We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad First Impression” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Fox Restaurant Tavern

Red Fox Restaurant Tavern
80 Foster St, Perth, Ontario K7H 1S1, Canada
(613) 267-2725
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 46 Restaurants in Perth
Restaurant details
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Bad First Impression”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Visited on a Saturday afternoon. Waited so very long for anyone to acknowledge our presence even though we were the only customers in the section of the pub! Ordered a rueben sandwich and a chicken breast sandwich, nothing complicated by any means. It was ridiculous how long it took to get our food, at least 40 minutes! We almost got up to pay our soft drinks and leave. The food was just ok, my little wee chicken breast was served on a cold hamburger bun with mayo, so disappointing.

A table of six people came in about 10 minutes after us and they had to wait also. The waitress gave us the impression she was not happy to be working. We have rarely experienced such poor customer service. We really regretted our decision to eat there and will not return or recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Wings and Food in General”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Food is very good, Wine is good and was reasonable in price. Noticed they changed glasses to small wine glass. Would rather pay more and have a glass that fits your mouth!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stopped for lunch on a recent Saturday based on recommendations. The Red Fox is not the fanciest tavern you'll ever visit, however was quite clean with great service and great food. The somewhat limited menu offers typical pub items, however we both ordered club sandwiches which were both excellent (real turkey!). Overall terrific value and met expectations!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Not customer focused”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I would have given this a 3 or 4 star until these two incidents that happened. First I have eaten here at least 20 times since January and outside of the problems outlined below its been steadily decent. About three visits ago my wife was served a raw burger, when brought to the waitresses attention she informed the owner who came over and stated it's okay to eat that way as the beef came from the Butchers Edge not a factory. Or we can take it and cook it some more, decided not to have it re cooked and just didn't eat it. Today at lunch I had the meatball sub special and didn't like the taste of the meatballs, it wasn't a nice flavor so didn't eat any more than the one meatball and tried a nibble of another to taste it still terrible so stopped eating. Waitress talked with owner and nothing was done. In both cases I have listed I still had to pay for the not eaten meals. First time I thought bad day, second time we decided owner isn't very service orientated and we will spend our money at other establishments in Perth.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Poutine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I've been going to The Red Fox for years now and I just wanted to say that they have the best poutine I've ever had. The fries are probably generic crispy fries but I've never eaten ones quite like it. Topped with shredded marble cheese and amazing gravy it is to die for. I usually get it with a burger or wings which are also above average and consistently good for the past two decades at least. The rest of the menu is great with standard pub fair like roast beef sandwiches, jalepeno poppers, pizza fingers & chicken fingers rounding out my favourites. Oh ya, and of course ice cold Rickards Red!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fox Restaurant Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Red Fox Restaurant Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Fox Restaurant Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.