We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"There's no place like The Shamrock Lodge..."” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shamrock Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Carling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shamrock Lodge
Save
You added Shamrock Lodge to your Saves list
1090 Shamrock Road, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Buffalo, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"There's no place like The Shamrock Lodge..."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just spent 10 (11) glorious days at the Shamrock with my husband and teenage daughters, plus a friend. This marks our 9th year traveling to the rustic family-owned lodge, that is a master at pampering the guests. Nestled in the woods with its own private beach, the “Shammy” has become a tradition for my family. Traveling from Buffalo is a breeze when attention is paid to time of departure (at dawn or dusk) to avoid heavy traffic often found on the 400. Strong friendships have been made over the years, such that we all attempt to re-book the same week for the following year and count the days until we can resume our bonfire chats, paddle-boarding on the lake, kayaking, water-skiing, moonlight cruises, and those competitive evening games of “Password!” Owners' Tim Bryant and his brother Gary, each bring something different to the lodge. Gary his attention to detail, and Tim the social director, work together to make the vacation experience relaxed, fun, and comfortable for everyone. Teens, tots, adults, grandparents; all are made to feel like they have come “home” to their summer cottage. With guests coming from all over the world to experience the Muskoka lifestyle, you will find yourself fitting in just perfectly, whether you want peace and quiet, or an exciting day in the water. And the best part for me_someone else does the cooking; three squares a day, delicious options for everyone. The kitchen works hard to prepare foods for those with any allergies, while offering gourmet dinner selections each night and “kid-friendly” foods as well. And probably my fondest memories: watching Tim teach first-timers how to water-ski and then, sometimes after multiple attempts, the look of sheer joy and pride after mastering the task. I could probably write a book about my wonderful adventures at The Shamrock Lodge, but better for you to call now and make a reservation for your next vacation. But beware, you will be hooked for life!

Room Tip: We stay in the Kelly house which is fabulous for a family and very private, right on the water. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review. We love that our guests feel like they are coming home to the cottage and are part of the family. That is what the Shammy is all about. We love connecting with our guests to help make lasting memories and, more importantly, lasting friendships.

The Bryant Family and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
104
13
1
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed at Shamrock first week of Aug. and cannot say enough good things about the people, place, food and staff. The Bryant family go out of their way to make sure you are having a good time. There is nightly entertainment for adults and kids. Daytime there is waterskiing, tubing, paddleboats ,canoes, kayaks and that is all included. The beach is beautiful with shallow water and a trampoline. The food is homemade comfort that we enjoyed breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff is exceptional from the dining room to housekeeping. To show you how great this place is my husband and I asked our 18 year old son if maybe this is his last year because your getting too old and he replied "no way I'll never stop going to Shamrock" So see you next year which by the way will be our 10th year. Stayed in Pinewood 6. Beautiful view. Larry and Paula Klochko

Room Tip: You wake up to a beautiful view in Pinewood 6 every morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
It's nice to know that Shamrock is a tradition your son will never outgrow! We love that we have such a great group of guests that are excited to come back year after year and we always look forward to seeing you each summer. It's just too bad we have to wait so long between visits!

The Bryant Family and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfhausen, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed the first time in the Lodge. Especially our children had a wonderfull time. They did waterskiing for their first time and now they would like to do it in Switzerland too. Also the tubing was a real success.
What we missed is the possibility to dry the swimming cloths. There is nearly no place where you can dry them in your room. We also would prefer duvets for sleeping.
If we once will return to Canada the Lodge will be one of our visiting points.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
It was nice to have your family as our guests and glad the water-skiing was successful!! If you ever travel back to Canada we would be happy to have you back at Shamrock.

The Bryant Family and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been going to Shamrock for the past 10 years, and always had a great time. We have taken our overseas guests and their young chiidren from England and Switzerland. The trip to Shamrock has been the highlight of the holiday.The beach is safe and the water is shallow enough for younger kids to play in safely. Lots of fun with water skiing, tubing, and boating. The kids loved the nightly entertainment, especially the birds of prey and the fireworks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We're so glad your extended family enjoyed the lodge and got to see what a Muskoka holiday is truly about. We'll be excited to meet more of your family next year!

