We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park for all seasons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macgregor Point Provincial Park

Macgregor Point Provincial Park
1593 Bruce Rd, Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Port Elgin
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Key Largo, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Park for all seasons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Want to cross country ski? Got it. Want to bird watch? Got it. Want to go camping in a secluded site,with lots of tree cover? Got it. Want nice easy access beaches? Got it. Want to be near a town for extra supplies? Got it. And... come for the fall colour. You can't beat the fall at MacGregor

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful trails and sunsets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This park was recommended to us by a neighbour and we really enjoy it. The trails are beautiful and varied. The views and sunsets are gorgeous. They have a spectacular playground that will keep children happy for hours. Most of the sites are private and treed, with a hard packed gravel base. The comfort stations we visited were in good condition and kept clean. The beach at MacGregor Point is terrible. It is small and there is a stretch of gooey muck running along the length of the beach that you have to walk through to get out into deeper water. The bottom of the lake is very rocky near the shore and small children will have to walk very carefully. Once you are out from the beach a bit there are less rocks and the still shallow water is fun for children to play in. We have heard that the day visitor beach at MacGregor Point is much nicer, as is a beach just 5 minutes away. We plan to visit those beaches next time we are at MacGregor.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkerton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The lakeshore hike is one of the best around. Loved the views of Lake Huron. The water level is a bit low. A bit of a shock.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Camping in 'Grouse landing'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in the Huron - Grouse landing sites, in July. I enjoyed the park but the site we were at needed "picked up". Basically there was some trash left behind and thrown into the bushes that separate the sites. (I'm trying my best to not be picky because lets face it - we were camping. But leaving things behind attracts animals. That's a no-no) The sites are private and most were large. There are big, tall bushes separating each site. The ground cover is a dirt/sand mixture.

The waters are extremely choppy but given the location that is normal. We travel with our two dogs so we prefer calmer waters. The lake here is very pretty to look at though. The "beach" area is all rocks. Some beaches have slate rock and some have boulder like rocks you need to step over. I, myself, don't recommend the elderly, or small children coming here to swim. (I've heard 'Inverhuron' has an awesome beach for swimming. South of Macgregor)

Showers are clean, toilets are clean, outhouses were not good. Which surprised me - every provincial park we have been to have kept their toilets clean, outhouse or not.

You must - try their 'coconut ice cream' located in the park store.... must. : )

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macgregor Point Provincial Park also viewed

 

Been to Macgregor Point Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macgregor Point Provincial Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.