We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Muskoka Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lumina Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Muskoka District
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lumina Resort
1348 Fox Point Rd. | Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 54 hotels in Muskoka District
Belleville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Muskoka Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I spent four days at Lumina in early July with my family, including a 2 year old. We had an amazing time. The lake is perfect. The recreational opportunities are excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful. Many of these attributes exist in multiple hotels and resorts in the area, however Lumina provides visitors with something more elusive: Authenticity. Where else can you stay in a nearly century old resort with camp and family traditions dating back decades? We met families during our stay who had been vacationing at Lumina for over twenty years! There are staff members who vacationed as children, only to return to work during the summers. At Lumina you get a rustic cottage experience, amazing food (Steak, Crab Cakes, Rack of Lamb - with a great wine list too!), access to a great lake, plus all the activities you would associate with an "up north" Canadian experience. You also get access to people who love Lumina, love Lake of Bays, and love Muskoka, and these people will help you fit right in, lose your city stress, and get back to nature without roughing it. My whole family emerged relaxed, full of memories and new friends, happy and satisfied. We are already planning a return trip. Highly recommended for families, as the organized activities for the kids are terrific, and they ensure everyone in the family has a chance to unwind.

Room Tip: Stay in the cabins (if you can) for the full Muskoka experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We spent a weekend at Lumina Resort and were very pleased with everything. All the staff was very friendly, meals were fantastic and the accommodations were typical of a rustic little cottage on the lake, a little dated and simple but exceptionally clean and well maintained. I would say their standards of cleanliness are far superior to any cottage resort I've stayed at and it's evident that they actually care about their guests, fresh shower curtain for the bathtub nice new clean shower caddy, etc. The little things that go a long way for me, even the windows in our cottage were nice and clean. It was nice to not have to worry about bringing linens......and getting our beds made for us and meals cooked was an added bonus if you're looking for that type of vacation and willing to spend the extra money on it :)
The kids programs was great, we have a 5 and 4 year old that went and they loved it. Lake was gorgeous, the beach area was perfect for the kids and there was lots to keep them entertained.
Overall a great atmosphere, we will definitely recommend this place to family and friends and would go back in a heartbeat! Keep up the good work Lumina Resort!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Summer is coming, and that means Lumina is coming!
I've been attending Lumina Resort for nearly 20 years now. I'm a young adult, and all year long I crave this vacation!
The food is fantastic, and the cook is a very personable guy! He's not a face that stays in the kitchen and remains a mystery.
The waitresses have to wake up so early to serve breakfast, but still always manage to be in the best mood! They're the perfect beginning to a day!
You always see the owners scuffling around the resort, making sure everything is to standard! They will not hesitate to approach you and get to know you! Their sons are also very helpful and entertaining. They definitely have people-skills having grown up on a resort like this! This is how Lumina begins to feel like a family! You do not vacation here as a stranger.
There is a TV room, but I appreciate that this resort does not rely on technology for entertainment. There are ping pong tables, tennis courts, shuffle board, lawn bowling, croquet, soccer nets, jungle gyms, and a large forested property to explore! Did I mention the main attraction? THE LAKE! With a sandy beach to laze in, a dock to dive off of, rentable boats and kayaks, and water toys (slide, trampoline, detached dock, volleyball net). With a large number of fish in the lake, early mornings on the calm water can be quite the catch! Fire Island was always one of my favourite parts about the resort! Every summer my friends and I rent a kayak and bring a few snacks to explore the resorts own personal island! You can also sign up for water sports after breakfast. For those of you who do not appreciate an amazing bay, there is a pool located on the resort you can utilize.
Every week the resort organizes different forms of entertainment for it's guests. Live entertainment nights, wine and cheese, or even a wild life center coming by to show animals like porcupines and bobcats!
The resort also includes a Lake of Bays club, a cozy little bar with a pool table and a well-stocked drink menu. Frosties is a convenient store located on the resort that houses delicious treats and resortwear.
I don't know if it's the food, the views, the opportunities, or the activities that keep me Lumina-focused all year long. I have a safe assumption that it's the people thought. They're the cherries on the cake. Lumina is like a second home to me just as much as it is a second family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We just had another amazing family weekend at Lumina Resort. We have been taking our three daughters to this resort since they were two years old. It is truly a special place. As young adults they really appreciated the trip one more time before work and university takes them on a new path.The food here is an amazing dining experience in itself. We love going to the lodge for our meals and a good game of table tennis. The accommodations are clean and well kept. We recommended this resort to our neighbours, who have two young children under the age of six, and they said it was the best family vacation they have ever taken (even better than Disney)The fall colours are incredible at this time of year and the lodge was very welcoming with mums and pumpkins. We love it here whatever the time of year. Make some special memories wtih your family!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelburne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Every once in a while a perfect wedding happens, and our daughter's was it! Eliana and Trevor desired a weekend getaway wedding to enjoy the company of all their guests for more than one day. They gave us two 1/2 months from when they got engaged to plan this! After much research they found the Lumina Resort, who had one weekend available left for this year! They went to see it first and they felt it was the perfect place. (Lumina being my middle name, I knew we were on to something great!) My husband and I and our girls went to visit it later and fell in love with it! Vicki was wonderful and patient with all my inquiries as we had never been to a weekend wedding before. We had nothing to worry about. The resort was beautiful! Each guest commented how great their cabin or room was. Clean, well maintained, and adorable! (nathan and vicky loved the "jack horner"!) The food, from the bbq friday night, (thankfully the rain stopped just in time!) the wine and cheese before the wedding dinner, the wedding dinner, and each of the breakfasts were fabulous! We heard comments of the best white chocolate cheesecake ever! scrumptious scones, muffins, etc., for breakfast and more! The Lumina staff were just awesome! Kim, Wendy, thanks so much for all you did for us, (and the rest of the staff too, whose names I can't remember, sorry!) Thanks for the kitchen staff for all the great meals! And thanks for setting up the breakfast room on Sunday with the centrepieces from the wedding dinner. It was a nice thoughful touch! How great to enjoy them again! Lumina Resort is a quaint and beautiful place, full of history which added to its charm. We stayed in the north lodge, home of vicki's ancestors, that we loved being in. There were so many interesting things that made it special. So many of our guests enjoyed everything including the bonfire friday night, and the beach sunday! Nobody wanted to leave! It has been weeks since the wedding and people are still talking about what a wonderful weekend it was. This was our first wedding for our family and we wouldn't have changed a thing about it. It was a stress free experience making it a perfect wedding weekend! Thanks again Vicki and all the staff for making it such a wonderful memory! And a special thankyou to Vicki for making a particular guest especially happy with a wonderful "find"! You and your staff are great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I couldn't be happier with our wedding held at lumina resort. The surroundings are beautiful, the rooms/cabins are unique and clean, the staff is hardworking, friendly, and accommodating, food was excellent and most importantly the guests were happy. The relaxed atmosphere of the resort was exactly what we wanted for our wedding. As guests arrived at the "welcome BBQ" the night before our wedding, it was clear that everyone was excited for the weekend at such a beautiful resort. As the weekend went on the plan circulated to get the group together again back at Lumina next year. Again we couldnt be happier with our wedding at Lumina, it was a weekend we could never forget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