The Bryant Family and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just returned from a 10 day stay at Shamrock Lodge, this was our ninth year in a row! The owners are friendly, accommodating and take extra care to ensure that their guests have everything they need. We stayed in one of the Driftwood cabins, which is spacious and easily accommodates our family of four. The activities for the kids certainly kept them busy, beginning with a terrific magician, a birds of prey show, trips into Port Sandfield on a pontoon boat for ice cream, a day outing to Santa's Village and Sportsland, an afternoon trip to a water park and to top it all off a fireworks show near the end of our stay. The location is perfect, with a sandy beach and a beautiful view of Lake Rosseau. It is also a few kilometres from Port Carling, which makes for a nice bike ride, run or walk. This family run lodge is a classic with caring and passionate owners, top-notch service and continues to be our favourite family holiday year over year.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We're glad the personal touches and caring service keep you coming back year after year. That really is what we are all about. Being a smaller family run business really allows us to put our hearts into our jobs.

See you next year!
The Bryant family and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Reservation process via email frustrating. No booking access via I-pad or phone. Not overly welcoming from the onset. Facilities run down and dated fixtures. Tiles coming off the floor in bathroom. Breakfast was good, lunch and dinner hit and miss. Dietary accomodations for vegetarians unimaginative, if at all. Limited kid activities and additional charge of 10$ for more than 1 tubing ride. Needs rejuvinating in all facets of resort.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Unfortunately for this short review its going to be a longer response. When booking at Shamrock Lodge a deposit of $200 per person is required in order to confirm a reservation request. Afterwards an email is sent to confirm that the deposit has been received and your stay is then confirm. In this case there was never a deposit given or confirmation sent out. We received a call a week ahead of this reservation request which at that point we had no availability. So what did we do? We went above and beyond our efforts to accommodate this family so that they could still come to enjoy their vacation.
I as a owner go around and ask each guest personally and using first names how they are enjoying themselves. Unfortunately this family did not let me know any of the issues mention here in this review. They were recommended by another family to come stay here and one member of this family happens to also be a vegetarian. And when asked how her meals were her response was positive.
As for as facilities go we don't understand what she means run down. Every year we try to upgrade our facilities for an example we have 2 new playgrounds.
Some of fixtures is dated but we are not a luxury resort we are family oriented with a personal rustic feel and very big on personal service. Obviously this family didn't think so and we hope in the future they will find something works for them. We take pride in our personal service and we are happy to say that over 75% of business is returning guests year after year. By the way the family that recommended them to stay here as rebooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Called on the phone while in the area for a room, was told since you're checking in late, 7pm, we'll give you the room for $100/room. we arrived 25 min later, a different person welcomed us and insisted that its $200 per room!! we were not happy but had no other option that late at night. we stayed over, the resort is owned/operated by two brothers, one of them is extremely pleasant, he takes care of the water activities. the second is the admin guy. try to confirm in writing when dealing at the office for reservation.
We were having breakfast the next morning, we asked what time is check out, the admin person said, "don't worry take your time". didn't give any time and walked away!
we were swimming went back to the room to grab something, he runs out of his office infront of every guest, he goes, "its 11:20 now, i need you out of the room now"
we go to the room, its been already prepared for the next guests, our belonging has been moved to the corner!!
We have stayed in all kinds of BB, motels and Hotels. never had this kind of service. we got very upset of the treatment, we left to the adjacent hotel where we received a relaxing decent service.

Room Tip: inspect the toilet before receiving your room, ours was dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I am sorry for the miscommunication over the phone in terms of the room rate. Shamrock Lodge is an all inclusive beach resort which is owned and operated by my family for the last 33 years. We pride our self big time on personal service. When the 2 of you checked in I asked how everything was in your room and would you like to go for a sunset cruise. You had been here for less then an hour. Then about an hour after the tour I invited you to come out with some of our other guests for a night of entertainment out on the lake at another neighbouring resort which you kindly declined and decided to stay back in enjoy the bon fire with some other guests.
The next morning you were told no hurry to check out, which is awesome and I took you both for a tube ride. So far I think you are having excellent personal service and getting great value, for just a couple looking for a room. I am sorry about the miscommunication again when told when check out is. We tell all our guests they are welcome to stay as long as they like and enjoy the beach and all it has to offer, but we need the room by 11. My brother and you must have had some miscommunication there. Sorry about that. And I always make a point of asking is everything ok with your room and so did my brother when you came in for a glass of wine. So if we were told about the bathroom it would have been no problem to clean. We would love to have you come stay with us a little longer because we are not a B&B or hotel room and truly have a personal shamrock stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shamrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge

Address: 1090 Shamrock Road, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a weekend retreat, a family vacation, corporate meeting spot, Shamrock Lodge has it all year round. 400 ft natural sandy beach awaits you on beautiful Lake Rosseau Muskoka. Enjoy the friendly personal the Bryant family have shared with their guests for the past 30 years. Come and experience our unique charm at a traditional Muskoka. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shamrock Lodge Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamrock Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.