakhouse experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Beans Steakhouse and Lounge

Black Beans Steakhouse and Lounge
63 Walton Street, Port Hope, Ontario L1A 1N2, Canada
905.885.1888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 55 Restaurants in Port Hope
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Southwestern
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We went to Port Hope for the weekend, just to get away. I had read ~right here on TripAdvisor!~ that this was one of the best places for dinner in town. We were a little reluctant - not really in the mood for steak - but we're very glad we did. The staff was super friendly, and the menu was fun and creative. We especially loved the southwestern touches to everything. We ordered the fresh fries for an appetizer with the poblano cheese sauce and smoked chicken and - oh my God, best riff on poutine we've EVER had. It sounds heavy, but it really wasn't. Our steaks were done extremely well, and we appreciated all the great, unique side dishes that went along. I ordered the mac & cheese, at the server's drooling encouragement, and enjoyed them immensely. Greatest mac & cheese ever, I had to fight my girlfriend off to finish them! I also ordered their goat cheese and chipotle compound butter, and it was an excellent complement to my steak. The prices are comparable to that 'big Canadian chain', but for the experience and unique flavours, I'd make the trip back out here, instead.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    20
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Hope, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Tried it, Liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have been here once since arriving in Port Hope last year. It was welcoming, attentive but not obtrusive service, and excellent food. Others there that night were clearly enjoying it too.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening at the Black Beans. The staff, food and presentation were great. I don’t know why I waited so long to try the Black Beans.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Ontario Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unbelievable food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had pre-show dinner at Black Beans Steak House and Lounge in Port Hope, Ontario, on Dec. 8th.
Didn't have a reservation but the staff couldn't have been more helpful in getting us in.
The four of us our in our 60's and all agreed that we had never tasted such amazing steak in our long lives! I had Beef Tenderloin steak and it was melt-on-your-mouth delicious. The others had
Rib-Eye and were just as amazed by the quality of the meat and the chef's skill. (The Keg could take a few pointers from them!).
I would advise reservations because it is a very popular place - and no wonder.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Bean will delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

There are places to eat and places to experience - the Black Beans scene is one to experience. Each time we have eaten there has been memorable. Food is always amazing and the staff always attentive.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Beans Steakhouse and Lounge also viewed

Port Hope, Ontario
Port Hope, Ontario
 
Port Hope, Ontario
Port Hope, Ontario
 

Been to Black Beans Steakhouse and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Beans Steakhouse and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.