We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a home away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodland Echoes Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Magnetawan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodland Echoes Resort
Save
You added Woodland Echoes Resort to your Saves list
3 Victoria St | P.O. Box 59, Magnetawan, Ontario POA 1PO, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magnetawan
GreenLeadersGold level
Mattawa, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's a home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I highly recommend Woodland echoes. So much so, that I returned sooner than I expected. The food was awesome with an amazing presentation. It's a home away from home. There are many things to do, most of them are included free of charge and there is never a dull moment. Ken and Carol are great hosts and made us feel right at home. Keep up the great work! :0)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Cottages at Woodland Echoes were rustic but modern, well spaced and seperated by wooded areas with great views of Ahmic Lake. They all had decks to sit on to enjoy your morning coffee and private docks for your boats right in front of your cabin. More than enough activities to keep pre-teen grandchildren busy all day. Adults did not have to entertain the kids so they were able to enjoy the grounds and activities as well. Fishing was pretty good with quite a few large pike and bass being brought in. Really enjoyed the all camp fish fry put on by the owners to help meet all of the other visitors. Already planning to go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Our cottage was very nice but seriously you can't call this place a resort. If you do go, stay clear of the meal plan. The food was awful. One person at the table next to us pulled out a hair from his main course. There was food stuck to the side of my water glass. The steak ,if you can call it that, was awful. The veggies - steamed out of a Bird's Eye bag. A far cry from gourmet meals.....They wanted us to choose a specific time for each meal. I guess I wasn't planning on so much structure on vacation. A window when breakfast and dinner would be served would have been nice After our first meal, we just couldn't go back for more.

Thought the room was clean and the owner attentive-- it missed the boat. The towels smelled of moth balls. The couch was a love seat ."resort materials" talked of all the no no's and how much they would cost if you did them. . We left after one night and moved to a real resort in Algonquin Park. It was well worth the move.

I don't write reviews often but don't be fooled by the glowing reports on this one......

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodland, Owner at Woodland Echoes Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2010
To the American couple who had a less than wonderful experience at Woodland Echoes recently, we are sorry to hear that your visit was not everything that you expect it to be. We can assure you, if we had been made aware of the circumstances that resulted in your early departure we certainly would have attempted to rectify the situation.
Being a family operated business for the last 31 years our family makes every effort to exceed our guests expectations.
Ken & Carol Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Remember to follow the driving directions listed on the resort's web site.
We followed our GPS which led us through many small back road paths.

The family owned resort are warm and welcoming. Home cooked meals twice a day was served at the main dining area. They accomodated our active 4 young adults with many outdoor activities as possible. The sound of their laugher and happiness has left a gift giving echo in my memory.

I enjoyed the relaxing water view and the serenity of the resort. It was a great stress free vacation at extremely reasonable price for a large family of young adults.
My husband loved the idea that they had the old cottage place feel with wood burning fireplace and a hot tub !

Totally loved it and am planning to make it our family tradition at least once a year.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

My husband and I and our two kids (8 and 5) spent a week at Woodland Echoes last summer in August. Our stay was terrific with many highlights. Our cottage was very cozy and clean, and we were thrilled to have a great deck and BBQ! Though a bit on the small side, the accommodations were very comfortable, had all the needed amenities and was a perfect home away from home. A couple times we didn't feel like cooking, and enjoyed wonderful meals in the Resort's dining room. Our host/waiter was very upbeat and also very helpful in giving my husband great fishing tips and locations. We enjoyed the boat and the lake immensely, and there was lots for the kids to do on the grounds (a playground, sand beach, mini golf... overall, a great outdoor environment to relax and just hang out in). The landscaping and gardens are very well cared for (except for a bit of grass on the beach), and it was just a quiet and beautiful spot to have a vacation at our own pace. We look forward to going back this summer, and in fact, I'm hoping that my sister will take our kids for a weekend sometime in the near future so that my husband and I can go on our own too!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caanda
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We came here for our honeymoon. The cottages were very well kept and clean and the little touches like the welcome basket and "just married" flip flops were super cute!

The servers in the dining room are super nice and the food is pretty good. One comment is that it seemed like a huge inconvenience to the staff when we wanted to have breakfast at 8am instead of 9 am so that we could get on the road and get home on our departure date. We found this odd considering that checkout time is 9 am.

The owners are a husband and wife team, and it is quite hilarious because the husband is all over this business. He serves breakfast in the morning, is very chipper and helpful. His wife however, is just not as into the business anymore. We found her very unpleasant and she treated us like a burden. There are some things in the resort that need some attention. The games hall needs some help along with the mini golf course.

Boats were in great shape and the motors are very easy to start, although we were a little disappointed that we were not offered the fishing boat with the live well when we specifically told them we were going fishing. The resort has fish finders available, but when we asked for one, we never received it.

