We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Could Be Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 22 Church Steakhouse

22 Church Steakhouse
22 Church Street South, Pickering, Ontario L1S 6B3, Canada
+1 905-427-1221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 165 Restaurants in Pickering
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good But Could Be Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Being from out of town is a disadvantage as we had been told this is a great place to have dinner. If we lived closer we would try it agian to see if we agreed. As it is we think it is quite good with a posibility of being super. There were 4 of us and we had reservations for 7 PM on a Friday night. Until we were ready to order we were not informed that there were no 'specials', as listed on the board in the hall, left which meant 2 of us had to scramble to choose another item. The bread was delicious and the wine was served well and at a good (coolish) temperature even though it was a warm evening. The only waitress was efficient and pleasant but certainly somewhat overwhlemed. There were 2 people in the small bar room, some upstairs I believe and 3 at another table in the same room as we were seated. The food, when it arrived, was hot, as it should be, and delicious. The space is quite cramped as it is an old house which has been converted to a restaurant - it gives a nice ambiance though and is softly lit. There is easy access parking. This place would be a good place for couples or several women who wanted to enjoy a quiet dinner. This would not be a good place for noisy or disruptive children as the tables are close together and the atmosphere is very adult. I'd like to go again next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Condos. Holetown
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Took VIP foreign guests and was embarrassed food was awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Food was awful - we were embarrassed by poor service - lack of "specials" offered - noisy - for examples were: nasty tasting mussels,no bread served with mussels - dreary crab cakes, only 2 "specials" of red snapper available (we were party of 4) - red snapper was stale served with soggy french fries no vegetables or salad - veal Parmesan was tough - served with even tougher pasta - requested bread over and over before it appeared. Dessert of apple crisp was acidic, sour, - only good thing was coffee. - no non-alchoholic beer - Perrier in small bottles at $5 each - We won't be back !!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Much better than The Keg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Last night was our fifth visit to the Steakhouse. We have been with family and friends who all loved it and last night we were on our own. The food was absolutely delicious. My husband had the Prime Rib and I had the Filet Mignon. Wow, the food was to die for. The meat was delicious and mouth watering and the side roast potatoe and veggy was delicious too and not just there for garnish. Our service was great and we were so glad we didn't go to our original destination of The Keg were it is always so crowded, impersonal and overpriced. Try 22 Church Steakhouse in pickering next time, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delightful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Had a great meal at this restaurant last week with another couple. The decor was very charming and relaxing. The waitress was very polite and helpful. The chef prepared a mouth watering steak that was to die for. To top it all off - a nice Irish Coffee to send us on our way. I would recommend this very reasonably priced steakhouse to anyone. Bon Apetite!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Last of 3 visits”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Six of us had dinner reservation for 7pm Saturday. We were seated upstairs- which is the first time in our 3 visits. THE SERVICE WAS BAD AND THE FOOD AVERAGE AT BEST. Water seemed to be an issue- the water container kept being removed and ice cubes missing althoughter. 3 in the group had steal- all labelled as blah...no flavor (New York, Rib Eye and Iron). The Red snapper was also blah- thank God for tartar sauce. The soup ordered was 1/4 of an inch in the bowl...not sure what that was about. No longer a tradition to visit this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 22 Church Steakhouse also viewed

 
Pickering, Ontario
 

Been to 22 Church Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 22 Church Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.