We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Waste Your $$” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Crest Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rocky Crest Golf Resort to your Saves list
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   RR#1, Hamer Bay Road | MacTier, Ontario P0C 1H0, Canada (Formerly Delta Rocky Crest Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Muskoka District
Hamilton, Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your $$”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

I booked a single bedroom suite as I needed only overnight accomodations on my way to an out of town wedding. At the time I booked I didn't mind paying a premium price if it meant decent accomodations that the Delta name is known for. I was certainly dissapointed. The suite itself was a decent size but looked worn. The doors did not close properly, the light fixture above the bathroom sink was missing one of it's shades and the walls were obviously paper thin as you could hear everything your neighbours said or did. That is the big problem. I ended up with a virtually sleepless night due to the loud conversations and noise from the neighbouring unit(s) at all hours of the night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    43
    39
    18
    16
See reviews for
66
36
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Firstly - if you are going there by GPS - do not use the postal code on their web site - it takes you to a residential location 15 min away. After driving for 11 hours, with two cranky kids in the back - you get to the wrong location. Then I phoned them, and they say this happens a lot. why not tell people on the web site that this does not work, and give the correct postal code, or an address that works (my GPS was fully loaded with the latest addresses and POI's). So after getting upset when they put me on hold - I finnally got there, they appologized and sent milk and cookies to the room.

1. Rooms - we got a two bedroom loft suite - it was very nice, very big, nice beds. One issue that is common in the reviews - is there was only one AC unit feeding the living areas, the bedrooms were super warm - no ac units. Also, my inlaws had a similar room, and they had a dishwasher, and we did not - they should have dishwashers in all rooms. Overall - the rooms are not worth the expensive rates.
2. Location - lake Joe is fantastic, pool was great, good facilities.
3. Service - the service was fantastic - people were friendly and attentive.
4. Food - the breakfast buffet was expensive for what we got.
5. MISC - internet speeds were slowwww.

Overall - I have stayed in nicer spots for less - the service is great and if you want a good cottage get away it is ok - there is better out there. 2.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We went for a wedding and stayed over for an additional 3 day holiday with the kids.

The food was very good. The service in the restaurants was also good. The staff had a great attitude and were eager to please. We put the kids in Kids Camp one half day and they had a great time while my husband played golf and I went to the spa. We all enjoyed the morning doing our own thing.

The beds were extremely comfortable. As good as I have slept in.

The grounds are a little rustic, but we were there for the lake, the activities and the food. We were not disappointed.

We will be back.

  • Liked — Great summer destination
  • Disliked — The hills and the stairs
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

Just really a sloppy attempt at being a resort, lots of okay bits but no clear plan as to it's layout (many rooms offer no view but the parking lot or other buildings) and no cohesive thought in it's overall presentation.

The Chef seemed to think that the addition of goat cheese and or berries is a prerequisite to an entre...even added it to beef! And with three restaurants available (including the golf coarse) there was a surprising lack of variety in menus (the kids was actually identical at all 3 venues). When we pointed this out in a comment card included in our bill one afternoon, the chef came out of the kitchen and agressively confronted us, as we were sitting finishing a meal, about our opinion. While he was somewhat polite, it was VERY uncomfortable. He wanted to argue the diversity of the menu, we were on vacation for goodness sake and just agreed with him until he went away. So...whatever you do avoid the comment cards!

My biggest advice is to check ALL of your bills in the restaurant...of the 10 we had while at the resort 6 had additional charges on them that should not have been there. Since the tipping is included (so there is no incentive for good service) our only thought is that it seemed to be an advantage to the servers to ring up more, therefore increasing their non-negotiable gratuity. When we pointed out the errors it was quickly fixed...but we HAD to point it out every time.

The rooms have no central air (only one in our 2 bedroom suite had a window box unit) so you must sleep with the windows open. Since all of the buildings are crammed together it is very loud at night. The parking lot is adjacent to some rooms making the noise almost unbearable at night...the room was also dirty and smelled. When we switched rooms to get away from the noise our new room was much cleaner and quieter...but still only offered a view of the roof of the next building?

My hubby says the golf coarse is amazing, and the staff there fantastic. We also loved the little lake Armishaw for fishing and canoeing. We were not that impressed with the kids program, one afternoon was an hour and a half walk in the bug infested woods and then a swim in the cute little salt water pool and some time on the playground equipment. Definately not worth the $30.00 for a half day, but the staff was nice.

Some other advice:
-Bring your own beer as two Coronas cost $19.00...quite the mark up.
-The marshmallow roast is located on the side of the parking lot, nothing scenic about it.
-Bring your own life jackets, most there had mould and finding sizes for the kids was at times very difficult.
-Some dogs are left off leash, my boys love dogs but it really terrified other kids. The dogs also woke us up every morning at 6 am as the owners took them for an early morning Bark/walk.
-There is NO beach area, just a dirty sand pit thing next to the lake, maybe 20 by 8 feet. (This should never have been advertised as a sandy beach)
-The water gets deep very quickly so watch any non swimming kids very carefully, there is no lifegaurd on duty. The staff stick inside there little shed.
-And the spa was very over priced for the services received...
I guess my best advice is to try someplace else...we would never go back to that location and are certain to be leary of Deltas in the near future.

