We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenary with plenty of things to do!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sherwood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sherwood Inn to your Saves list
Sherwood Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1090 Sherwood Road, Port Carling, Ontario P0B1J0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenary with plenty of things to do!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during the August 2014 long weekend, and we thought the Inn was beautiful. Overall, we would stay here again, but here are some thoughts:

**ROOM**
We stayed as part of the Inn rooms (not the cottages), and although the room was small, it was functional and was kept nicely. Rooms in the Inn can get loud though (as our particular room was on top of the dining room area and facing the deck/outdoor patio area).

**AMENITIES**
Steps away, you can enjoy the nice clean beach. There are many beach chairs, and plenty of water activities to do including canoeing, kayaking, stand-up paddling, etc. Close by was a tennis court and bonfire pit. The bonfire requires reservations, so if you plan on going, then book this early. The grounds are absolutely stunning and well-kept, however they're not extensive grounds, so you can walk the grounds in a matter of 15 minutes. If you do not know Lake Joseph, it's a very beautiful lake in the Muskoka region. Just be advised that it's a busy lake with lots of cottages around with much water traffic (including (speed) boats, jetskis, etc).

**RESTAURANT**
We ate at the Inn restaurant for dinner and it was satisfactory. I wasn't impressed with the service, as it took 15 minutes for our waitress to greet us after we sat down. The food was also good but not amazing. My husband had the fish, while I had the steak. Both items were cooked well, but the items themselves did not have much flavouring. The next day, we had the buffet lunch, and we thought the same! The chicken, fish and hamburgers were cooked well but not much flavour. Based on the price, we did expect better, though overall it wasn't bad.

Room Tip: If you are staying at the Inn rooms, request a room that is not on top of the dining area or the pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Dear buyzz,

Thank you for your detailed review following your stay with us in August.
I was delighted to read about your overall positive stay with us.
I was sorry to learn that you weren't " blown away" by our food and service and found the flavors lacking at both lunch buffet and the dinner dishes.

We have two bonfire pits at the resort, the one in the front of the inn that is always going is open for all guests and the one by the water is by reservations only for groups, weddings and larger family gatherings by appointment only. Given its more remote location and proximity to the water it is governed by local fire and noise bylaws, unlike the one in front of the inn that has a daytime burn permit.

We appreciate your business and candid feedback and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon in Muskoka.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    69
    13
    12
    7
See reviews for
34
141
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We had seen the Sherwood Inn well revised and stopped by for lunch.

We sat outside with a view of Lake Joseph and shared a charcuterie appetizer, followed by a shared fish and chips.

Both were excellent and we were impressed with the generosity of the portion sizes.

We lingered in the grounds and sat on Muskoka chairs by the waters edge, shaded by trees. A good way to digest!

We were so taken both with the charm of the location and the equally charming servers, that we are very seriously thinking about staying in the Inn for a few days next year.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Angl0canadian,

Thank you for writing a review following your positive lunch experience at our resort this summer.

We hope that you will return for that overnight stay that you are contemplating next year as we would love to have you back at the resort as a guest.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My friends and I stayed over for one night before participating in a triathlon in Bala. We were charged $394.37 for one night without breakfast. Realizing the cost I expected an exceptional Maplewood room and although it has been renovated the building is still very dated. The air condidioner is terribly noisy to the point where we turned it off. There was some construction being done in other units and materials were left lying around making it unsightly and potentially dangerous for children. I did point this out to the desk staff who duly noted our concerns. The setting is beautiful but the hotel portion of the facility could be improved.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Joanne M,

Thank you for your detailed review following your stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you found the overall setting of our resort beautiful , and sound like you didn't have enough time to enjoy everything the resort has to offer due to your participation in the event in Bala.

