We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished We Were Anywhere Else...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Massey Motel

Save Saved
You added Massey Motel to your Saves list
Massey Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Massey Motel
295 Sable Street West | Hwy 17 West, Massey, Ontario P0P 1P0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Massey
South River, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wished We Were Anywhere Else...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Wow - what a disappointment. The rooms are incredibly tiny - no walking space, no chairs 'cause there is absolutely no room for one. We actually took turns sitting out in our van and we called it the 'lounge' because there wasn't even room to turn around in the room. The bathroom was disgustingly dirty and the toilet seat actually came off. No coffee in the rooms at all although you could get some from the office after 8am. The beds were very uncomfortable. If our schedule had been amenable to changing hotels we would have.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
4
4
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Stopped looking for a place to sleep after a long drive, and found the Massey Motel to be friendly, peaceful, accommodating and with reasonable rates. All in all a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I phoned and booked a room before leaving home and was rather disappointed when the price of the room had been increased on my arrival simply because of an unexpected increase in demand for accommodation in the area that had little else to offer. My travel arrangement in area have been changed accordingly for my future and rather frequent trips.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

no this is not a fancy motel with lots of extra's, but if you are looking for a clean, affordable place to stay between sudbury and sault ste marie, its perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanic Falls, Maine
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed overnight at this small motel in Massey while travelling from Maine to UP Michigan. We arrived around 8:30PM and the manager was just as friendly in person as he was on the telephone when I made the reservations. He pointed us to a small local deli that was still open, and we got a good night's sleep and refreshing shower the next morning. It is an older motel, but very clean and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

On a recent trip through Ontario, Canada, my husband and I stopped at this quaint motel off of Hwy 17 West on our way to Vancouver. The pride of ownership is easy to spot as the rooms are some of the cleanest I have seen in my travels. The rooms are not luxurious and aren't the largest rooms however they are very well taken care of.

The high speed internet access in our room worked very well and never cut out. As business owners, this is a must have when traveling so we were very pleased about that.

I wouldn't hesitate recommending the Massey Motel to anyone looking for an affordable room while traveling across Ontario. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We've been coming back to this gem for years and each time the owners have made new improvements to their facility. Don't expect a five star hotel in a small town but the rooms and linens have always been clean, beds comfortable and staff pleasant and helpful. There is even free internet. We have enjoyed a walk down to the beach nearby as well as visits to Chutes Provincial Park when we stay here. We will keep coming back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Massey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massey Motel

Address: 295 Sable Street West | Hwy 17 West, Massey, Ontario P0P 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Massey
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Massey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Massey Motel offers comfortable, affordable accommodations in Massey, Ontario Canada. We take pride in our well furnished, clean rooms and excellent customer service. Massey Motel is conveniently located halfway between Sault St. Marie and Sudbury only a short distance from Espanola. Come experience what beautiful Northern Ontario has to offer! Fishing, snowmobiling, private beaches, swimming, golfing, picnicking, horseback riding, hiking, canoeing, kayaking and many more activities are only steps away from our motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Massey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massey Motel Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Massey Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.