We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance on the harbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gore Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Queen's Inn
Save
You added The Queen's Inn to your Saves list
19 Water Street, Gore Bay, Ontario P0P 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Gore Bay B&B and Inns
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Elegance on the harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Queen's Inn is a lovely well-maintained, historic, Victorian bed and breakfast on lovely and sparsely populated Manitoulin island. The innkeeper, Susan, is well versed in all the attractions on the island. She can direct you to hikes, art galleries, lakes, First Nation information or beaches. The food was delicious, the room spacious and the bed super comfy. Great location for exploring the whole island. Whole heartedly recommended.

Room Tip: Pictures on line. The rooms upstairs have a lovely balcony overlooking the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Amherst, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

All the best in a bed and breakfast with true English style. The breakfasts were delicious and varied. Our room was large, clean and comfortable with a magnificent view of the harbour, A spacious verandah on the second floor overlooks the marina and the bay. The staff were helpful, friendly and informative. We are already looking forward to a return stay at the Queen's Inn. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: on suite bathroom available on request
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Located on the shore of Lake Huron, very quiet B&B, beautifully furnished. The rooms are cosy, WIFI is available.
Wonderful home-cooked breakfast ( ah! the apple pancakes...)

If I go back to Gore Bay, Manitoulin Island, I'll definitely stay in this B&B again. The hostess is very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: The Beatrice room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We recently traveled to Gore Bay and had a wonderful experience at the Queen's Inn. We were traveling with my wife's father, and had the Elizabethan Room, which consisted of two bedrooms with a bathroom connected to each - perfect. And they were quite large. Susan and daughter Nikki (sp?) were so welcoming, charming and helpful. The breakfasts were excellent, and more than sufficient. If we return to Manitoulin, we will not stay anywhere else. Highly recommened.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We traveled to Manitoulin Island on trip to see the fall colors. We chose Gore Bay for it's lovely location and were not disappointed. The Queen's Inn is an elegant old inn with all of the modern amenities and beautiful decor. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The upstairs veranda was an inviting place to sit and watch a sunset, sunrise, fishermen, or the fall colors of the trees enveloping the lake. Susan was a wonderful source of information as well as a fabulous cook. Whether walking down to Buoy's for delicious pizza and beer or driving the 30 minutes to get to be treated to high cuisine at the School Restaurant, we enjoyed every minute of our stay on the island. We will go back again to Manitoulin Island and the Queen's Inn will always be our place to stay. Lovely indeed!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Let me begin by saying the owner informed me about their check in time, and I should have double checked my confirmation so I remembered when it was. It really was our fault but we were on holiday and I was hoping it didn't matter that much. We arrived 40 minutes late and it was our fault, but man oh man I was not prepared for the tongue lashing I received from the owner! She went into detail about how inconvenienced she was etc. etc. and I felt like I was a 12 year old being scolded 10 different ways by a headmistress. It's a lucky thing my husband stayed in the car because he would have stomped out of there regardless of the fact that we would have to pay anyway.
When we got into the room I noticed that there was no shampoo, but there was no way I was going to risk the owner's wrath by asking for some. I would suggest to anyone who stays there to bring your own shampoo. Even motels generally supply the guests with shampoo but you never know, this place may be an exception. We couldn't get out of there fast enough the next morning.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

The Queen's Inn is wonderful. The verandah was great for evening cocktails, the breakfasts were delicious with plenty of choices. The inn overlooks the marina and it is easily walkable to the downtown area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queen's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Inn

Address: 19 Water Street, Gore Bay, Ontario P0P 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Gore Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gore Bay
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Queen's Inn Gore Bay, Manitoulin Island, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.