We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huff Estates

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Huff Estates to your Saves list
Huff Estates
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   2274 County Rd. 1, Bloomfield, Ontario, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Bloomfield B&B and Inns
ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

We have recently returned from spending 2 days at Huff Estates in Bloomfield. We had never been to Prince Edward County and were pleasantly surprised by the top notch accommodations at Huff Estates. The rooms were tastefully decorated, the management and staff were always helpful and the shuttle they provided to and from the restaurants allowed us to enjoy the local wines with our meals. The buffet breakfast certainly had something to safisfy everyone's taste. It truly merits the dit\stinctionof one of Ontario's Finest Inns. Huff Estate wines opened our eyes to some of Ontario's fine wines, although unfortunately they are not yet offered in our LCBO's. We truly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Huff Estates. Can't wait to return.

  • Liked — rooms were a nice size with sitting area and private patio
  • Disliked — distance to drive to nearest town
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    43
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
82
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Huff Estates Inn & Winery in the Picton/Bloomfield area of Prince Edward County, and although we normally don't post reviews, we were so impressed with this small inn, and the Picton area, we felt compelled to share our experience with anyone who is considering visiting, or looking for someplace new to explore. From the initial booking process, and throughout our entire stay, the Manager, Pam, and her staff were very helpful, offering valuable suggestions on sites to see, places to eat, and we found them to be extremely knowledgeable and genuinely interested in making our stay a truly memorable one. The accommodations at the Huff Estate certainly surpassed our expectations with spacious, tastefully decorated rooms with patios off each room, and all the amenities you would expect from a first class inn. The 'continental' breakfast served each morning was far superior to what you would normally expect, with a wide variety of hot and cold items - certainly something to satisfy everyone's taste. The Winery offered an interesting insight into the local wine making process, with the opportunity to sample and/or purchase their wine. The dining experience in the Picton/Bloomfield area will certainly compete with the comparable restaurants in the Niagara Wine growing region. We had the pleasure of dining at two local restaurants, the Waring House, and Portabella's, who offer local wine and menus prepared with in-season local produce, and would highly recommend both. All in all, we had a wonderful experience visiting Prince Edward County, and would highly recommend the Huff Estates and Winery as a superior place to stay, and as a base for excursions around the area.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Huff Estates for a romantic Valentine's Day getaway. We loved the fact that it was fairly secluded and quiet. The suite we booked was very tastefully decorated. I understand that they are theme suites. Ours was the hot air balloon suite. Our family had ordered a chocolate and cheese platter to be in our room when we arrived. It was huge and contained more than cheese and chocolate. My husband had a bottle of Riesling cooling in the room when we arrived. Huff's wine of course. It was a night to remember and included a very nice breakfast and wine tasting at the winery which is also on the property. We will definitely return when the weather is warmer and will choose the dinner package that they offer. For ambiance and service I would recommend this Inn to anyone.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

We found the inn by searching the PEC website and were very pleased with the room and especially pleased with the quality of the wine that we tasted ( and purchases ).

The inn is fairly new, with all rooms on the ground floor. The set is is great with the private patio - we loved the fact that we could enjoy the sunset and sip on some great ROSE .

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

My husband and I spent a lovely evening at Huff Estates and we thoroughly enjoyed everything about our stay. We found the room to be very well appointed with excellent attention to detail such as very high quality bedding, high end amenities, ultra comfortable king bed, and nice sitting area both inside and just outside our room overlooking the vineyard. I read the previous review and had the opposite experience as I found each of the staff we encountered to be professional, helpful and most personable - especially the manager who went out of her way to tour us around the property, answer questions about the Inn and their wines, and gave us excellent tips on where to tour in the area. We look forward to returning soon as it is a short drive and lovely ferry ride from Kingston.

  • Liked — Beautiful decor and surroundings
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

My husband and I booked the Winemaker Suite for our honeymoon and when we arrived, it had been double booked! We did not even find out about it until we arrived (2 hours before the wedding) at which point other hotels in the area had been booked. The manager was extremely unprofessional and rude. Worst customer service we have ever seen!

  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

We stayed here for a weekend in September. This place is BRAND new and a two minute walk to their on site winery. Our room was big and spotless with a king bed, fireplace, two leather arm chairs and a flat screen. It also included a buffet breakfast that was fantastic. We were honestly very impressed of the quality of this place for the price and we were there in high season. They also have a limo service to local restaurants – ask about this if you decide to stay here. We didn’t know about it at the time. The two downsides about it is that it is a few miles outside of town so you really can’t walk anywhere other then the winery – however the limo service makes up for this. The other was that we found you could hear everything happening in the hallway outside of our room. However, it wasn't very busy - so it didn't disturb our sleep.

  • Liked — Big rooms, modern, breakfast in courtyard
  • Disliked — Thin walls to hallway
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huff Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huff Estates

Address: 2274 County Rd. 1, Bloomfield, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomfield
Hotel Class:3 star — Huff Estates 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Huff Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huff Estates Hotel Bloomfield
Huff Estates Bloomfield, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huff Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.