We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried the Eats at McIntosh Country Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre to your Saves list
McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12495 Cty Rd # 2 | P O Box 1140, Morrisburg, Ontario K0C 1X0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morrisburg
Toronto
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Tried the Eats at McIntosh Country Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Please note that this is a review of a quick stop over to try their dining room only.

Facility: This looks to be the only hotel in the small town of Morrisburg. It is a conference facility, hotel and it has a pub and restaurant attached. The decor is somewhat 'old style', but clean and welcoming. As you enter the main entrance you have a small check in counter on the right, a small lobby with some chairs and coffee table and on the left the entrance to the restaurant. We were welcomed by the person at the check in desk (but I observed it was not manned all of the time).

Restaurant: The restaurant more of a pub type of decor with several televisions about, wood chairs with no padding and the usual alcohol posters spread about.
We were looking for a stop over for food driving back from Quebec and we wanted to try something other than fast food chain burgers. We had come here while visiting friends in the surrounding area about two years ago and tried to come for dinner. The restaurant at the time was so packed and with no tables available, I thought to stop back in the future to see what the hub-bub was about. This time we definitely came at an off peak time ahead of the dinner crowd (no one else was there). The menu was a variety of usual pub type fare with a peculiar addition of chinese food. The food and prices were average in quality and price. It was not great, but not bad. I had a stuffed chicken and my wife had fish and chips. This is just fine for those times where you desire something other than McDonalds or Tims. (Actually there is a Morrisburg McDonalds attached to a gas station and a Tim's down the street). Service was attentive but not intrusive (and we were the only people in the place at that time).
We also found the washrooms near the restaurant to be clean enough, but they were showing their age.
Conclusion: This place is nice enough to come back here for a food pit stop. I can not comment on their rooms.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
22
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

For the last 3 years, my wife and I have been going to the Festival of Lights at Upper Canada Village and we have booked the package with the McIntosh Inn every time. This is a perfect get away for couples. The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. The food at the Inn is very good, specially the Sunday brunch. Definitely worth the stop. Great selection and excellent taste. The price is also excellent. But the staff makes us coming back. You really feel like they care about you. Can't find that everywhere. We will surely go back next year.

Room Tip: You can ask to upgrade your room for a room with fireplace and/or jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

A nice place to stay staff very friendly.Clean,food a little pricey,pool hot tub nice.Enjoyed my stay.One bad thing they need to enforce the non smoking thing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisburg, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I'm from the area and have eaten in the pub and restaurant. The restaurant seems to be closed often in the winter. The Chinese buffet was excellent value and the specials in the restaurant were fine when available. The pub fare is consistently inconsistent. One time the fish of fish and chips was a mere flattened, frozen piece of fish which doesn't match the description. When the order arrived and I looked surprised the waiter said that they were out of the regular and this was the replacement. Would I like to re-order---I should have but didn't because it had taken a bit of time to get the food in the first place. Last night the vegs with the tilapia were sprinkled with some sort of red specks of seasoning but were tasteless and of a strange texture. The hamburg my friend had was so-so and didn't get fully consumed. I don't eat here if I have a choice in the matter. The $20 for coffee, a piece of tilapia, baked potato and small dessert was not good value or particularly good food. THursday seems to be wing night/beer night and the place was full--perhaps that is the secret---eat according to the posters on the wall.

Room Tip: I didn't stay overnight, just ate at the restaurant. Washroom was clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed here after driving from Niagara Falls through the USA and back into Canada. It was late, we were hungry and tired and just wanted a bed for the night. It did the job but was a bit pricey for what it was.

The food in the bar was tasty but also a little over priced. We had chicken wings and pizza with beer.

The room was clean and functional but nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed in a lower guest room. It smelled a bit like a basement. The room was clean, and it was quiet and we weren't disturbed at all.

The hotel has a restaurant and a pub beside each other. We went to the restaurant and asked if we had a reservation, and we said no. We were told to go next door to the pub. We thought nothing of it, thinking they were full and busy and not all the tables were cleaned off yet. The next morning for breakfast we tried the restaurant again. The same thing happened ... except they didn't look very busy. I would expect since we were guests at the hotel we would be able to eat at their restaurant? Maybe not.

Other than the restaurant, it was a typical hotel stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here two nights for a wedding and found it to be comfortable and convenient. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and parking was handy. The decor is a bit gloomy and somewhat oppressive with dark Victorian pastels about in rooms and lobby.
I would recommend the McIntosh Inn for a stopover--while visiting UC Village, e.g.--but not as a destination. Its accommodations are typical AAA motel-style.
Some minor issues:
1. Our attempt to reserve via email from Asia was not handled well. First, the Inn had no record of the wedding party whose name we gave (had them down for 2012 not 2011), and then did not state their rate on our request.
2. There is a coffee-maker in the room, with coffee but no tea, as we discovered after heating the water. Seems a strange omission and not expensive for the establishment to provide.
3. The bathroom was provided with one small bottle of shampoo, but no conditioner. The front desk staff looked, but decided they supplied shampoo only. Because I had assured my wife beforehand that every hotel provides shampoo AND conditioner these days, we made an excursion in the morning to a drug store.
In all, I felt they skimped on some of these touches.

Room Tip: From other reviews, it seems as if the second floor is preferable (where we were).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 12495 Cty Rd # 2 | P O Box 1140, Morrisburg, Ontario K0C 1X0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Morrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 59 room Country Inn, perfect for getaways, conferences, retreats, in a rural setting. Nestled in the heart of the St Lawrence Seaway Valley, near many wonderful attractions, including Upper Canada Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcintosh Country Inn And Conference Centre
Mcintosh Country Inn & Conference Centre Hotel Morrisburg
Morrisburg Country Inn
McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre Morrisburg, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.