We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elm Hurst Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Elm Hurst Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hwy 401 @ Harris Street, Ingersoll, Ontario N5C 3K1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Ingersoll B&B and Inns
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on Feb 15 and 16, 2014 and enjoyed our short getaway from a big city.
All people who serviced us were very professional and friendly. Room was great and clean. thanks to the General manager - Alon Gurman and sales manager Theresa Pinkerton we had a great time. we did not use the spa, but had dinner at the restaurant and it was absolutely delicious and great. I definitely recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany L, Guest Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Ralsa S,

Thank you for your wonderful review in regards to your overnight stay during valentines weekend. We take pride in customer service to all of our guests and I am happy to hear that we met those expectations with your service.

We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Brittany Labrie
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    57
    25
    16
    16
See reviews for
31
126
11
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The food was excellent for the dinner and breakfast buffet! The rooms well decorated and clean, staff very professional and friendly. I did think that the spa amenities were much larger than they were. Thanks for a positive experience.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the building on the Upper floor, the view was of nature. Room 315
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany L, Guest Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Benske2014,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and look forward to meeting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Brittany Labrie
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Four of us girls from school finally connected after 35 years and we picked this package to have fun, catch up with each other and relax! The room with two queen size beds is too small for this package as it includes either a manicure or pedicure done in your room. The spa girls had to sit on the floor to do our pedicure's while the manicure's were done with the spa person sitting on one bed while the client sat on the other bed. The lamp shade had to be removed so they could see what they were doing. The "gourmet" pizzas were delivered to our rooms but were not what we ordered and nothing was done about it when we called room service. The cheese and 8 crackers arrived shortly after the pizzas...wow 8 crackers 2 per person thank you! To sum it up we are planning on doing this every season but we will not be returning to this location, we traveled from Uxbridge, Whitby, Mississauga and Cambridge to feel like a group of sardines stuffed in a can something that we were not expecting!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room apparently they have them but we were told this upon check out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alon g, General Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Cat H,
Let me first thank you for your comments but apologize for your Pajama Party experience not meeting your expectations. This package is one of our most popular with the greatest reviews. In regards to our guest rooms, the Pajama Party is typically booked in our Standard Deluxe Inn Rooms with Two Queen Beds to accommodate everyone.
As you mentioned in room tips, you can certainly upgrade to one of our Premium Suites for an extra charge and is based on availability at time of booking. However, the Premium Suite does fit comfortable three people and not four which is what the package is designed for.

In regards to your pizza’s being delivered incorrectly we have communicated with our Executive Chef to ensure that this situation does not occur again.

Our Pajama Party Package is one of our more popular packages and we do have repeat clients. If you do consider enjoying this package again, please keep under consideration that the in room services can be provided in the Aveda Spa if you do not feel comfortable enjoying them in your guest room.
Again, I do apologize for not meeting your expectations and hope that this will not hinder you from returning to the Elm Hurst Inn & Spa.

Sincerely,
Alon Gurman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

The two of us were continuously reminded as to why we chose the Elmhurst as our weekend getaway, from the beautiful room to the excellent dining and equally excellent warm staff. Thank you Elmhurst for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany L, Guest Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Boobs 1231,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Brittany Labrie
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We arrived mid-afternoon to find a wedding party in progress. In the midst of this the front desk staff welcomed and accommodated my wife and myself as though we were the king and queen and nothing and no one else mattered. Still not sure how they did that. Our dinner prepared by Chef was so delectable _ our diets were totally ignored at breakfast and Sunday brunch as well . We availed ourselves to the spa Saturday night and Sunday am. The hot tub and sauna were enjoyable but the steam room was awesome!!!! Our room provided creature comforts beyond expectations and even at our age we were able to sleep like babes. Lots of parking and easy to access from major highways Weight and exercise area in separate building but OK. Although we are now starting to be involved with this group of Inns loyalty program, we think it would be nice to celebrate our birthdays more than once a year at the Elm Hurst

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany L, Guest Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Clare S S,

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are happy to hear that you had a memorable 70th birthday at the Elm Hurst Inn and Spa. We take pride in customer service and are happy to hear that you recieved that service from us. In regards to our exercise room, it is a working progress and is in discussion on being updated. We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Brittany Labrie
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I am currently sitting in my room at the Elm Hurst Inn. My husband and I came for a romantic, stress-free evening away. I have been here for 2 hours and am already fuming due to the service I received at the spa. I had booked a massage over the phone and was told to arrive 15 minutes early to fill out medical information forms. I arrived 15 minutes early as I was told, and then proceeded to wait for 45 minutes (half an hour after my massage was to begin). Everyone else in the lobby was casually drinking teas and other beverages, while I was offered nothing. I felt like I was left to sit staring at the wall for 45 minutes. After this time, I finally went to ask the front desk what time it was, as we had a dinner reservation coming up. The lady at the front nonchalantly told me they "had made a massive mistake" and that the massage therapist had gone home for the day!!! Not only had they made a "massive mistake", they knew about this and failed to let me know as I sat patiently waiting for 45 minutes. The staff were rude and audacious enough to ask if I wanted to rebook for tomorrow. Needless to say I am completely uninterested and will not be returning. I understand that mistakes happen, but it was completely unacceptable to not let me know as I sat waiting.

Hopefully dinner will be better. It smelled good when we walked in, so fingers crossed!

The other staff seem to be wonderful- Tracy at the front desk is a sweetheart and very accommodating. It's a shame that my spa experience has ruined this otherwise beautiful inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alon g, General Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hello,

Let me first apologize for us not being able to provide the spa service you had ordered. We understand your frustration and we do apologize for our lack of professionalism. Our spa receptionist tried to contact the therapist when the mistake was caught to try to provide you with your treatment, which is why there was the additional wait in our waiting area.

I hope that your dinner was exceptional and we were able to meet your expectations in that department. Again, we do apologize for this inconvenience and I hope you will consider returning to our Aveda Spa so that you can enjoy a complimentary treatments and we can re-build a positive memory at our SPS as you experienced in the rest of the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Spent an enjoyable day here after the New Year ..
The front desk staff were accommodating and able to give us our room a little early
The luncheon buffet was outstanding with a complete selection. Based on that, we ordered room service but that was a little disappointing. We enjoyed the hot tub and using the trails on the property to go snowshoeing during a very cold snap. We were surprised that they didn;t have snowshoes to use for their guests and suggested they get some.... And of course we got some local cheese - delicious!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany L, Guest Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear SAM-RFB,

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us. I do apologize that your room service did not meet your expectations. We hope this will not hinder you from returning to our establishment. In regards to snow shoes not being accessible, I will certainly talk to our management team to see if this is possible.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our local cheese. We are very proud to be apart of the Cheese Trail and provide such an assortment of cheese.

We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Brittany Labrie
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elm Hurst Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Hurst Inn & Spa

Address: Hwy 401 @ Harris Street, Ingersoll, Ontario N5C 3K1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ingersoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ingersoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elm Hurst Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located an hour west of Toronto and a short drive from London and Woodstock, this 49 room Inn and Victorian Mansion Dining room sits on 33 acres of countryside, just off Hwy 401. Comfortable guest rooms, renowned cuisine, attentive service, private dining rooms, elegant reception spaces and beautiful grounds have made Elm Hurst Inn & Spa a popular destination for getaways, celebrations and corporate events. Enjoy extra pampering at our on-site Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elm Hurst Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Hurst Inn And Spa
Elm Hurst Hotel Ingersoll
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa Ingersoll, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.