We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW and another WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Gusto

Trattoria Gusto
1 Walton Street, Port Hope, Ontario L1A 1M8, Canada
+1 905-885-1198
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 55 Restaurants in Port Hope
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the historic Waddell Hotel, Gusto is the perfect location for a romantic evening, intimate family gather or business event. First rate service combined with exquisite cuisine in a beautiful historic setting.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“WOW and another WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is one of the best restaurants we have been to. From the time we walked in, seated and served it was perfect. Our server Richard, was very attentive and very knowledgeable on wines. Our dinner was great, beautifully presented and most of all the ingredients were fresh and the taste superb.
We will definitely be going back and we highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    22
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Hope, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outdoor Patio is Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The rear open patio of Gusto's is right on the east bank of the Ganaraska River. In the fall when the salmon are running you can watch the fly fishermen trying to get their limit. Appetizers here are definitely not run of the mill with a great cheese plate and meat plate antipasto. Also a good selection of small brewery draft beer such as Beau's.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great patio, great food, fine friendly service what more could you want”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I took my buddy for a fine meal for his 46th birthday on the patio. We had a lovely blonde waitress who treated us with timely service, we enjoyed a fine pizza after overhearing the person at the next table exclaim that this is the best italian pizza he had ever had. We also enjoyed bruschetta and a shrimp appetizer, and a steak dinner. I asked the waitress if she could bring over a little desert because it was my friends birthday and he would kill me for doing so. She had a lovely whipped cream and berry with a couple of waffer cookies inside a parfait dish. It was lovely and she even sang a little happy b-day song. We enjoyed the meal and I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. The bread is so good so don't fill up on this because the meal is better. If you get stuck on the 401, go down to the Kings highway and drop in, thanks for a great meal,

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They made my 4 year old happy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband took his parents and our 4 year old there for dinner...I was very happy to hear they made my son the kind of pizza he asked for even tho it's not on the menu. That's the kind of service that will keep us coming back. The waitress was very nice and friendly!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake worth
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great food, but...........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great food. Small portions. Fair prices. But, the washrooms are nasty, the servier was not at all friendly, not even a thank you after a 20 per cent tip. The bussboy was great, never touched the glass rims and was always there when needed. Watch out soft drinks are a small glass full of ice and cost 3.00 dollars each and no refills.. this is theft.. and it is the same on plain fountian club soda.. wow at a cost of about five cents.. yes it is the little things that count..

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Gusto also viewed

 
Port Hope, Ontario
 

Been to Trattoria Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Gusto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.