We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome food and good prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the swiss country house

the swiss country house
50 robinson dr., Magnetawan, Ontario P0A 1A0, Canada
(705) 387-9292
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Magnetawan
Cuisines: Swiss
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Parry Sound, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“awesome food and good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We went here for dinner and the food was excellent, the portions are very good and the prices very reasonable for the amount of food you get. The wine and beer list is extensive and that is great to see. Overall a great experience and we will definitely be back. It is 35-40 north of Parry Sound on Highway 124 and well worth the drive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Taste of Switzerland in cottage country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This restaurant has become a favourite spot of my husband's and mine. The setting is a tidy blend of Muskoka Canadiana and Switzerland with the stunning lakefront views, wood clad chalet-like interior, and Swiss mementos decorating the grounds.

The food is authentically Swiss with the menu boasting a variety Swiss style unbreaded schnitzels but don't worry, they feature a traditional breaded wiener schnitzel for the die hards. My favourite is the piccata schnitzel but there are also a list of various roestis. They offer a wonderful assortment of fresh salads - but if you are planning on ordering an entree, skip the salads and appetitizers -- the portions are very generous. The meals are delicious and fresh - my only complaint has to do with the potato roesti offered with the schnitzel; they are very bland and could use some serious seasoning. I usually opt for the wild rice instead. You will likely be taking home half the meal, especially the wiener schnitzel.

Leave room for dessert! The apple-strudel is my favourite -- fresh diced apples, cinnamon, raisins (not too sweet) in a flaky phyllo pastry served warm with vanilla ice-cream. My friends loved theirs as well: vanilla ice-cream and berries, and the Swiss chocolate delight - chocolate sponge cake, ice-cream and chocolate.

And - if you are up for it - take the 3 lb XXL Cordon-Bleu Schnitzel challenge and get the free t-shirt and have your picture added to the wall of shame. Our cousin did it!

The staff are friendly and professional and go to great lengths to create a wonderful experience. It is country casual but also a perfect place to go for a special dinner. It is not cheap but it is excellent value. I recommend reservations to get a great lakeview seat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This place has the best food! Great service, great experience, highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundridge, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

great place to visit and eat .. beautiful views .. GREAT food ... the brunches are out of this world

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic swiss food in wonderful country location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We had the pleasure of living in Switzerland for one year. Swiss Country House provides wonderful authentic swiss food.

The location and restaurant are excellent and we look forward to our next visit.

Given it's location in a quiet cottage country location we never expect to find such a gem... and will return again!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the swiss country house also viewed

Magnetawan, Northeastern Ontario
Magnetawan, Northeastern Ontario
 
Magnetawan, Northeastern Ontario
Magnetawan, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to the swiss country house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the swiss country house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.