We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakland Hall Inn

Oakland Hall Inn
16003 Yonge Street, Aurora, Ontario L4G 1P4, Canada
905-713-6655
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Oakland Hall Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 132 Restaurants in Aurora
Price range: $24 - $97
Cuisines: French, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: St. John
bradford
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Oakland hall on four different occasions. I have never had a problem with service or the food. Nice romantic little place to relax and take your time to truly enjoy your company and the food

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We luv' Oakland Hall Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was looking for dining options in Aurora and found this ratings site. Spent a fair deal of time reading the various reviews of several restaurants we have been to and those we thought to try. Some of the reviews I agreed with but several left me dumbfounded. I could not believe we'd been to the same place -- good or bad. So, if you want to try a spot..try it and then make up your own mind. I would also suggest, one visit can often not be fair. We can all have an off night and professional reviewers know that.
Having said that, we're going to Oakland Hall tommorrow night and know we will have a very nice evening. We will be greeted courteously (not, hi folks how are ya' doin'?), the wait staff will be attentive (not, can we get you guys a couple of drinks?) and the food will be excellent (everything is not deep fried).
We have been many times and recommend it highly. Oh and try a Martini (gin not vodka). You will get a generous pour and taste the gin, not the ice!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
1 review
“Great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We go to Oakland Hall on average once per month. We have always found the service to be excellent. We have never had any main course where the meat or fish was not delivered exactly as ordered.

Over the years we have come to know the owner Tom and head chef Dave and are on a first name basis with both them and the wait staff. We have always found them to be friendly and very accommodating.

I would strongly recommend Oakland Hall to my friends and as a matter of fact several of them have gone there and were highly complementary about the food, service and attmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

After reading some of the past reviews on Oakland Hall Inn...after booking a room for a small company getogether, we experienced some qualms. Oakland Hall Inn is a rural oasis in the middle of Aurora suburbia and so expectations for something special are already high as you go up the long driveway to the restaurant. On this evening they did not disappoint. We had chosen the room beforehand and it turned out to be perfect for our function; the servers adequately attentive. Throughout the meal, there were murmurings of deep satisfaction with the various courses that were offered and plates were returned empty. Everyone tried a dessert and no one was in a hurry to leave. Toward the end of the evening, a little nudging was required for service and that is why I didn't give our experience the highest rating. Thank you Oakland Hall. It was a great evening!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice building,average food terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and eat out a great deal and the service here is the worst we have ever encountered. Arrogance is never acceptable but the food here is no more than average. I only wish we had read the other reviews before we went there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakland Hall Inn also viewed

 

Been to Oakland Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakland Hall Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.