We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint” 3 of 5 stars
Review of River Inn Motel

River Inn Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added River Inn Motel to your Saves list
River Inn Motel
316 County Rd. 38, RR#2, Campbellford, Ontario K0L 1L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Campbellford
Oshawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My father was in the hospital in Campbellford and we needed a place close. This was the closest place to stay which was available. I could walk to the hospital, as well as downtown Campbellford - everything was close for me.

I didn't notice the smells that the other reviews complained about and we had no noise issues. I've found issues like that in high end chain motels, so I don't know what their problems were.

Beds were comfy, AC worked and wasn't noisier than at home. The bathroom was clean, tidy and well maintained. While you have to look around to find all the plugs, there were enough for us.

The family who run it asked about my father (I had mentioned it once when I checked in) anytime they saw my husband or I.

While I don't know if I would need to stay here again, I have no problem recommending it to anyone who had to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This place is a bit too pricey being in the country. You can find a motel for $80 in the Comfort Inn in Cobourg and has breakfast. This place charges like $140 a night with one tiny little bar of soap, the lighting is very dim and some bulbs need replacement. For some reason, you cannot get a single room with a double bed, they only have a room available with two double beds which costs you more. There is no extra electrical outlets, having you to unplug something to add something. They don't seem to have a noise policy in place or don't enforce it. They fill their swimming pool with a hose each year and takes 3 months to fill up. The decorated pictures of the room on the website are different from what you get and yes there is an odour when you first walk into the room, smells like pets/smoke/mildew. They need to steam clean their carpets. The look is old and not up to date, it does look like a very cheap room for $140.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The room was expensive compared to other motels in the area. More importantly, the first thing I noticed as soon as I open the door was the smell of cigarette smoke and body odor. When I turned on the lights, I was just as disappointed. The room was outdated and in need of repairs. The toilet tank cover was broken in half and the bathroom faucet handle was broken. The overall feeling of the room was unclean and in disrepair. I will not be staying at this motel again and I suggest that you don't either.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The River Inn Motel is a great place to stay when visiting Campbell Ford. It's really close to the local restaurants and shops. Also, its perfect for staying at when attending a wedding at Polmenna Barn. It's about a 20 minute $30 cab ride. Our room was nice ans clean. The staff very friendly and helpful. At night people were having a campfire by the river which I thought was cool. My only complaints were that the pool wasn't as nice as the photos made it appear to be, the room smelled a little musty and the shampoo bottles were reused. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The service was decent at this place, the staff were very nice but the rooms were over priced, the dock on the river was old and looked unsafe. The worst part was that we had a top floor room and could hear the entire conversation of the people in the room below us, until 3 am. They weren't yelling or anything, it was just a regular speaking sound level, but it sounded like they were standing right outside of our room. Overall it was clean, it had a fridge which was nice and the staff were nice too, but it was over priced and not sound proof at all!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiny
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The grounds, at first glance, are lovely. Lots of grass, two BBQ areas, large pool, pretty fountain, spectacular river front location. BUT, pool was not yet open for summer (in July??), both brick BBQs were crumbling, the concrete pads were uneven with construction rubble at the side, broken glass from previous night's drinkers. There is a large floating dock for boaters but the ramp to the shore has railing on both sides that was old and ramshackle, a definite hazard while the dock is bobbing in the water. A dumpster sits at rear of the grounds with 7 ugly storage sheds.
Price was reasonable for a king bed. But the room # 103, was on second floor with a narrow and steep stairway. So narrow that climbing up with luggage in both hands was tricky. My wife tripped on the top stair and went down face first on the landing. No harm done.
The room had a nice comfortable bed but was badly dated and not attractive at all. Fridge door cracked, door frame to bath room broken, but the bath room floor and walls seemed newly tiled and pretty. Good water pressure in shower. Large t.v. worked well, seemed new. Perhaps efforts are being made to upgrade units. The unit needs carpet update. A/C noisy and bothersome but worked well. I sat on the chair and wife said "Be careful" The dowels holding legs to frame had come out and a complete chair collapse was imminent. I shoved it together and left a note for owner to fix it. Saddest of all, when I made coffee in the morning, there was an old coffee packet in the machine. One can only presume the cleaning staff were not thorough.
Nice to have 2 chairs on deck to enjoy the view. There are no ice machines but owner/operator came up with a baggie of cubes.
Owner/operators quite friendly and helpful, but over all, I would pass on this motel. If you look at owner supplied photos of the grounds you will think it is splendid, but, photos do not tell whole story about this place. The pretty stone seating area is completely overgrown with weeds and unusable. Not shown are the crumbling brick BBQs and shaky hand railing at the dock, nor the difficult stairway to second level.
Not for me again.

Room Tip: Second level for better view and less noise from parking. But stairway is not satisfactory
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Besides being completely ripped off for $130 for a very small outdated room with really basic amenities, we were located on the ground floor and could hear everything happening throughout the motel including:
-opening doors, closing doors
-people walking up and down the stairs to the second level
-people drinking beer in the plastic chairs outside our window late into the night
-a domestic fight which broke out at midnight
-the arguing couple's screaming children
-the arguing couple's makeup session (thankfully shortlived)
This was not high season and I think maybe 3 other rooms were occupied. The room was clean and the tv worked but otherwise I would not recommend this motel.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, insist on a 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn Motel

Address: 316 County Rd. 38, RR#2, Campbellford, Ontario K0L 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Campbellford
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Campbellford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your River Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Motel Campbellford, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.