  • Liked — Golf, Lake Armishaw
  • Disliked — Food, Room, No beach, layout of resort.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

A great three-night stay - it is worth paying more for a view, otherwise you miss out on the glory of waking up to a sunny lake view in the beautiful Muskoka region. Ask for a chalet near the restaurant complex if you are slow walkers or have kids, otherwise you will be worn out before each meal coping with the steep paths (and leave your high heels behind). And ask for help with your luggage for check-in and check-out as not everyone can cope with heavy bags on those steep and uneven rocky paths. Help is willingly given, but you have to ask and be patient at busy times.

Food was excellent and we mostly enjoyed drinks and meals on the terrace rather than indoors - and we had the ideal weather to do it in. If you want to self-cater there are most facilities you need in each chalet/apartment.

Best of all, the Kids Club was a huge hit with the family - an excellent mix of swimming, adventure hikes, craft activities, treasure hunts, evening marshmallows over the campfire and lots of fun. The absolute highpoint - and there were many - was the saltwater pool which is perfect if you have anyone with eczema who cannot use the normal pools or even the freshwater lake - and the saltwater helps the non-swimmers amongst you too, as it aids buoyancy. Overall a top experience for all the family and a memorable end to our holiday.

For myself the spa was a godsend and cannot be highly recommended enough. Although none of us plays golf it was obvious that this is what most visitors come for, which leaves the resort's other facilities to the golf widows and families during the day - hurray!

Overall it was the best resort I have ever stayed in and we plan a return trip. The saltwater pool alone is worth the cost of the transatlantic flight - no kidding!

  • Liked — Stunning views, saltwater pool, kids club and fantastic spa
  • Disliked — The rocky paths and lots of steps, but that's inevitable on the lakeside.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakville on
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

We stayed at Rocky Crest over the Labour Day Long Weekend. We stayed for 3 nights. It was myself, my husband and our 3 year old daughter. Overall, it was an enjoyable and relaxing stay.
The room was fine. We overlooked the lake. It had a small fridge, and microwave. We decided to bring lunch and breakfast foods to cut down a bit on expenses. This worked just fine.
My daughter really enjoyed herself.
The Cons: I felt that there was no attention to the amenieties. The pool needed a good skim and the chairs needed a good wipe down. (never saw anyone doing this - actually never saw any employee at the pool at all.) The towel service is away from the pool and they run out of towels a lot - which leads to hording, which leads to a vicious circle. The "sandy beach" is a very small bit of sand that they dumped near a dock.
For older kids the water trampoline and slide looked like fun.
The food options are not well publicized. Don't get me wrong we enjoyed ourselves but for $300/night I would like a bit more.
the problem is that this resort will close in one year - it is being taken over by developers who are tearing down in phases and rebuilding time share properties.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — lack of attention to detail
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

We stayed here for two nights over the Labour Day weekend. Check in was fast. Room was clean and very spacious. The weather was so beautiful we hardly spent any time in our room. It was nice to have the windows open at night. Walls were a bit thin. Food was great and I did not find it to be overpriced. Great wine list and with lots of "hidden gems". Sevice from the staff at the restaurant was wonderful, some the best service I've had in a while. The staff working the children's activities were awesome, especially Fear Factor on the dock and the late night hike to see the stars. Hot tub tended to be a bit dirty and full of children. If you do not have children, I do not recommend this resort during the summer as the place is crawling with them and at breakdfast/lunch/dinner, you usually heard a kid crying. Loved the trampoline in the Lake and the waterfront. If you don't have kids, perhaps you should take a look at the Delta Sherwood, as it appeared to be more "adult" oriented. Otherwise, if you have kids, they will make a lot of new friends and have a blast.

  • Liked — The waterfront and swimming in the Lake!
  • Disliked — charge/fee for boat tours
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Crest Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Crest Golf Resort

Address: RR#1, Hamer Bay Road | MacTier, Ontario P0C 1H0, Canada (Formerly Delta Rocky Crest Resort)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Muskoka District
#5 Spa Hotel in Muskoka District
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Muskoka District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky Crest Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the outcroppings of the Canadian shield on the shores of sparkling Lake Joseph, Rocky Crest Golf resort is a true Muskoka getaway. A favourite vacation destination for many years, our resort offers comfortable and spacious suites with all the amenities, incredible restaurants, beautiful meeting spaces, access to the fabulous Rocky Crest Golf Club and a whole host of outdoor activities.Whether you are planning a family trip, a golf adventure, a business presentation or just a weekend away with friends, we invite you to come and experience all that we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Rocky Crest Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Rocky Crest Hotel Muskoka
Delta Rocky Crest Muskoka
Delta Muskoka
Delta Rocky Crest Resort
Muskoka Delta
Rocky Crest Golf Resort Muskoka District, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Crest Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.