We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Buddha” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Smokin' Buddha

The Smokin' Buddha
265 King Street, Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada
905-834-6000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Asian, Pacific Rim, Fusion, Asian fusion, Pan-Asian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Port Colborne, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love the Buddha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have celiac disease and being able to dine out is always a concern...never an issue with Kevin and his staff.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    61
    15
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunnville, Canada
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Love the Asian fusion food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great Pad Thai, Peanut butter curry, well almost anything there is great. The restaurant is very small so make reservations. During the summer, its nice to eat out on the patio. Owner provides wonderful catering, we've used his services several times, just terrific and you get great value for your money!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wainfleet, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We enjoy going to Smokin' Budda to have different food. It's not the just the same old food. We enjoy it every year and sample it at HH Knoll park.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“small but mighty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Enjoyed the food. Ambience is questionable - it's an old garage - pretty plain with basic, minimal seating and small. Staff are friendly. Not a place to impress, but certainly good eating!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“food is getting weak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

i LOVED this restaurant. i used to go very often.
For some reason the food started to lack some flavour.
I'm middle eastern and the hummous is a joke. I wanted to vomit as soon as i tasted it.
I usually get the pad thai which is OVERLOADED with peanuts. They have a heat grade for the amount of heat to add to your food. I always ask for level 2 out of 5 and my friend asked for level 3.
I swear they were both made at the same time. They tasted the same!
I couldnt get the flavour of the rich ingredients while my nose was watering from the flavour of the hot sauce invading my senses.

I just hope they find better cooks because if this continues, I can imagine this place going out of business.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, Owner at The Smokin' Buddha, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello MN_HA,
I'm sorry to learn of your experience. I respect that our Hummus is not traditionally Middle Eastern- it is an adaptation of the late Urban Peasant's recipe.
Happy to learn that our service and atmosphere met your expectation.

Cheers,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smokin' Buddha also viewed

 
Port Colborne, Ontario
Port Colborne, Ontario
 

Been to The Smokin' Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Smokin' Buddha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.