We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Christie's Mill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Christie's Mill to your Saves list
The Inn at Christie's Mill
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   263 Port Severn Road North | Box 125, Port Severn, Ontario L0K 1S0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised when upon our arrival at the Inn, we were upgraded from a standard queen size room to a king size suite. The suite was beautiful and so spacious, you could go for a jog without living your room. The room and the bathroom were clean and very nicely decorated, including a beautiful gas fireplace, and your own whirlpool bathtub. The staff were friendly and welcoming. They recommended a nice hiking trail just a few minute drive away. We enjoyed a swim at the indoor pool and relaxed in the hot tub. We had both dinner, and breakfast at the Inn's restaurant and the food was very good. The restaurant is overlooking a beautiful lake and the view from our table was superb. I would gladly recommend Christie's Mill to anyone who is looking for a relaxing getaway in beautiful Muskoka.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at The Inn at Christie's Mill, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I really appreciate your comments regarding your stay.
We often like to upgrade loyal guests and/or enhance a guests stay if possible with an upgraded room. The suites are gorgeous and its our way of showing off a little.

Chef and the culinary team were very pleased that your dining experience was everything it should be.

Hope to see you back soon with your friends and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    59
    39
    22
    15
See reviews for
20
152
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I spent the night at Christie's Mill to celebrate his birthday. Our honeymoon suite was incredible! The hotel is very clean and the rooms are beautiful. We enjoyed a fabulous dinner in the dining room and took advantage of the wonderful spa on site for a couples massage! The staff are so friendly and we received incredible service! While having breakfast, we watched two beautiful swans from the dining room window. We will definately be recommending Christie's Mill to everyone we know and look forward to returning for another getaway! Thank you so much to all the staff that made our stay incredible!

Room Tip: Lovely lake view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at The Inn at Christie's Mill, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
The highest compliment we could recieve is that you will be telling your friends about your experience and recommending Christie's Mill Inn and Spa as a great getaway.
Thank-you for all your kind words.
My staff were really encouraged to know that we delivered the service level and quality that guests can come to expect at the Inn.
Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I bought an online travel deal to have a nice night away. After dinner (at an offsite restaurant because the front desk worker has never, and doesn't know anyone who has eaten at the hotel restaurant) we decided to hop into the room's private outdoor hot tub. After hopping in and turning on the tub's lights and jets, we discovered floaters which, after finding a chunk and looking at it, can only be described as male ejaculate. This is absolutely disgusting to say the least. While the front desk was polite in saying they'll address the issue, the 'damage' is done. I do not and will not ever recommend anyone use this hotel based on this. Corners in cleanliness were cut here and who knows where else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at The Inn at Christie's Mill, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I was disappointed to hear about your experience regarding your stay.

Our staff are well trained in all aspects of our products at the Inn and encouraged to provide those experiences with our guests such as dining and spa services. I will work with them to ensure we continue to provide this service.
I can assure you that according to the health unit all room hot tubs are cleaned and sanitized after each guest use. I have had our maintenance investigate this particular tub and found nothing of what you suggest. It will however undergo the same sanitizing treatment after your use and it will be monitored to ensure no incident of reoccurance.

My entire team are very proud of the cleanliness of the Inn and the property, as many guests have comments on tripadvisor and through comment cards.
We will continue improve all aspects of the Inn to provide an outstanding experience to all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our 2 day stay over the March Break was simply divine. The service from the front desk, to the spa and dining room was exemplary. The grounds are lovely and the always available mineral pool and hot tub were divine. The food at Twigs Restaurant was particularly exceptional; the taste, presentation and quality of food was the best I have ever had. The spa is picture post card beauty with the beautiful snow fall. A true gem of the Muskokas. We would definitely be back.

Room Tip: I recommend booking a suite on the second floor over looking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at The Inn at Christie's Mill, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank-you for allowing myself and the staff to host your 2 day getaway. We were all pleased with your kind words regarding your stay, food, service and spa.
I couldn't be happier that you will be coming back to the Inn.
Much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were looking for a quick getaway after a long week and was pleasantly surprised. I purchased a last minute deal off of a third party webside featuring a room and a $50.00 credit. Staff was excellent and very accomodating. Rooms were spacious and cozy. Restaurant was rather pricey for the quality of food but this was the only issue we had encountered. Overall, the property is beautiful and well worth the short drive from the GTA.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at The Inn at Christie's Mill, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
I think its so great that you were able to experience a quick affordable March break getaway. Quite often throughout the offseason we work with some reputable third party providers. It helps us introduce the Inn to guests that haven't been experienced the beauty of Muskoka or this little jem.
It was our pleasure to host both of you.
Hope to see you at the Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blezard Valley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just came back from a 2 day getaway with the girls at Christie's Mill. Our lake view suite was fabulous. Nice living room area with chairs, table and of course the fireplace!! Food was divine and superb service. Revival package at the Spa was treat! I would love to go back with my husband...he would definitely appreciate this place! Thank you to all the staff at the Mill. WE will be back soon!

Room Tip: We booked the Presidential Suite...perfect for 4 girls
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at The Inn at Christie's Mill, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Iam so pleased that you had a wonderful girls weekend. I will certainly pass along all the compliments to my staff that have been working so hard to deliver guest service excellence.
We hope to see each of you in the future as a group or with your husbands.
P.S. we have some amazing golf courses in the area for the men while the ladies are in the spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Christie's on a Sunday afternoon. We were immediately greeted by extremely friendly front desk staff. She answered all the questions we had and let us know if there was anything we needed she would be available. We went up to our lake view suite. It took our breath away. The fire place was going and the view was picturesque.
We dinned it the restaurant on site that evening... Once again the staff were very friendly and professional. Food was so delicious as well.
The next day we had a couples massage in the spa, gorgeous spa with incredible staff. We truly enjoyed our treatments. Later that day we went off site and I asked the staff if there was something they could do for my boyfriend. ( it was his birthday) when we came back there was a tray of chocolate covered strawberries !!! Not to mention a very sweet card.
All in all the staff went above and beyond anything I could have asked for. They made everything effortless. I couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at The Inn at Christie's Mill, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time and letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay.
I am so pleased that we were able to go above and beyond for your boyfriends special day.
We are very proud of our guest service, property, the luxurious rooms, pampering spa and delicous food. Its amazing that you and your boyfriend were able to experience them all.
I will share your review with all the staff as Iam sure they will appreciate your comments as well.

Hope to see you back in the spring or summer. When the weather warms, the Inn takes on a whole new beautiful look.

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Christie's Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Christie's Mill

Address: 263 Port Severn Road North | Box 125, Port Severn, Ontario L0K 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Muskoka District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Christie's Mill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Christie's Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Christie`s Mill Hotel Muskoka
The Inn At Christie's Mill Muskoka District, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Christie's Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.