We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Christie's Mill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Christie's Mill to your Saves list
The Inn at Christie's Mill
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   263 Port Severn Road North | Box 125, Port Severn, Ontario L0K 1S0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Pros:
Great staff, professional service
Wonderful location
Great place to unwind

Cons:
bed frame squeaks
Dirty spots in in room hot tub
Swimming pool tiles were chipping
Average streak and chicken dishes
Soup for dinner arrived cold
Tv small and outdated with only 21 channels

Overall:
Cons really didn't bother us that much as we only hoped to get out of town for some relaxation. However, if some off these points were addressed our stay would have been perfect!

Overall, the staffs great attitude made the other things trivial.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at The Inn at Christie's Mill, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank-you so much for your comments regarding your stay at the Inn.

Christie's Mill Inn and Spa is a great place to unwind, relax and enjoy the peaceful nature surrounding the property.

Our team will continue to improve on all aspects of our guests stay and endeavour to make it the "perfect" spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    59
    39
    22
    15
See reviews for
20
152
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

First time at Inn, on Travelzoo deal. The cons - staff at front desk young and didn't know basic information such as when the saltwater pool was open etc. Room and hallway outside room really hot, never got resolved, all the furniture and paint in/around Inn needs good wash and touch up, they need to spend 10 minutes each morning picking up duck poop around water, if you have a package deal staff in dining room need to know the details of how it works so you don't feel like a second class citizen. Meals were okay, but not great.

The pros - congratulations on your spa and spa staff. Fabulous and talented. Water view room very spacious, bathroom large, balcony nice.

Will not go again. Could be really nice place, just too many things wrong. Glad didn't pay more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at The Inn at Christie's Mill, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank-you for your comments on your stay this past weekend.
I will pass on the good news to the spa and staff. Im glad we could make your experience enjoyable.
I take responsibilty that the communication level was not were it needed to be during your stay. I will followup with my managers and ensure that we improve. Young or old, it doesnt matter, we will do a better job in training and helping our staff provide guest service excellence at all times.

Our traditional side of the hotel does not have central air, therefore the hallways do get warm, especially this year with the hot summer weather. We will work on central air in that side of the Inn for next year. All the rooms however do have air conditioning and are very comfortable.

The maintanence team will be busy over the next few months doing all sorts of touchups, repairs and ensuring that the Inn remains in top form.

Hope to see you soon and thank-you once again for your patronage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Spent the weekend at the Inn. Staff was friendly and accomodating, our room was incredible, large, spacious. Spent alot of time on the balcony overlooking the waterway relaxing. Food was very good and affordable, service was attentive and they recommended some nice wine. We didnt visit the spa, but it looked very nice and luxurious.
We've been here in the past and heard it was operating under new ownership and management. We could feel and see the difference in guest service and quality. The grounds and gardens are not what they used to be but there is a significant effort to improve everywhere.
We can't wait to return to see the improvement next year. Hoping to come back in the winter for a romantic retreat

Room Tip: The suites are an upgrade but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at The Inn at Christie's Mill, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank-you very much for your kind words.
I will be excited to share this with the staff as they have all worked hard to improve our guest experience.

Its great to turn first timers into loyal visitors.

Much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We also purchased a mid-week deal with meal plan + a $100 voucher towards spa treatments. No complaints other than they did not seem to have sufficient staffing during our stay. Our room was spacious with a water view and a very comfortable king size bed. The food was also good although we had a limited selection from the prix fixe menu that came with our deal. No complaints on the food quality or service. Staff were gracious, accomodating and friendly. We would come back here again but only if we got another 'deal', I do not think it would be worth close to $500/night regular price. Just one last thing, they really do need to repair some minor things that make the place look shabby i.e. serious crack + lift in tiling by inside whirlpool, some peeling paint on walls and concrete lifting from the bottom of the indoor pool. Overall a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Water view rooms have balconies, a bonus if you like to sit outside to enjoy the Muskoka air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at The Inn at Christie's Mill, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank-you for your comments regarding your staff at the Inn.
We have and will continue to make the necessary improvement to the Inn throughout the year. I hope when you return you will notice the improvements made.

