We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a team retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shamrock Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Carling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shamrock Lodge
Save
You added Shamrock Lodge to your Saves list
1090 Shamrock Road, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great location for a team retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Our team came from across Canada and wanted to experience 'Ontario Cottage Country'. Boy, were they not disappointed! The view and the ambiance are quintessential Muskoka. Tim and Susan set us up with a fantastic place to host our all day meetings (even starting the wood burning stove when it was freezing in June!) and everyone raved about all the food. Snack breaks, breakfast, lunch and dinner were exceptional. They even had a pot of coffee ready every morning for our early risers. The Bryant family were outstanding hosts and the facility was literally perfect for our retreat. The rooms were very clean and had a fridge and everyone felt that they had their own space while still being close together. We loved the games room as it gave us a place to convene each day before and after dinner. Everyone was so accommodating we really felt welcomed! You can be sure that we will be back the next time our meeting comes back to 'Toronto' :) And many of our colleagues said they would love to vacation here with their families. Seems like it would be an amazing place for kids! Thank you for such a great experience.

Room Tip: The cottages with the screen in porches would be ideal during summer time. Your kids can sleep in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hi Michelle. Thanks so much for the fantastic review. We loved having your group here and loved getting to know all of you. We'll certainly look forward to that phone call when your meeting returns to 'Toronto'!!

Susan and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
112
13
1
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The staff at this resort are fantastic, the food is delicious and the water sports are amazing. The fact that this resort isn't huge makes a big difference when travelling with kids. Our kids are 8 and 10 and we could let them have free reign of the place without worrying about them. They loved the freedom and we loved the relaxation. Anywhere they go is pretty well in sight without moving from a lounge chair. One of the owners Tim is beyond wonderful with kids, from ice cream boat rides to teaching them how to water ski. My son is incredibly proud of his certificate for "first time waterskier"!! Our kids called it the best trip ever. Looking forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thanks so much for writing your review and we're glad you had such a great stay! It doesn't get much better than hearing your kids say it was their best trip ever!!

We'll look forward to seeing you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I do not have one bad thing to say about this resort. The staff is AMAZING and our group of 14 never once heard the word, "no" from any of the staff. The food was fantastic, the entertainment was varied and really, really good and there was something for everyone to do which is good as we had a group that varied in ages 4-74! This is a great place for families and trust me, if you're bored here it is your fault. The trampoline out in the water provided many hours of fun for everyone and the water skiing and tubing were so much fun. Tried paddle boarding for the first time and loved it. All in all, we couldn't have gone to a better place and hope you guys are around for a long time. I dare you to find better service and staff in Muskoka!
Kari

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hi Kari. Thank you so much for that wonderful review. We loved meeting all of your family and being able to help celebrate such a great anniversary. (The t-shirts were a highlight for me!) Hopefully we'll have the pleasure of having you all back again next year.

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Many years ago we toke our kids to various family oriented family run lodges for summer vacations. The kids loved the water and outdoor activities and we enjoyed not having to cook and look after them continuously. Today there are very few such places for busy moms and dads. Shamrock is one of the exceptions. And they do an exemplary job in excelling at keeping the kids involved, entertained and well fed during the entire time, even on wet days. Shamrock is a "lodge" and as such one cannot expect a level of luxury that is associated with luxury brand name resorts in the Muskokas. Their web site (it does not do justice to what is offered) and the pricing associated with the rooms appear to be "high" but not when consideration is given to the amount of personalized service, customized activities for kids, facilities made available, and high quality of food offered to all guests. As many other reviewers have noted, the rooms are simple yet practical and always clean. If you're looking for a place that treats you and your kids like a family member and makes your stay a warm and fulfilling experience this is it.

Room Tip: Pinewood's upper floors have great views but one needs to climb stairs which should be considere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We're so glad you were able to enjoy the service we provide at Shamrock Lodge. We really do hope that our guests feel like an extended part of our family. This (we hope) is what keeps so many families coming back year after year. And the best part is, we do all the cooking and cleaning!

Hopefully we will see you again next summer. Tim Bryant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We just returned from a week at the Shamrock Lodge with the kids (8,10,12). We have been to several family resorts and the Bryant Family (owners) do a wonderful job to make the vacation great especially for the kids. The owners Tim and Gary were great, running the water sports and teaching the kids water-skiing with great patience. The server and staff were great with the kids and special mention to our server Patrick who went out of her way to accommodate every request. The cabins were clean but rather small so it was a bit cramped for 5 people. The property is right on the bay, beside a golf course, includes all water sports and special guests to entertain us and the kids. A vacation here for kids 3-15 years old is worth the trip to Port Carling, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. I had a good laugh when I saw you included "Patrick" in your fond memories of Shamrock. Hopefully we can get you into larger accommodation for next year!

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our family of four had an awesome time at Shamrock Lodge this week. Our almost 4-year old and 9 month-old enjoyed the pool, beach, boat rides. The resort facilities, rooms and equipment are clean, comfortable, well maintained and safe for our little ones. We especially enjoyed the water trampoline, tubing, water skiing. We love that the boating activities are included in our rate and did this every day. Having lunch included is very Important with young kids, and we know not all Muskoka resorts offer three daily meals, like Shamrock does. We feel we got great value for our money and will certainly return with our boys in the future. Thanks to the Bryants and their staff for being friendly and welcoming.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hi Jennifer. Thanks so much for taking time to post this review. We're glad you had a good summer and we'll look forward to seeing you back again (hopefully next summer!!)

Susan, The Bryant Family and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

SUPERB!!!
We were a group of 6 from Chicago and Shanghai ages 7-70.
What a simply wonderful experience.
As many others have said there is something for all ages.

The setting ... the sloping lawn to the crystal clear lake with sandy bottom, shallow at first, then deep: the shore holding canoes and kayaks is marvelous.
Accommodation is simple but great quality: great beds, pillows, showers
Meals are wonderful with variety, and great options.
But none of the above could happen without the service one receives from all. Nothing seems an imposition or too much trouble. They are so cheerful, optimistic and positive. This quality of service is from ALL staff: it is simply amazing. I think this can only happen when this approach is carried out from the top. We watched the Bryant family teach some staff in various tasks e.g. cleaning kayaks or filling gas tanks of boats and always clear instructions were given with positive comments and verification of task performed without micromanagement.
Susan in the office has a handle on the bookings and is always helpful even in smallest matters.
We are so happy to have experienced this lodge and hospitality and want to return again and again.

Room Tip: All rooms good but Driftwood offers screened porch for a rainy day. Some units bigger but all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a lovely review. I'm glad our love for what we do shows through in our customer service. We're looking forward to having you back next summer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shamrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge

Address: 1090 Shamrock Road, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a weekend retreat, a family vacation, corporate meeting spot, Shamrock Lodge has it all year round. 400 ft natural sandy beach awaits you on beautiful Lake Rosseau Muskoka. Enjoy the friendly personal the Bryant family have shared with their guests for the past 30 years. Come and experience our unique charm at a traditional Muskoka. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shamrock Lodge Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamrock Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.