Our Maplewood Building has gone through three years of renovations from bathroom renovation with granite counters, to lighting, drapery and soft goods as well as all new furniture.
The last leg of this renovation was the 12 balconies overlooking the lake and they are being re-decked with a Duradeck membrane and new railings and we simply ran out of time and good weather to get the balconies completed before the summer high occupancy levels at the resort.
I apologize for the look of the construction debris on the lower entrance deck and this has been cleaned and rectified.
Thank you for pointing out the noisy AC unit to us; it indeed had a malfunctioning drain assembly unit that has been corrected and it is now operating correctly with much less noise.

We appreciate your feedback and comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Muskoka so you can experience the true resort experience that we are accustomed to deliver to all of our guests.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We booked the inn for a peaceful break whilst in Canada and to celebrate my birthday. We had very little peace especially at night due to there being conferences at the hotel. We had a great room but it was above the lounge and over the entrance. The fire pit outside the entrance was supposed to finish by 11:30 pm but it didn’t. One night my wife went to reception at 1:30am to complain by which time she had had too much of it. Amazingly I had fallen asleep. Too tied from being kept awake the previous night. We had complained before. The noise below in the lounge was also disturbing in the evenings. We had planned to celebrate my birthday with a good meal in the restaurant but with all the disturbances drove ½ hour or so to find somewhere else. We celebrated with coke instead of a good wine.
Staff were platitudinous with their glib apologies but did not seem really concerned.
I wrote to their corporate headquarters a month ago but have not even received an acknowledgement of my letter.
If you want a quiet place to stay make sure there are no group events here. Otherwise find somewhere else. It could be an excellent facility but is spoilt for the holiday makers by corporate functions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear John P,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us in late June.
I am sorry your stay was spoiled by rowdy conference groups and late night fire pit activity.

In retrospect we should have re-located you to another part of the resort for some peace and quit that you were looking for in the first place.
We have received your letter that you sent to our office and have responded to you under a separate cover.

Once gain we apologize for the inconvenience caused by the two corporate groups on site and I can assure we have taken measures to guide our night staff to be more vigilant to guest noise concerns and to react better to remedy the situation before the guests leave our property.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and my sincere apologies for not being able to deliver the dream vacation that you were looking to spend at our resort.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We boarded the Wenonah II at Gravenhurst and sailed to the Sherwood Inn on Lake Joseph and stayed overnight, having dinner, breakfast and lunch for one price. Great Experience. I had this trip bookmarked for several years and finally was successful this summer - 2014. I hoped to sail on the steamship, Royal Mail Ship Segwun, North America’s oldest operating steamship, but will have to wait until the next trip. The overnight stay was super! Excellent meals!! I had the East Indian Spiced & grilled Lamb Sirloin with Port Poached Pears for dessert. My wife had the Manitoulin Island Rainbow Trout and the Muskoka Maple Creme Brulee for dessert. Presentation was excellent and taste was superb! The staff was very helpful!!

Room Tip: We had room 615 - right next to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Wagsix,

Thank you for writing a glorious review following your overnight stay with us as part of the Wenonah Cruise to our resort.
I was delighted to read about your all around positive experience with your room, meals and the service of the Sherwood team.
Perhaps we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Inn aboard the Segwun next summer.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I just returned from The Sherwood Inn. We know it well; we were fortunate to spend many summers at our family cottage on Lake Joseph . Our stay at The Sherwood was only a couple of days, but the experience will last much longer. We were pleased to stay in one of the many accommodations right on Lake Joseph. It just dosen't get any better than this! A longed for swim in pristine Lake "Joe"; the spectacular view of the lake from the main dock; a delightful BBQ lunch on the lawn: …and romantic dinner in the beautifully appointed lakeside dining room all made our stay memorable. I must add that the staff truly made us feel as if we were "coming home" to a place our hearts never left. Thanks to all…Esa and my new friend Dan…you made our year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear 293Maureen,

Thank you for your review on July 23rd following your stay at our resort.
I was pleased to read that your "home coming" to Lake Joseph was a pleasant one, and that you had chosen our resort as your stay destination.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back "home" to Sherwood Inn when you travels bring you back to Muskoka.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I escaped Toronto to this lovely, rustic resort for a golf long weekend. Upon registration, we knew that this was the place going to be perfect for us.

