We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home- No, Better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talwood Manor B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Colborne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talwood Manor B&B
303 Fielden Ave., Port Colborne, Ontario L3K 4T5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Bottle of VQA Wine.
Belleville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home Away from Home- No, Better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We can't say enough good things about Judith and her beautiful home, Talwood Manor. My husband is in the military, so we took advantage of Judith's offer to spend the night, November 11 , at no charge; we stayed an additional night, as well. We happened to be the only guests this particular weekend, which was just fine with us since it was our first weekend away together in almost four years.
Talwood Manor is a century-old home with gorgeous original details intact and rich decorating appropriate to the atmosphere of the home. It was warm and inviting while being luxurious, at the same time.From our reception the moment we arrived until the morning we left, Judith was a gracious, attentive, considerate, and friendly hostess. Our room was beautifully appointed and suited its name, The Tudor Room. No detail was overlooked and no comfort spared; from the scented bath salts to the heated toilet seat (my husband's favourite!), from the personal menu to the accommodation of some special dietary needs, we wanted for nothing and were able to just relax and enjoy our stay in Port Colborne.
I need to include a separate paragraph here for the food: Talwood Manor's breakfasts were out of this world! It's easy to tell that Judith loves to cook and loves pleasing her guests even more. We devoured fresh fruit with yogurt dressing, eggs benedict with asparagus and peameal bacon on savoury waffles, smoked salmon with fresh dill, roasted vegetable frittata with fresh goat cheese, fantastic coffee, a pleasing variety of tea, and orange juice. Again, the attention to detail was impressive. The food was almost too good, only because each breakfast left us so satisfied we didn't have much of an appetite the rest of the day!


We wish Judith and Talwood Manor continued success. We hope to have the opportunity to get back for a visit sometime soon.
John and Veronica

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
42
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southbourne, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Staying at the Talwood Manor was one of the best choices we made whilst visiting Canada - Such a beautiful home with stunning decor, comfortable and spacious rooms and the loveliest host you could hope to meet in Judith. She made sure our stay was delightful, providing impeccable service and the best breakfasts we had all holiday (you have to try the Eggs Benedict on savoury waffles!). And you'll love Joey the cat, who was there ready to greet us at the front door - He's adorable! We will definitely stay again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Talwood Manor B &B was one of the highlights of our biking trip to the Niagara region this summer. The historic interior is special and our room was very comfortable. The breakfasts were culinary delights and kept us well fueled for our daily bike excursions. Judith was very hospitable.

Michael & Debra W

Room Tip: Oriental room worked well for restless sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I toured around Tallwood manor lead by Judith the manors gracious host. its a large beautifully and ornately appointed gem! Above and beyond what you wold expect. the rooms are large, comfortable bright and spotless and the atmosphere is one of relaxation and a bit of decadence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I made a wonderful choice in staying at Talwood Manor B&B. Everything was terrific from the moment I arrived there. Breakfasts were amazing. From delicious egg dishes to wonderful waffles, Helen and Judith served a beautiful breakfast every morning of my stay. Guests are welcomed and spoiled. Definitely will stay again if I am back in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wonderful B&B and a very accomodating host. The house was immaculate and our room was beautifully decorated, very clean and equipped with a very comfortable bed. Judith was awsome and ensured our utmost comfort and needs. The breakfast was delicious and filling. Its presentation was lovely and inviting.

We could only stay for one night but would certainly not hesitate to return to this B&B if we were in the area again, and would recommend it highly to our family and friends.

Thank you Judith for a wonderful stay.

Pamela and Daryl

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beamsville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a night to celebrate our anniversary and had a terrific time. The whole place was decorated beautifully and the breakfast went far beyond the call of duty and was delicious! We felt very welcomed by Judith and she helped us by telling us about some of her favourite places in the area. We would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Talwood Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talwood Manor B&B

Address: 303 Fielden Ave., Port Colborne, Ontario L3K 4T5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Port Colborne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Port Colborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talwood Manor Luxury B&B is nestled in the heart of Port Colborne and directly across from Showboat Festival Theatre. Built by one of Port Colborne's prominent family in 1915,Talwood Manor retains much of it former grandeur along with spacious guest areas. We are open year round and guests can enjoy their complimentary beverages while relaxing in the Garden Gazebo, Screened Verandah or by the fire in the winter. Rooms are professionally decorated and updated to ensure your stay is memorable. Guest rooms are temperature controlled, contain flat screened TV's and all those little extras you come to expect a Luxury B&B. Come and enjoy a Gourmet Breakfast prepared fresh for you. Dietary concerns? Please let us know. All restriction are accommodated. We are walking distances to trendy boutique stores and delectable restaurants some along the waters edge. Close to Nickel Beach or the shores of Lake Erie sit and relax beside the water. Welland Canal is the longest lock system in the world where you can view the massive ships on their voyage from lake to lake. Come enjoy the ambiance of our community and our many summer festivals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talwood Manor B&B Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talwood Manor B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Talwood Manor B&B to your Saves list