We have learned through guest feedback a few things from the pre fixe meal plan. We are in the process of offering both the three course menu and offering off the full menu. Some items, such as Lamb, might include a surcharge, but this will give our guests a larger variety and the option to have more expensive items if they chose.

Much appreciated and hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We purchased the mid-week deal with meal plan and upgraded to the spa room. Room was nice but the noise from the mechanical room down the hall was a problem. It sounded like someone running the vacuum all night long.

The food. Oh dear. It was bad. You get a "special" menu when you are on the meal plan. We ordered our steaks medium rare. It was well-done, gray, and extra chewy.

The breakfast was a very sad buffet. For the price we paid, it should've been cooked-to-order and the dinner should have been options from the regular menu. That said, the people working at the resort were very nice and friendly. Not their fault the cook can't cook.


Like I said, the room was nice and the service was friendly but the food really was a disappointment. Even though it was supposed to be a deal, it was still kind of pricey so if they want to compete they need to fix the food and deal with the noise from the mechanical room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at The Inn at Christie's Mill, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank-you for your comments. I appreciate these as I continue to look for areas of improvements at the Inn.
My new maintenance manager had reviewed the night log and since then fixed the noise from the mechanical room as well as inspect all the room units.
We continue to improve in all areas of our service including culinary. Our new chef has made many changes to the menus and in some cases reduced prices. Over the past several weeks our guest feedback has been very positive.
I look forward to many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Trent Canal boat trip was great! Unfortunately Christie's Mill was not what I remembered from our stay a few years ago. Apparently they have new ownership and it's just a scarce memory of what it once was. Dinners rolls were stale, food was salty. All the flowers that once filled the window boxes and made it so beautiful are gone. We were told that the salt water pool is open until 10:00pm, but when we went in around 9:15pm all the lights were out. We went to reception to inquire and it was explained to us that they don’t know how to turn on the lights....huh? Then we get back to our room and our dog has found some ancient French fries under the bed that she wouldn't even eat. Hummm...I wonder how clean it really is? This upset me considerably, since I had to pay an extra $25 for our dog, which I assume is for extra cleaning. I've never felt compelled to write a review on Trip Advisor until now, but the final straw was not hearing back from management. I informed them of all my complaints upon check-out and was told I would hear back from someone that day. It has now been one week since our stay and I've not heard nothing. In my opinion they have a way to go before it's back the way it once was. Next Trent trip we will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at The Inn at Christie's Mill, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I am terribly sorry you felt that we did not meet your expecation during your staff.

Upon check out when you and I had a conversation about your stay, you only mentioned one item of disappointment, which we agreed deserved the compensation you recieved.
I would have liked to haven known that day if there were other concerns so we could have addressed them immediately.
The staff strive to deliver guest service excellence at all levels.
Thank-you for your comments and hope that in the future you would visit us again so we may show you the improvements made in all areas of the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We booked a two nights, three days "mid-week getaway" so to avoid the weekend rush. The inn was beautiful. We booked a room which was spacious, large washroom, large king size bed and a decent view of the lake. The inn was. It very busy which was great and it was very quiet...just what the doctor ordered! The staff was pleasant and the food was fantastic...the 10oz NY steak and the rack of lamb! We had our baby with us but from what we were told canoe and kayak rentals were available and FREE. The inn is kinda remote and for those who just want to relax and not do much, it is a great getaway for a few days. I gave it a three star value because I would've preferred more sceneries and adventure. Otherwise, it was a great short vacation. I would recommend this place to my friends.

HP

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at The Inn at Christie's Mill, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank-you so much for your review.
We are very proud of our quaint little Inn, nestled right on the water. You are correct, the use of all our canoes, kayaks and paddleboats are free for our guests. We want you to relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings, whether taking advantage of our spa, tanning on the beach, walking the grounds or enjoying the waterway.
Good food is always an essential part of the stay. Glad our team could help you unwind and destress.
Look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Christie's Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Christie's Mill

Address: 263 Port Severn Road North | Box 125, Port Severn, Ontario L0K 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Muskoka District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Christie's Mill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Christie's Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Christie`s Mill Hotel Muskoka
The Inn At Christie's Mill Muskoka District, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Christie's Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.