We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Um, Chinese Food?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong Mandarin Restaurant

Hong Kong Mandarin Restaurant
1020 Goderich St, Port Elgin, Ontario N0H 2C3, Canada
(519) 832-6173
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 42 Restaurants in Port Elgin
Restaurant details
Burlington, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Um, Chinese Food?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Where to begin? We have been vacationing in Southampton for a decade and finally decided to try a Chinese food place and chose this one. I can say with certainty that this is one of the worst meals I have ever had in my life. My plate of assorted Chinese food was entirely grey. The honey garlic ribs were grey and looked boiled, the fried rice was greyish/white, the vegetable lo mein had no vegetables and no sauce of any sort, and agin was grey. Chicken chow mein...GREY.

To top it off, I ordered 5 spring rolls at $1.80 each. I got a box of 9 appetizer size spring rolls from a grocery store that were likely baked in an oven, and charged $9.50 for it. ???

Yes it's a small town but there is no excuse for serving "food" like this. After dropping over $50 on food we didn't even save the leftovers. Completely disappointing. I do not recommend and will not go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Excellent Westernized Chinese Food at Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

First off lets be very clear that this in not the most beautiful decor of any restaurant you have ever been to. Its a little older and wasn't fancy when it was new. The attraction here is the food and the value. There is a smaller buffet with food cooked in small batches and replenished frequently so it is always freshly prepared. Its not the authentic gray nearly meatless real Chinese food but is an excellent presentation of the Westernized Chinese Food most of us are familiar with and enjoy very much. The buffet is and extremely good value at $8 for lunchtime and a little more at night. There is just enough selection to keep everyone happy and the food is consistently top drawer. For small town Chinese food you won't find it any better.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I used to go every Sunday to have the buffet. Lots of different foods in a small buffet setting. Great food and good price for buffet. Try it if you can.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best in town if that means anything?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Alright food, so-so service, poor dining conditions and reasonable value. All in all, if you don't allow the surroundings to affect your meal, you will live the food!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What's Going On?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Wow. Anytime we want Chinese Food this has been our GO TO place. I have been recommending this restaurant to people for years. Tonight we ordered take out. Jardoo wings were way overcooked and terribly dry. Shrimp chow mein was bean sprouts and a few shrimps only. It used to always have a meddly of colourful veggies in the mix. And the Chicken fried rice was just that. Rice with a few pieces of chopped chicken and a wee bit of egg. Where did all the colour and care go to. The food looked as dreary as the day. I have changed my mind about this being a great place for Chinese food. No more recommendations from this gal and hubby.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong Mandarin Restaurant also viewed

Port Elgin, Bruce County
Port Elgin, Bruce County
 
Port Elgin, Bruce County
Port Elgin, Bruce County
 

Been to Hong Kong Mandarin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong Mandarin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.