We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can they call themselves a B&B” 1 of 5 stars
Review of McKitrick House Inn B&B

McKitrick House Inn B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orangeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McKitrick House Inn B&B
Save Saved
You added McKitrick House Inn B&B to your Saves list
255 Broadway, Orangeville, Ontario L9W1K6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Orangeville B&B and Inns
Kingston, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“How can they call themselves a B&B”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have never written a review before but the horrible experience here made me do so. I have used Tripadvisor for years and have found the candid reviews accurate.

We were stuck as there was nothing else available. In hindsight we should have driven the half hour south and stayed in Brampton.

The rooms were ok but the environment was less that desirable and the hostess was, well lets not got there as I can think of nothing nice to say.

Bottom line. STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Even though the reviews suggest stay away we thought we would try it. Definitely it is not a 4 star and to be honest it is not what you would expect from a B&B. First you drive up and this overgrown run down looking building is where you are staying. The rooms were ok but nothing to write home about and the breakfast was no better than you get for $3.99 at the greasy spoon down the road.

So if you are in Orangeville find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orangeville hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012. Our room, on the ground floor of the second house, was very pleasant, nicely decorated, clean, and comfortable. The house was quiet, despite the fact that we were the only guests who were NOT part of a wedding party. The B & B dining room (in the main house) is delightful and our breakfast was very nice. The house is right downtown in Orangeville and we were able to stroll out to a restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have stayed in many B&Bs and this was not a good experience comparatively, for the price paid. The owners were very pleasant, and we did appreciate being able to bring our little dog with us, but the room size and appointments were substandard, for example the bed comforter and sheets were quite threadbare. We had to leave the B&B at 8:00 am and we were told breakfast starts at 8:00 am. But we were only provided with a cup of instant coffee at about 7:45 am. We thought a B&B host could have at least given their customer a muffin to have with the coffee even if it was 15 minutes before the regular breakfast hour. We had no breakfast and no change in price.
We are sorry to have to post this review but hopefully it may lead to improvements for other guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The first thing that must be said is that I have never written an on-line review before so only a very negative experience would drive me to do so. We booked two days and only stayed one. It was that bad. The room was as large as a closet. The caulking on the windows was black and the shower really quite disgusting. There was nothing about the decor that was quaint or homey. It was a bunch of yard sale junk clustered on the walls. The owner - neither warm nor friendly. The breakfast was almost uneatable. Unfortunately my daughter did eat some of the mystery meat only to have violent stomach cramps and vomiting two hours later. This was unfortunate to say the least as she was competing in Trillium Championships that day and the next. There was a matted long hair cat wandering around the dining room. We felt very badly for the cat as the mats must have been painful. We also felt badly for any guests who may be allergic to cats. The silverware in the center of the tables would have added a nice touch if they weren't tarnished black. When we told the owner that we would be leaving she indicated that she would be charging us for the second night in any event. Her option to do so but we had told her about the food issue with a view to giving her the heads up on the potential meat problem. She opted to charge us anyway. She had initially offered a gift certificate but as you can imagine that was of no interest to us. We checked out as soon in the a.m. as we could and immediately checked into the new Best Western. My daughter has now indicated that she will never stay in a B & B again. I have assured her however that McKitrick House is way below the standard of most B & B's.

Room Tip: Stay away from the "Garden Room".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

The room was very nicely decorated. That's where the good things I have to say end. One of our white towels hanging in the bathroom was mostly black when we arrived. We were staying for a wedding, so when I picked up the key I was told to enjoy a sleep-in if we wanted. It was hard to enjoy with vacuuming outside our door, and housekeeping repeatedly knocking on our door to check if we were ready to leave the room yet. You can also hear every word of the conversations happening in other rooms. Then came the mysterious UNAUTHORIZED charge on my credit card - when I called to let them know that I was not impressed with their service, I received a VERY rude response. So if you're looking to spend $175 for a complete lack of privacy and respect, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Like the last review says, you're probably better off to stay at the motel in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The worst B&B I have stayed in.

Not sure how this gets 4.5 stars on FOBBA as I would give it a 3 at the most and the prices are ridiculous for what you get. I noted previous reviews but thought we would give it a shot.

The B&B is on a busy street on the main drag of Orangeville, which is fine. There are two buildings with parking behind that is not self apparent. The entrance is cluttered with an overgrown garden as you enter there is nothing special. It looks like an old house.

It is advertised as central air but we felt like goldilocks. One room was too hot, the other room was too cold and the third room had a noisy air conditioner that buzzed on and off all night. The not room was awful, stifling hot with no air movement and to boot all the windows are nailed shut. When this was mentioned to the proprietor she got defensive and said “ well is an old house and there is nothing we can do, if there is too much sun that day it gets too hot.

The rooms were clean but lacked charm. The air conditioner room had an old tv sitting on a table below the bed level which made me wonder why? The bed was terribly uncomfortable and both our backs were out of whack the next day.

There were two porches with very little airflow and the front porch has moldy canvas drapes to block the view of the neighbor and successfully restricted any airflow.

Now for breakfast. Started with orange juice and not so hot coffee. A very nice tiny fruit cup with an English cream type mixture. Then came the most boring scrambled eggs, one piece of toast, two skinny sausage links, home fries and a slice of tomato. Something you would get at a greasy spoon for $4.99 including coffee. Too boot we had one person who is allergic to eggs and she had lovely toast and home fries as no option was offered.

Lastly the proprietor, during breakfast we did not see here once. One the phone she sells how lovely it is and all her awards but I am not sure who voted for these. Lastly her policy is to charge your credit card in advance of stay. We were there one night so I am not sure if this applies to multiple nights. When asked why she said that she was too busy Sunday mornings to deal with it.

Overall I suggest in stead of wasting your money here if the nicer establishments are booked then stay at the local motel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McKitrick House Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKitrick House Inn B&B

Address: 255 Broadway, Orangeville, Ontario L9W1K6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orangeville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Orangeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to 1871 in truly elegant Victorian homes located in Orangeville's Heritage District, which is well appointed of a time gone by. These restored Victorian homes offer you and your family, guests, or wedding party an ambiance unrivaled. All guests are pampered with old fashion service and enjoy full served gourmet breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
McKitrick House Inn B&B Orangeville, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKitrick House Inn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.