We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food in a beautiful setting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mettawas Station Mediterranean Restaurant

Mettawas Station Mediterranean Restaurant
169 Landsdowne Ave, Kingsville, Ontario, Canada
+1 519-733-2459
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Kingsville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in Kingsville's historic train station, Mettawas Station provides a relaxed atmosphere with its historic charm, to dine or just enjoy a cocktail. With the Canada Chrysler Greenway passing next to the building, trail enthusiasts can stop enroute and enjoy a bite to eat. Executive Chef Anthony uses local seasonal ingredients in his menu which is filled with appetizers, pastas, steaks, seafood and much more. All menu items are prepared with and Italian Mediterranean flare. Pair the food with a local wine from our list, a cold craft beer or a tasty cocktail and you will have a pleased palate. Don't forget to save room for dessert as well and a cappuccino or espresso! We look froward to seeing you soon!
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food in a beautiful setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Delicious food. Terrific service. Beautifully restored train station. Highly recommended for a thoroughly enjoyable dinner!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    26
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

At the suggestion of locals we went here for lunch. The server was pleasant and efficient; she had helpful suggestions and invited us to return. We started with a very tasty soup of the day and followed up with two pizza selections that we shared between us. We couldn't finish them so the server without hesitation brought us a takeout box. The setting - an old railway station next to a bike/hiking trail - and the interior decoration make it worth the visit. On the basis of this experience we intend to return soon for an evening meal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester HIlls, MI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gluten-Free Food !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I had a gluten-free pizza for lunch and it was wonderful. I almost didn't stop (because usually I cannot eat most of the food at many restaurants), but my friend asked if they had g-free and they did. What a surprise. We rode in on our bicycles from Harrow (about 17 km away I think( and the ride was absolutely beautiful. The outdoor seating area is quiet, covered, and pleasant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The restaurant is pleasantly set in a old train station and the interior decor was very nice. The food however, was wonderful. My husband had the fillet mignon, which he described as the best he has ever had, and it looked amazing. I had the char-grilled chicken, which had an amazing rub of spices (not sure what they were), but it was so good, that you wanted to lick the plate. Then the cannoli and raspberry coffee were the perfect finish to the meal. Everything, atmosphere, staff, entrees, dessert and drinks were A++++....give them a try, you won't be sorry,

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Great Day Ender”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

After a long day enjoying sites in Essex County, the Mettawas provided a delicious meal. Especially yummy was their veal chop. Ask to have it done to the chef's preference - you won't be disappointed. A sweet treat to finish was the non-dairy strawberry gelato.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mettawas Station Mediterranean Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mettawas Station Mediterranean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mettawas Station Mediterranean Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.