We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great show, great food & a feel of the country!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herongate Barn Theatre

Herongate Barn Theatre
2885 Altona Road | Whitevale, Pickering, Ontario L0H 1J0, Canada
905-472-3085
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 attractions in Pickering
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great show, great food & a feel of the country!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Awesome plays, good buffet food, make sure you go early enough, check in, hang out before dinner and show etc

Great experience

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“it runs in the family”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great venue. Good food. Entertainment during the meal (songs and jokes) was pretty bad. Terrible acting and directing of the play that followed, and the set design was pretty pedestrian. The stand-in lead had to read from his script, and it just got worse from there. It might have improved after the intermission, but we didn't stay around to find out.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Herongate Barn Theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The food is great, the seats in the theatre are comfortable and banked so it's a clear view from everywhere. The shows are always fun.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bermuda Triangle What a Hoot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were looking for something different and decided to give Herongate a go. Wow, it was worth the rainy journey along deserted dark country lanes. We were welcomed in like old friends. The atmosphere was cosy and relaxing ,the food was delicious but the best part for us was the theatre. I expected it to be slightly amateurish with ham acting. How wrong I was.The cast were totally believable and thoroughly professional.The play was funny and meant for an adult audience. Afterwards we had a drink or two with some of the cast members and felt like they were truly interested in us. All in all it was a great night. I will definitely be going back soon. Oh, couldn't leave without mentioning May and Mel who are Herongate's senior citizen double act. Class!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Theatre in the afternoon,is a great way to spend some time.We have been here a few times,you are welcomed in,there is a home cooked buffet meal.there is a lady who plays the piano,and a man who sings.
The show was very clever,called Bermuda Ave.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herongate Barn Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Herongate Barn Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herongate Barn Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Herongate Barn Theatre to your Saves list