Service - extra special services. All staff was pleasant, helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had every we desired. Our personal favourite experience, was as we dined one evening and the server was a local resident, Sarah (way find:) and the French service was delivered like a seasoned pro. After dinner, evening s'mores by the bonfire = yummy and unexpected.

Room - so close to luxury, but the small plastic enclosed shower fails that claim. Tub is too die for! The bed is very comfortable. Balcony (even under construction) was lovely with great view, however better outdoor entertain furniture would extend the experience. There are two patio chairs, but a table would have been the extra.

Grounds - lovely and perfect. make sure you borrow the kayaks and say hello to the resident loons. The grounds and staff are constantly maintaining this resort, and it seems that they are making many updates at this time. Upon returning from golf one afternoon, I was looking forward to a nap before dinner. Our building was having some nailing and construction, and I went downstairs and politely asked if they could find something quiet to do for the next 30 minutes. Not surprisingly, they smiled and quickly switched tasks.

I'd highly recommend this resort for any couple looking to escape to nature and while there, have excellent service with yummy food experiences.

Room Tip: Premium Maplewood room #534 is the best location for end suite and top level view. Wood burning fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear TeriCanada,

Thank you for selecting our resort for your and your husband's escape from the city.
I was delighted to learn that most aspects of your stay were exceptional. Nice to see that Sarah's service in the dining room met your expectations.

We are indeed working tirelessly to enhance our amenities on a continual basis, and the Maplewood building renovations are almost complete with the last four balconies scheduled to be finished this week. Thank you for understanding our work crew's schedules and glad to see that we were able to accommodate your requests to try to keep any disputations to our guests stay to the absolute minimum.

Nice to see that our staffs attention to detail is appreciated and we really value your feedback.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Muskoka again in the near future.

Best EJP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
4.4 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
6.2 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Taboo Muskoka Resort
#4 of 7 in Gravenhurst
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
24.2 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#26 of 54 in Muskoka District
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
17.1 mi away
Muskoka Riverside Inn
Muskoka Riverside Inn
#7 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Address: 1090 Sherwood Road, Port Carling, Ontario P0B1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 75 years in 2014 Nestled among towering century-old pines at the very edge of Muskoka's sparkling Lake Joseph, Sherwood Inn is a retreat unlike any other. •Muskoka Ontario resort vacations •Waterfront Muskoka inn •Resort wedding facility •In house wedding & group catering services •Muskoka resort vacation packages •Onsite health spa •Ontario conference, meeting & reunion facilities •Championship golf courses nearby Among the most authentic Ontario Inns, each guestroom and cottage suite at the Sherwood Inn is decorated to reflect the traditional character of Muskoka, and is complete with every modern convenience you would expect from a Muskoka hotel. Many rooms feature cozy wood-burning fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. Open year round, Sherwood Inn guests can enjoy abundant on-site activities as well many Port Carling Attractions. Visitors to our elegant Inn at Lake Joseph experience gracious hospitality, luxurious pampering, and absolute tranquility. Plan a relaxing getaway today and experience life at one of the most majestic Ontario Inns, the Sherwood Inn on Lake Joseph in beautiful Muskoka, Ontario! Visit us once. Love us forever. Welcome to Sherwood Inn on Lake Joseph, Muskoka's preeminent traditional lakeside inn, offering breathtaking surroundings, tasteful accommodations, fine dining, exceptional facilities, upscale amenities and unparalleled service in the heart of Muskoka, Ontario. Sherwood Inn provides the perfect getaway, blending the charm of old Muskoka with the comfort and indulgence of modern day amenities. Located close to all the most popular Muskoka area attractions, including three eighteen-hole championship golf courses, guests at Sherwood Inn can enjoy everything this Ontario cottage country destination has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sherwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Sherwood Hotel Port Carling
Delta Port Carling
Port Carling Delta
Sherwood Inn Muskoka District/Port Carling, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.