The cabin we had with the outdoor hot tub was nice. The bathroom needs some serious updating, but the rest of it is great.

I would consider this place more of a place to rent a cottage rather than a resort. The owners should think about doing some renovations, or try to sell or consider a new direction.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandechoes, owner at Woodland Echoes Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2009
Sincere apologies to the vacationing couple who had a less than excellent experience at Woodland Echoes recently.

Our two guest books speak of literally hundreds of content and happy guests whom we have hosted over the past many years.

Thank you for your comments - comments such as these make us jump to attention. We hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanU
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Just recently visited this cottage/resort (shouldn't be considered a resort) and it started off poorly. When we first got into the room, it was dirty, dusty, things were not maintained (outdated calendars and magazines, menu booklet not complete) and overall not warming. The slightest requests were come back with irritated responses by the owners. From something as simple as completing the menu provided in the cottage to as important as replacing the batteries in the smoke alarm. In fact, the owner made quite a big deal when he "replaced" the smoke alarm with "new" batteries, when actually he put in dead batteries. We ended up having a lot of smoke in the room due to poor advise given by the owner, and the smoke alarm did not go off. We had to wake up to the beeping of a carbon monoxide detector which I don't find fun. I would recommend that you bring your own batteries and change them to all the alarms in the room just so you are safe. Another thing, the landscaping of the property was poorly kept. What they advertise on their site is not true to what is actually there. Tennis courts were not functional, trails on the property was like walking through a forest with no direction. The boats they offered were minimal and very dirty. Everything had to be cleaned before we could use them. For meals, they made a point that they were flexible with changes to their daily menus, but when I said I wanted to choose something from a different days' menu, all I received was an irritated response, as if he was doing me a BIG favor or something. They shouldn't offer something if they are going to make such a big deal about it. The website they have glorifies this place way too much, so don't be fooled. If you don't believe what you are reading, I would suggest you drive down and take a look for yourself, but I will tell you that you still will be wasting your gas making your way down. Things they offer are almost non-existent and YOU have to make your own fun, they don't offer any enjoyment.

We would never go to this place again nor would we recommend this to anyone. Absolutely horrible stay, and please don't waste your time coming down and wasting your time down there too.

I've read some reviews and they said that they spent their honeymoons here; I can't believe they would waste such an important time with their spouse in such a dreadful location.

So please don't come here, its a big scum hole. Stay home if you can!!! Hope this saved a lot of your money and time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodland, Owner at Woodland Echoes Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2009
Since 1981 our family has operated Woodland Echoes Resort. Over the years we have hosted many fine guests with a repeat rate of close to 60%, and many new guests coming by word of mouth. We do our best to serve our many guests and cater to their needs, but still sometimes are unable to meet a guest’s expectations.
Although we orient our guests upon their arrival, we often find that people from the city are very unfamiliar with the workings of a wood-burning fireplace. If one lights a fireplace with a damper closed, a room will fill a building with smoke and dust, and a smoke detectors will sound. We are not in the habit of putting dead batteries in detectors – it is against the law and against our conscience. We do expect guests to alert us if anything is defective and try to immediately alleviate the problem.
In mid June the spruce trees in the area release yellow pollen for a period of one to two weeks. This covers everything and is very hard to keep out of the buildings when windows are left open, and appears as dust. At that time of year we spend extra time cleaning and dusting. It is just part of nature where we live.
Excessive spring winds and rains this year,2009, and last 2008 prevented us from doing necessary work on our extensive trail network until very late in the tourist season. We lost several big trees to the high winds. We have an ongoing program to clear them from trails. Because of the heavy rains right through to early August for two years in a row, we no longer offer a clay tennis court as excessive rain water has prevented us from grading the surface until very late in the summer, if at all. We will continue to keep a small area available for basketball toss.
There are things we can control and others we cannot. When problems are pointed out to us we make every effort to deal with them. Through our web site we have tried to show an accurate picture of who we are and the services we provide. We invite any one to come and inspect our property at any time, and we encourage our guests to leave us their comments and suggestions for improving this vacation destination.
Ken, Carol & David Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodland Echoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Echoes Resort

Address: 3 Victoria St | P.O. Box 59, Magnetawan, Ontario POA 1PO, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Magnetawan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magnetawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think freedom...imagine breathing in the fresh scents of a spring forest canoeing, drifting quietly absorbing the beauty and warmth of a summers day. Cycling down a country road in a blaze of fall colour, or sitting beside a fire enjoying time with a friend. Welcome to Woodland Echoes a delightfully small resort where you sense a warm invitation from the moment you arrive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodland Echoes Hotel Magnetawan
Woodland Echoes Resort Magnetawan, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodland Echoes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.