On deciding where our Son & daughter in law would be married, they wanted a resort wedding up
north. A place where everyone could drive to, but be far away from the "norm" for a weekend. We found the Lumina Resort and booked. On checking out the facility they were thrilled and said it was exactly what they wanted. The resort itself is just perfect. Beautifully situated in the country, very well kept and hidden. The cabins were cozy, well maintained and clean. The staff were great, attending to all our requests. Vicki and Tec made us feel at home right away with their calm demeanor and experience. The food was fantastic. We had plenty to eat, lots of variety, and truly mouthwatering at every meal. The dining room looked very elegant with a view of the water. The wedding itself was amazing but the whole weekend left a wonderful impression on all in attendance. We have been to a lot of weddings but this was a weekend to remember. Thank you Lumina for making dreams come true!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lumina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumina Resort

Address: 1348 Fox Point Rd. | Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Muskoka District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lumina Family Resort has been providing wonderful Muskoka vacations since 1921. Join us for our 90th season! Owned and operated by the Hungerford family for 4 generations. The largest cottage resort on Lake of Bays with over a mile of beautiful shoreline and 350 feet of safe sandy beach. Lumina is kid-friendly and caters to all ages with a dynamic choice of activities.Our traditional, child friendly family vacations include full maid service, chef-prepared meals and a fully supervised children's program. Families return year after year to enjoy the beautiful waterfront, the outstanding food, great companionship and the friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Come and join us in Muskoka and start your own family tradition. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lumina Hotel Muskoka
Lumina Resort Muskoka District, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lumina Resort to your Saves list