We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drummond House Perth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Drummond House Perth to your Saves list
Drummond House Perth
30 Drummond Street East, Perth, Ontario K7H 1E9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Perth B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not cheap but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a very good place to stay in Perth. It has wifi, pool and hot tub. Our room was comfortable and with a very big in-suite bathroom. Breakfast was good and place was clean and nicely decorated. Building and decoration are not as impressive as some other Victorian-style buildings in the region.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stumbled upon this place in a Trip Advisor search for accommodations in Perth. It looked cute and had very favourable reviews, so we decided to give it a try. I am very glad we did!

First, this place is very conveniently located in the heart of downtown heritage Perth on the Tay Basin. It is a short walk from quaint shops and delectable restaurants. The house itself is historical and gorgeous; it has been completely renovated and is very cheerily decorated. You can’t help but smile when you enter. In the beautifully landscaped backyard, there is a large swimming pool and hot tub for you to use whenever you wish. Additionally, there is a mini gazebo with a table and chairs, should you wish to relax outside away from mosquitoes and black flies.

The rooms are a good size; complete with a comfy queen or king bed, ensuite bathroom and satellite flat-screen TV. The rooms are extremely clean and welcoming, coming complete with travel sized toiletries and a welcome coupon to a local restaurant.

The breakfast served was delightful and the owners are very professional. The table is set with candles, elegant charger plates and napkin rings. They are considerate of your allergies and preferences and attempt to accommodate you as much as possible.

The owners of this establishment are very kind and welcoming. Pat and Dave, along with Pat's sister Judy, make you feel as if you are going to stay with your aunt and uncle at their summer cottage when school is out. The saying “coming as guests and leaving as friends” is very fitting. Can’t wait to make this an annual tradition!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

What a great place to call your home away from home in Perth. Conveniently located next to the Tay Basin (we arrived by kayak) and a two minute walk to the village restaurants and other downtown attractions. Dave and Pat made us feel like old friends or family. Breakfasts were superb! We'll be back!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms from what we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa, canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Recently my partner and I discovered a true gem in Heritage Perth - Drummond House B&B. Being avid B&Bers, we always look for new 'treasures' when we travel - even if only for a one- night stay. We tend to be rather particular about our accommodations and food and look forward to meeting genial B&B hosts when we try new places. We also prefer to stay in a location where we can walk to all the attractions and good restaurants. Drummond House not only met our criteria but easily surpassed them. David and Patricia treated us like friends, greeting us with genuine warmth and great humor. We were delighted by their charming and engaging company as we sipped cool drinks by their lovely pool in the evening. The Tayview Suite provided us spacious, sparkling clean and well-appointed accommodation. The king-size bed was superbly comfortable, the linens and towels sumptous. As was the breakfast!! Another reviewer described the fresh fruit platter starter as a meal in itself - I agree, absolutely!! It's obvious that Patricia takes great joy in preparing wonderful breakfasts for her guests. We certainly didn't walk away hungry!! And the location of Drummond House is perfect - a short walk and you are in the heart of downtown Perth. We very much look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

A warm and friendly welcome from Dave and Patricia Edwards and Pat's sister Judy in this beautiful heritage house. The Drummond suite is a nice comfortable room with Queen bed good en suite bathroom and large flatscreen TV. But where Drummond House really scores is the breakfasts, the fresh fruit platter is a meal in itself followed by a tempting hot entree with juice and tea or coffee as required. A lovely pool at the back is an ideal place to cool off and relax after a warm day out and no doubt Dave will show you the beer cooler. You will do well to find better in Perth.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Drummond House was a real find! This heritage house offered us a river-view room, with an enormous king-size bed and full ensuite bath. The hosts were so friendly and accomodating - even loaning us wineglasses and a bottle opener so we could enjoy our own bottle of wine by the pool. Breakfast was a gourmet feast, with abundant coffee/tea and fruit juice, an artistic fruit platter, and cooked-to-order eggs benedict. Definitely a place to return to over and over again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drummond House Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drummond House Perth

Address: 30 Drummond Street East, Perth, Ontario K7H 1E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1830 stone residence is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Perth, adjacent to the lovely Tay River Basin.Choose from our three luxurious suites, each with it's own private ensuite bath, fine linens and towels plus a flat screen HD television. Complimentary high speed internet and free telephone anywhere in North America.A total R&R experience, enjoy our heated inground salt water pool, hot tub and screened gazebo.Gourmet, multi-course breakfasts are a diner's delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Drummond House Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drummond House Perth Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drummond House Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.