We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good, service so-so” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saugeen Golf Club Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saugeen Golf Club Restaurant
RR 2, Port Elgin, Ontario N0H 2C6, Canada
(519) 389-4514
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 42 Restaurants in Port Elgin
Restaurant details
Port Elgin, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food good, service so-so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Food here has definitely improved since re-opening with the clubhouse reno. It is so lovely to sit out and eat on the patio and watch the golfers come up on the two back 9's. It is probably the best burger in town. My only complaint is the service. I have been here several times in the summer because my husband has a membership, and I have had to go into the bar area to get utensils, or ketchup, or the bill. I have come with my two year old, and had to ask for extra napkins, plates, and the bill- yet the service was paid to the 4 men members sitting around having beer. The 3 times I have come it wasn't even busy and I encountered the same problem two of the three times. The only time it wasn't slow was when I met my husband AFTER golf and he had his clubs with him. Hmmmm...not sure if this was a coincidence or not. Either way, gorgeous scenery and pretty decent food and value.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    5
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Elgin, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Waiting, waiting where is the service?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Overdone meat, slow service and undertrained staff. Too bad as the view was wonderful, but of 6 diners 4 were overlooked and one mediocre. Waitress's aid they were understaffed as Friday is not usually busy. Manager was golfing so not available to help out. Poor priorities!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“renovations not for the better should have left things alone!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Re gone is the dining room with the beautiful view and instead a small plain room with tv's blairing! Limited menu with nothing very creative and below average taste at best.I have been a loyal customer for more than 10yrs.and will not return what a shame!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wheelchair friendly good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We attended a wedding on July 13 at the newly renovated building. As I am in a wheelchair my first concern is always - are the bathrooms accessible…I am glad to report that I had no problem at all getting in or around in this new facility. There is an elevator and bathrooms on both floors.
We also found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. The food was great and the view from their incredible patio was awesome.
Would recommend unsing this facility for any gathering.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Such a nice facility since the renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Saugeen dining has an entire different feel this year. Gone is the formal dining room (now used for banquets only) & the informal eating area....inside & out....has such a nice view & a casual relaxed ambience. The renovation that occured over the winter is amazing!
Menu is limited & downsized from the the old menu. Last week we had lunch there & had a wonderful chicken fajita wrap. We had dinner there on the w/e after golf. Very disappointed with the fish & chips. Very little fish & lots of very greasy batter. Chips were cold. Lunch there yesterday was quite good. Had a spinach salad & very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saugeen Golf Club Restaurant also viewed

Port Elgin, Bruce County
Port Elgin, Bruce County
 

Been to Saugeen Golf Club Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saugeen Golf Club Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.