We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Evening with Fantastic Food & Service! THANK YOU!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andre's Swiss Country Dining

Andre's Swiss Country Dining
442 Goderich St., Port Elgin, Ontario N0H 2C4, Canada
(519) 832-2461
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Port Elgin
Cuisines: Swiss
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Special Evening with Fantastic Food & Service! THANK YOU!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Recently we were lucky enough to go with friends to this wonderful restaurant. The food was absolutely superb. It was our best friend's 40th Birthday, so we all came from near and far and from varied backgrounds, ranging in age from 20 to 50. There was a doctor, two chefs and even a server among us and we were all highly impressed by the entire experience. Our server was so polite and sweet. Actually all the staff was top notch. I would highly recommend this restaurant. What a beautiful and special evening with fantastic food!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I guess it's good for the geriatric set...?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

We're local and have eaten here a few times. Good (not wonderful) food, but very overpriced. The decor is dated and the dining room only ever seems to be filled with senior citizens (perhaps they're the only ones who can afford it). Service has been rather slow each time we've been there, and none of the staff are particularly friendly. The owner seems almost put-out when you walk through the door - a smile and warm greeting would go a long way in improving the place - along with some updated decor. Not recommended for those under 60.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quality food and service every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

After spending many years in the Southampton/Port Elgin area, I have finally decided to post reviews on the limited number of restaurants, some good and some not so good.

Andre's is top notch and the only place to really have an enjoyable, relaxing, high quality meal with excellent service.

The staff are very professional and friendly and respectful.
The food is excellent with enough variety on the menu to please all.
The restaurant is clean and inviting.

It is hard to find a good restaurant anywhere in the area (Owen Sound/Port Elgin/Southampton) that matches our dining experiences in Toronto but Andre does that and more..

I would strongly recommend a reseveraton during peak dinner time 5 - 8 as it is always full however after 8:00pm, the place tends to clear out and walks are in easier to be seated..

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I don't get here often enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I am from Port Elgin and there are three restaurants in town I love. Andres it the one I pick for a nice quiet dinner, great food, friendly service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“This is about it, for Port Elgin.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Port Elgin offers little in the way of decent restaurants. Andre's is it, and is very good. The waitstaff are very professional, knowing when to be attentive and when to leave you alone. The food is a bit rich but nicely prepared and presented. Good value, good food, excellent service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andre's Swiss Country Dining also viewed

Port Elgin, Bruce County
Port Elgin, Bruce County
 

Been to Andre's Swiss Country Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andre's Swiss Country Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.