We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Crest Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rocky Crest Golf Resort to your Saves list
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   RR#1, Hamer Bay Road | MacTier, Ontario P0C 1H0, Canada (Formerly Delta Rocky Crest Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Muskoka District
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

We stayed here for two nights over the Labour Day weekend. Check in was fast. Room was clean and very spacious. The weather was so beautiful we hardly spent any time in our room. It was nice to have the windows open at night. Walls were a bit thin. Food was great and I did not find it to be overpriced. Great wine list and with lots of "hidden gems". Sevice from the staff at the restaurant was wonderful, some the best service I've had in a while. The staff working the children's activities were awesome, especially Fear Factor on the dock and the late night hike to see the stars. Hot tub tended to be a bit dirty and full of children. If you do not have children, I do not recommend this resort during the summer as the place is crawling with them and at breakdfast/lunch/dinner, you usually heard a kid crying. Loved the trampoline in the Lake and the waterfront. If you don't have kids, perhaps you should take a look at the Delta Sherwood, as it appeared to be more "adult" oriented. Otherwise, if you have kids, they will make a lot of new friends and have a blast.

  • Liked — The waterfront and swimming in the Lake!
  • Disliked — charge/fee for boat tours
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    43
    39
    18
    16
See reviews for
66
36
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

My first thought was to turn around and find another hotel but my wife was set on staying here and I had booked 2 nights. Parked in the gravel/dirt parking lot, trying to avoid all the beer bottles and broken glass. Walking to the lobby to check in and was almost run over by some kid in a golf cart. After I could see though the dust again I proceeded to enter the lobby and was confused if I was in the right place, because plastered all over was advertising for time-share offerings. Anyway, after check in I proceeded to carry my luggage myself across 100 yards of the crushed gravel parking lot down to my 'room'. The complex looks like they have (poorly) renovated old condos with vinyl siding and slapped the Delta name on.
Finally, got into room and urgently needed to check email - $12.95/day for email access!!!!!! what???? at $399/night???? anyway called the front desk to get a password for wireless access which turns out to be slower than dialup internet. I want to leave.
Wife is hungry so we go down to patio restaurant to eat. Meal arrived ok....$28 for a steak sandwich and ceasar on same plate (no garlic toast or anything else served or offered) and $16 for hamburger with soggy fries. (hope I'm not sick). Head back to room for night and look for ice to acompany ice bucket in room. Front desk informs me that I have to walk across 'resort' to restaurant and ask for ice somewhere. forget it. Go to bed which is nice and comfortable, but could not get a good sleep because there is no air conditioning in bedroom and it is very hot. Also, paper thin walls and floors transmit every sound from other rooms and outside. Night is uneventful....wake in morning to find out that room has no water!!!!!!! Hours later still working on restoring water......This is day one........will update after day two.....

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

My family had a great time at Rocky Crest. The staff were really helpful and nice. The meal plan was really good, and we had excellent dinners in the Lakeside Dining Room and the Golf Club Dining room. The breakfast buffet was adequate but nothing special. They have two pools now, one being a saltwater pool. There is also a water trampoline, raft and slide in the lake for the kids to play on. As well there were lots of kayaks, canoes and paddleboats to use. They also have a kids camp (cost is extra), a new playground and an activity schedule. We used the new tennis courts, putting green and the basketball court. The rooms are dated but a good size.

  • Liked — 2 bedroom suite was well laid out
  • Disliked — dated decor
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bowmanville ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2006

They advertise a pool, hot tub, games room, which were not open, DVD's to rent but no DVD player.
Walkways were a death trap with the wet leaves.
The main dining room, view was great, and thats all I'll say about it.
The rooms were dirty, old, mould in the bathrooms, and the log we bought just about choked us out the first night.
There was no planned activities for the resort and no visible trails for hiking.
This was too disappointing to be quiet about it.
The few resort employees we encountered were friendly.
Save your money for a resort that cares about your business.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — not what was advertised, old dirty rooms.
  • Tips/Secrets — check it out personally before you commit or check trip advisor
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

We stayed there for a conference. There were almost 20 of us. The rooms were very nice, the bed was among the best of any hotel that I ever slept on. The service was great for our conference and our meals. Food was good; breakfast gets a little boring when it's always the same; suppers were good, portions on the appetizers were skimpy. If you golf, the course is among the best in the country. Outstanding! Also try Lake Joseph Golf couse and Grandview. All within an hour of the resort

  • Liked — The rooms and the beds!!
  • Disliked — No gym
  • Tips/Secrets — Buildings 5-7 are closest to the parking lot.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta Rocky Crest Resort
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2006

We stayed 1 night at the Delta Rocky Crest Resort in Sept. 2006. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. The place was adequate for the both of us but a bit on the pricy side. It was $299.00 per night plus tax. It came with a 1 bedroom and a sofa bed that pulls out. The washroom came with a jacuzzi which was nice, but we didn't try it. The kitchen came with a fridge, microwave oven and sink and even dishwasher but no oven or stove top. The suite was clean as we enter but the closet in the bedroom looked large but once open half the space was for the water heater. The beach was ok they had a nice trampoline in the middle of the lake which was nice. The water clear and not dirty as some beach that I have swam in. They give you canoes, kayak pedal boats that you can take out into the lake. The outdoor pool was ok, but the outdoor sauna water was a bit on the too hot side. They also have a tennis court volley and badminton court and a basketball hoop that you can play on. We had dinner in the dinning room. The bread was not quite up to snuff. We had veal $28.00 and I had the steak $30.00. Dinner was ok but a bit skimpy on the portions. If you went as a foursome I think the price would be ok if split the price. But as I mention was a bit pricey for a couple. But all in all I would recomend it to other traveler going here.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

place sucked. cant believe i got taken sooooo bad. room was old. just terrible. stay away

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — room
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Crest Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Crest Golf Resort

Address: RR#1, Hamer Bay Road | MacTier, Ontario P0C 1H0, Canada (Formerly Delta Rocky Crest Resort)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Muskoka District
#5 Luxury Hotel in Muskoka District
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Muskoka District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky Crest Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the outcroppings of the Canadian shield on the shores of sparkling Lake Joseph, Rocky Crest Golf resort is a true Muskoka getaway. A favourite vacation destination for many years, our resort offers comfortable and spacious suites with all the amenities, incredible restaurants, beautiful meeting spaces, access to the fabulous Rocky Crest Golf Club and a whole host of outdoor activities.Whether you are planning a family trip, a golf adventure, a business presentation or just a weekend away with friends, we invite you to come and experience all that we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rocky Crest Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Rocky Crest Hotel Muskoka
Delta Rocky Crest Muskoka
Delta Muskoka
Delta Rocky Crest Resort
Muskoka Delta
Rocky Crest Golf Resort Muskoka District, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Crest Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.