We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sycamore House B&B
Save
You added Sycamore House B&B to your Saves list
577 Seacliff Drive, Kingsville, Ontario N9Y 2K6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Kingsville B&B and Inns
Dundas, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Perfectly located for a 10 minute bike ride to the ferry to Pelee Island, this 5 star B&B rivals the "best of the best" in any compendium of luxury accommodations. Creative attention to detail at every turn, no expense has been spared in the design, materials or decor of this beautiful and meticulously clean home. Each of the two bedrooms has a private entrance from the patio of this walk-out design and there is a common entrance from the patio through a sliding glass door. The spacious bedrooms are distinctly and tastefully decorated with large, flat screened T.V.s mounted on the walls opposite the queen sized beds. The bedrooms also feature a small table understatedly adorned by an artistic, cut flower arrangement and flanked by two comfortable chairs. The bookcase in the Green Pheasant Room housed a collection of books alphabetically ordered with titles by esteemed writers such as Margaret Atwood. The closet featured quality hangers, two plush bathrobes, two pairs of cosy slippers, extra pillows and blanket. The ensuite bathroom was elegantly appointed with an abundance of top quality white towels, face cloths and shower mat. Every bathroom amenity was at hand: hair dryer, soap, hand lotion, tissues and plush toilet paper. The spotless and extra large shower stall offered shampoo, conditioner and
body soap. An elegant kitchenette outside the bedrooms included crystal wine glasses, china teacups and mugs, tassimo machine and cold beverages. A full sized refrigerator was handy to store our wine, fruit and snacks. The living and dining area were tastefully decorated. An impressive book collection for a wide variety of interests in elegant cabinets, interesting artwork on the walls and comfortable seating for chatting or reading await guests in the living area. Breakfast was a delight to the eyes and palette. Joanne prepared a colourful fruit plate (no fewer than 5 varieties) and served yogurt on ice to start, then followed with a gluten free feast including eggs, bacon and a vegetable each day. Tea was served from a china teapot into a china mug. The table setting was elegant, including a lovely fresh flower arrangement, crisp white cloth napkins and spotless, shiny cutlery. The gardens were well kept and included a gorgeous sculpture and water feature. Maria was flawlessly professional and friendly--offering suggestions for restaurants, activities in town and information about the ferry and the island. She catered to our every request efficiently and effectively and we felt entirely at ease chatting with her as one does when getting to know a new friend. I rarely stay at B&Bs, preferring 5 star hotels, but Sycamore House was like our own private 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My friend and I reserved both rooms for 2 nights in August. Right from the beginning we could tell that extreme attention had been given to detail, cleanliness, and amenities in this bed and breakfast. Maria is quick to respond to emails and let us know on the day of our arrival that the rooms were ready early and we could check in anytime. The whole walk out basement is for guests use and Maria and Joanne went the extra mile when designing the layout and using high end fixtures and amenities. The guest kitchen had beautiful stemware, tassimo machine, dishes and cold beverages. The breakfasts, prepared by Joanne, were excellent and she adapted the menu to accommodate a gluten allergy. The rooms were spotless and had little extra features e.g. book light, hair dryer, slippers, books, turn down service, separate outside entrances, private patio for relaxing and drinking a glass of wine, etc. Maria even brought down extra flashlights one night because there was lightning in the area. The bathrooms were luxurious. My friend has stayed in many 5 Star hotels in N. America and Europe and she said Sycamore House was definitely at that level of service and amenities. Maria was a fantastic host who spent a bit of time each day guiding us on our activities and sharing her friendly spirit. She recommended restaurants and helped direct us to the ferry dock where we departed for Pelee Island for a day of cycling. Joanne prepares the meals but is also the gardener. The pictures on the website don't do them justice; they are spectacular! Don't miss this gem in Kingsville! You'll leave feeling a sense of peace and rejuvenation!

Room Tip: Both Rooms are beautiful. The Blue Sky Room has a slightly larger vanity and the decor/accents are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A beautiful new home on the waterfront with huge rooms, a well-kept garden, and every amenity (including a chair in the bathroom and an Itty-Bitty-Book-Light for the stay-up-late partner of an early-to-bed person.) Don't be shy about the hair dryer--the plug will go into the outlet if you give it a firm shove. The innkeepers are still a little over-anxious about nailing down every detail of what you want and when you want it, but they will probably relax with more experience.

Room Tip: Both rooms have private entrances, and there's a kitchenette just outside the rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed for a couple of peaceful and quiet days and that's what we got. The sisters were wonderful! Breakfast was amazing, fresh fruit and the works. The view of Lake Erie was incredible. Everything was spotless and in it's place. We will definitely stay again and highly recommend it. Much nicer than any motel room you could rent. They were also very informative if you are looking for things to do. Ken & Lorraine Elmes, Wiarton Ontario Canada

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights at this beautiful place when we visited Kingsvile for a wedding in June 2013. The two sisters, Maria and Joanne, did everything they could to make our stay pleasent. Just to mention the breakfast! The location is fantastic at the Lake Erie shoreline and a flowerish garden in front. The interior is superb quality, nice and VERY clean. May be i'm running out of superlatives... We give them our highest recomendations. Eva and Oyvind, Norway.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My brother and his wife, and my husband and I, spent last night at Sycamore House. It is a stunning new B&B with a wonderful view of Lake Erie run by two very welcoming, friendly sisters. The two bedrooms are on the lower level with a direct walk-out to the lakefront property. Both rooms have comfortable beds, ensuite bathrooms, and a kitchenette right outside the doors in the hall. The downstairs guests' quarters have a big screen TV, table and chairs, lots of seating with games at your disposal too. The hearty morning breakfast set us up for the day with eggs, bacon, fruit, toast, coffee/tea included. The only difficulty with Sycamore House is you don't want to leave. We will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

A wonderful house next to the lake with a big garden and an amazing view.
It is a quiet and friendly place and I felt very comfortable. I came all the way from Germany to stayed for eight days. Around there are several things to see or to do, like a vinery and Point Pelee National Park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sycamore House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore House B&B

Address: 577 Seacliff Drive, Kingsville, Ontario N9Y 2K6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore House welcomes you. We are two sisters with a dream of building a home on the water and now we are ready to share our dream with you. Our house is a large, modern home, located on Lake Erie. We designed the house so all bedrooms offer a view of the garden and the lake beyond it. We are about 20 km west of Point Pelee National Park, the migration route for many birds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sycamore House B&B Kingsville, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.