We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Lovely spa weekend with friends'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elm Hurst Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Elm Hurst Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hwy 401, 415 Harris Street, Ingersoll, Ontario N5C 3K1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Ingersoll B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, Ontario
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“'Lovely spa weekend with friends'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Booked overnight 'panama party' for party of 10.
Rooms on 3rd floor overlooking back of property were quiet and beautifully appointed. 2 queen beds very comfortable.
Spa services very good. Pedicures for 4 at a time were done in separate reception room with ample cheese and fruit platters, wine and mini pizzas provided. Others in out group sat and visited with those getting their treatments for a great friends visit.
Dinner booked in Elmhurst dining room. Food was excellent and our waitress was great. Only complaint was 10 minute line-up at restaurant entrance before being approached to be seated. Many other parties of diners in line as well waiting to be seated.
Buffet breakfast (included) in dining room adequate but wait staff not efficient at restocking buffet, clearing tables so new parties could be seated, delivering coffee etc.
Lovely overnight stay in all - there were 3 weddings in the Inn that night and no problem with any noise or music

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany L, Guest Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear lindaLLondon_Ont,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had a memorable time. Our pajama party is a one of our popular packages that provides a lot of great services at a great price. With a large group like yourself, we certainly do try to provide a small function room that you all can relax and spend time together. We look forward to meeting you all again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    64
    26
    18
    17
See reviews for
36
133
12
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Thank you for a terrific weekend! My girlfriends and I took advantage of the spa package and had a marvelous time! The inn was lovely, the front desk staff was warm and welcoming, our rooms were comfy, and the breakfast buffet was delicious!

A big thank you to the spa staff who took such good care of us. We're making the girls' spa weekend an annual event!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back of the hotel. Not only did we have a beautiful view of the beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany L, Guest Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear VPC2013,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent overnight stay and spa experience. We look forward to seeing you again the near future. Maybe you will be lucky and get to enjoy another memorable wedding at our country side escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Although we were more than pleased with this inn's cuisine, we were most impressed with the friendliness and concern of all of the friendly and knowledgeable staff, who were quick to remedy any minor glitches during our enjoyable stay. The proximity to the 401, just far enough away, but with ease of access, the fascinating grounds, ample parking close at hand, and the imposing and distinctive presence of the structure itself enhanced our visit a great deal. The Elm Hurst's first-class reputation is well deserved. Those who have known it for years recommend it highly, and rightly so.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor provide an easy roll for your luggage to and from the back parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany L, Guest Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear John J,

Thank you for your wonderful response. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overnight stay and dining experience at our Inn. We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

My family and I traveled 25 from london to have brunch which cost 25.50 and were very disappointed in our experience. The location is quite nice and clean however the service at the table was pitiful. After being seated we sat with no cutlery drinks, napkins and table setting for 10 minutes. After being as patient as possible we wandered to the food serving area where the server was setting tables. I saw her and asked for tea and coffee for the table and she said . " of course". We then found out the waffle iron was broken and they could not fix it. This was very unfortunate as the children were most excited to go here for the fresh waffles which they had in the past. The children were told by the staff to have an omelette which is no substitute for an 8 and 10 year old. The rest of the food seemed standard with eggs, cheese, potatoes, fresh fruit and salads which were very good. The roast beef was flavorless and quite tough. A nice piece of ham would be a good compliment but they had none. The deserts were very splendid however the cook was gone most of the time. The cheesecake was amazing and fresh strawberries with a chocolate fountain was great.
My service at the table continued to be terrible. I was never asked if I wanted more coffee ever. The dirty plates I had to clear them myself. The server forgot the formosa with our meal. No salt pepper or other condiments on the table. She never came once without us flagging her down like a taxi in NY city. Needless to say if you are looking to pay full price for a place that offers good service I would suggest elsewhere. I'm sure you will find better food and service at many other locations in London. It takes more than a gingerbread house and pretty fountain to impress me. Keep driving

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A good friend of mine relayed an experience with this Inn to me just recently. They had booked a room on the second floor with a king size bed, fireplace and seating so that they could enjoy the gift certificate that they were given. To their surprise the room was given out to someone in a wedding party. They were offered the only available room with a queen size bed and a chair to watch TV.. at a rate of $149 versus the $199 . To their dismay, the manager made no apologize for the screw-up and had a oh well attitude. They subsequently had to travel 45 minutes back to their relatives home to have somewhere to stay for the night.

I would have thought that the management would have at least attempted to find them accommodations at another Inn or something but that did not happen!

They went on their way and needless to say were very disappointed. In fact, I have been offered the coupon at a reduced rate.. $50 just for them to get rid of it.

This Inn should be ashamed of themselves for such poor treatment of guests that had reservations......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alon g, General Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Mr. WayneC,

I am sorry to hear that your friend was disappointed in our service. I had the pleasure of meeting with them and first offered them a Deluxe Room with One Queen on the second floor. Since that did not fully meet their expectations I offered to have them wait for a short period of time to look into how we could accommodate all of their requests. Unfortunately, we were unable to fix the situation in a timely manner and the guests departed disappointed. Before they departed, I informed them that when they rebook their room they would be provided with a free upgrade to one of our suites, based on availability at time of booking, and that we would provide them with additional services complimentary due to the inconvenience.

Again I do apologize for the inconvenience however we certainly tried our best to accommodate their requests afterwards.
I will appreciate if your friend can contact me at 519-4855321 #236
Alon Gurman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We took our mother (my sister and I) for her birthday, stayed Sep 22-23rd. Beautiful place, excellent service, the buffet dinner was fabulous I have a gluten and lactose allergy and kitchen staff were so helpful with advising my choices for dinner very impressed. The room was beautiful and the bed was so comfortable. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany L, Guest Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear DeniseKidd,

Thank you for your wonderful review and allowing us to celebrate your mother's birthday with you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing two days away. Our kitchen staff certainly do try to accommodate all allergy requests to their best abilities. We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

From the grounds to the welcoming entry of Elmhurst Inn we were very impressed with the cleanliness and stunning décor. Elmhurst Inn offers the unique atmosphere of a restored home and yet provides classic well-appointed modern fixtures and furniture within the suites.

After a wonderful comfortable nights rest we enjoyed their delightful breakfast in the warm sunny room off the main lobby.

Thank you for a wonderful stay. We look forward in visiting Elmhurst Inn again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany L, Guest Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear ColleenC1973,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and enjoyed our Buffet Breakfast in our James Harris Room. We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elm Hurst Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Hurst Inn & Spa

Address: Hwy 401, 415 Harris Street, Ingersoll, Ontario N5C 3K1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ingersoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ingersoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elm Hurst Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located an hour west of Toronto and a short drive from London and Woodstock, this 49 room Inn and Victorian Mansion Dining room sits on 33 acres of countryside, just off Hwy 401. Comfortable guest rooms, renowned cuisine, attentive service, private dining rooms, elegant reception spaces and beautiful grounds have made Elm Hurst Inn & Spa a popular destination for getaways, celebrations and corporate events. Enjoy extra pampering at our on-site Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Elm Hurst Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Hurst Inn And Spa
Elm Hurst Hotel Ingersoll
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa Ingersoll, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.