We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coolest restaurant ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hubb at Angeline's

The Hubb at Angeline's
433 Main, Bloomfield, Ontario K0K 1G0, Canada
613 393 3301
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Bloomfield
Price range: $5 - $41
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Coolest restaurant ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stopped in on our way through the county because there are so many people talking about this place in ottawa area. All I can say is that the service, food and atmosphere has beat many of the restaurants we've been to in a long time! You have to try the HUBB burger with bacon jam and the dilly bars! Will definitely be back soon... you HAVE to eat here :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    23
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“OVERPRICED!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We had dinner at The Hub and were disappointed. The items we ordered were good but the prices were too high. Also we were four friends who had reserved well ahead of time and would've liked to sit in the main dining area. We were relegated to a back room where we were on our own. We missed the ambience of a busy dining room.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“spectacular!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My wife and I were absolutely thrilled when we dined here for the first time. we started with "chalkboard bites" which were a fun play on traditional tapas with local ingredients and phenomenal prices! After our mini lobster rolls and the supremely crispy frogs legs we indulged ourselves with some foie gras torchon. the wait staff was kind, quick and knowledgeable pairing all of our courses perfectly with the wines of their choice. Overall with the quaint surprisingly cool ambience, unreal food and the spectacular service we can definitely seeing ourselves return for another great experience! Likely the best meal we have ever had!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bloomfield's The Hubb a Hit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We enjoyed a fabulous dinner at the exceptional Hubb Restaurant during our recent Bloomfield stay. Sommelier Laura and Chef Elliot have collaborated with owner Alex with great results. There are two menus to choose from with many choices of smaller and larger plates. We were happy to see local wines featured with a good selection by the glass. Laura thoughtfully accommodated us on a busy Tuesday night. Dan at the Bar and Alex kept our exquisite food selections coming that Elliot & team creatively prepared paired with delightful wines. A Hinterland sparkling wine matched any good Prosecco, the Lobster Rolls were overflowing with perfectly prepared lobster, the house-made pasta was done to perfection with a can’t-get-enough creamy sauce. We did leave room for the superb desserts (including Dilly Bars). Angeline’s Inn has a wide range of well-priced rooms making it even easier to enjoy an evening at The Hubb. We’ll be back!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottaa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could have been a better experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I'll admit, our meal was tainted by an earlier reservation mix-up. We tried to get a table on a Saturday night but they were booked. Sunday? Nope, fully booked, but they could fit us in on Monday. However, when we arrived on Monday, the restaurant was closed. We were told we must have misunderstood ....

On Tuesday, when we finally sat down to eat, we had a series of small plates, all delicious but all too small to justify the price of each. Either the the portion sizes should be increased or the price lowered,

Overall, the food was very good.The frogs' legs were nicely breaded and crispy but not oily. The beef tartare was flavourful and fresh. The truffled devilled eggs had a firm mouth feel without being too dry. The mussels were prepared in a coconut sauce that we finished with a spoon, it was that good. The amuse bouche was a disappointment; the melon was under-ripe and the sauce was weak.

The ambiance is casual, the service is warm. Our primary server was attentive and several of the wait staff stopped at our table to ask if we needed anything. We sat next to the bar where it was quieter and appreciated the intimacy of the space.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afida2, Owner at The Hubb at Angeline's, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Bride2B2014,
Thank you for your feedback it's always important to us. We are sorry to hear that there was some confusion regarding your reservation. As for the Monday booking we are not sure how this could have happened as we are never open on Mondays. Again, we apologize for any confusion.
We are thrilled that your overall experience was positive in regards to the service and dinner.

We hope that we are able to host you again.
Warm regards,
Alex Fida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hubb at Angeline's also viewed

Bloomfield, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Wellington, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to The Hubb at Angeline's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hubb at Angeline's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.