We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanner's Inn & Dining

Tanner's Inn & Dining
5017 Highway 124 | Ontario, Magnetawan, Ontario P0A1P0, Canada
+1 705-387-4725
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Magnetawan
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Irish, British, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Very cozy 38 seat "Authentic British Pub Style" dining room with lots of ambiance. Superior food offerings at very good values. Try Red Seal Chef Barry Tanners Bacon Wrapped Scallops, Mussels, Stilton Pate, Sheppard & Steak & Kidney Pye, Seafood Platter for 2, Hand Battered Haddock & Chips, Lamb, Chicken & Smoked Duck Breast, AAA Black Angus Steaks or delicious homemade deserts. Remember at Tanners we have a dress code "WE REQUIRE ALL OUR CUSTOMERS TO WEAR CLOTHES" Thats all we ask!! Tanners "Come As You Are & Come Often"
Powassan, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We were planning on eating at another restaurant but lucky for us they were closed because we discovered Tanners. Tough to see from the highway as we drove past it but quickly realized our mistake and turned around.

Smaller dinning room with about 15 tables and plenty of windows were you can watch the birds eating from the many feeders set up around the windows. Very country feeling. We loved the decor it made for a great atmosphere.

Great menu with something for everyone and very reasonable prices and large portions. We all had the fish and chips and the three of us agreed they were the best fish and chips we have had anywhere in Northern Ontario. Beer battered and just the right amount of very crispy batter.

Desserts were very tasty and made fresh in house. Try the coconut cream pie yummy!!!

Service was fantastic.

We will be back. Thanks for a great meal and the fantastic service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Tanner's Inn & Dining, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our pride & joy, labor of love dining room.
I'm glad the other place was closed that night, hope to see you many times in the future, we are always changing the menu items to keep things fresh and new!!
Thanks to Trip Advisor, without you this family would not have found us!

Paul Rogers , Chef Barry Tanner & family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stoney creek
1 review
“helped us out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My Mom and I were exploring the Old Nipissing Road trail and weren't sure how far we could get in one day so didn't make prior arrangements. We stopped in at Tanners to ask for directions and they very kindly offered to serve us dinner even though they had already closed the restaurant. Seriously yummy sirloin burgers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Tanner's Inn & Dining, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Tanners
No problem doing dinner for you 2 ladies, we don't like to send people away hungry, especially when nothing else is open around here that time of night. It was our pleasure and we hope that you will come back for a stay at our Inn in the future.

Paul Rogers, Barry Tanner & family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunchurch, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Regular diner and sometime host for friends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Excellent food prepared by an outstanding chef. Certainly the best in this area in my own opinion. In fact, given some advance notice, Barry Tanner is quite capable of preparing special dishes that would challenge the abilities of many big city "gourmet" establishments. And I say that as a retiree having had considerable experience with the latter during my working career and travels.

The service may sometimes suffer slightly under pressure, especially during the busiest summer months, but always a relaxed friendly environment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Tanner's Inn & Dining, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank You Richard for your review. We value your business and strive to make your events with us truly memorable. In your case Chef Tanner is more than able to offer some unique menu items that the general customer would not be bold enough to try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always a good time and great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This little spot is our favourite in a radius of 100Kms. The food is always well prepared, hot and delish! It is family run and has it's own chef who prepares many English style dishes along with the regular fair. Food is fresh prepared. The pickerel night is a delight. The staff is friendly and efficient so we don't mind the 45 minute drive to get there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Tanner's Inn & Dining, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our pride & Joy. Chef Barry Tanner is the "only" one who cooks the dinner meals (7 days a week in the summer), so consistency is always there and of course he has help in the kitchen, Marilyn & his "favourite" sister in law Debbie (he only has one sister in-law). He is not afraid to present & serve different, challenging offerings to our dining room foodies. Please keep the postings coming, We want to be the #1 restaurant in Magnetawan & Area (our customers think we already are)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love the seafood platter for 2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We went here for our aniversary dinner and had the fishermans platter for 2...it was impressive...the service waitstaff was unfortunately lacking....Good food, poor service

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Tanner's Inn & Dining, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hello Mike & Thank You for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the food Chef Tanner Prepared for you, We might have been very busy that night in regards to your poor service or your server might have just forgotten you, it does regretably happen even in a place as small as ours. Poor service is definatly not the norm for tanners as our positive reviews show.
Please come again and give us another try. Thank you for your honest opinions, We do want to know of these things + & -!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanner's Inn & Dining also viewed

Magnetawan, Northeastern Ontario
Magnetawan, Northeastern Ontario
 
Magnetawan, Northeastern Ontario
Magnetawan, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Tanner's Inn & Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanner's Inn & Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.